MozillaZine

links don't work in site

User Help for Mozilla Firefox
Pitstop Pete
Guest
 

Post Posted November 16th, 2005, 8:52 am

When using FF, the site I work in all day, Ford Motor Co's official site, the main page is laid out way differently in FF than IE. Not that big of a deal other than better that half of the links will not work. The ones that do have a little black mark in front of them. Unfortunately the links that are used the most don't have the mark in front of them, so I have to open IE to use site. Also the site is very password protected and I don't want to put password on open forum. :locked: :?: :?: :!:

Pitstop Pete
Guest
 

Post Posted November 17th, 2005, 5:10 pm

Does anyone have an idea on a course of action I can take? Or maybe some one else I can ask
Thanks

ray2047
 
Posts: 1000
Joined: October 16th, 2003, 11:07 am

Post Posted November 17th, 2005, 5:16 pm

Without a URL there is no way to know what is going on on the page.
As Always: I may be right. I may be wrong.

trolly
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 39114
Joined: August 22nd, 2005, 7:25 am

Post Posted November 17th, 2005, 5:21 pm

Tell the people at Ford's internet department they should write portable HTML code.
Even the official home page is full of errors. I assume the site you refer to is programed for IE only.

http://validator.w3.org/check?uri=http% ... efault.htm
Think for yourself. Otherwise you have to believe what other people tell you.
A society based on individualism is an oxymoron. || Freedom is at first the freedom to starve.
Constitution says: One man, one vote. Supreme court says: One dollar, one vote.

Pitstop Pete
Guest
 

Post Posted November 18th, 2005, 9:35 am

trolly wrote:Tell the people at Ford's internet department they should write portable HTML code.
Even the official home page is full of errors. I assume the site you refer to is programed for IE only.

http://validator.w3.org/check?uri=http% ... efault.htm



The people at Ford hardly want to spend the time to fix what they have, and yes it is written for IE - unfortunately

Guest
Guest
 

Post Posted November 18th, 2005, 9:48 am

trolly wrote:Tell the people at Ford's internet department they should write portable HTML code.
Even the official home page is full of errors. I assume the site you refer to is programed for IE only.


You should never write to the webmasters; they will just ignore you, since they don't like to be critisized. Write to the customer service and tell them you wanted to order 150 cars for your company, but could not use the site. They will make sure the issue will bubble up to executives, who will in turn asskick the webmonkeys.

hellene

User avatar
 
Posts: 5130
Joined: March 20th, 2005, 5:29 pm
Location: Bradford W.Yorks

Post Posted November 18th, 2005, 9:55 am

In the meantime Pitstop, try downloading the IEView or IEtab extensions, either of which will go some way towards easing your problem (if I've got it the right way round, IETab opens the IE rendering engine in a Firefox Tab for you)
I don't know how to do any of this stuff, I just hire the guys that do
Have you considered reading the HELP folder. Right there on your menu bar.
Image by Juniper http onic.net/~daylight/ - Xmas special by Ol Grumpy

Return to Firefox Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 16 guests