MozillaZine

Firefox doesn't save my form information.

User Help for Mozilla Firefox
cm25
Guest
 

Post Posted November 25th, 2005, 2:42 am

Hello,
I love Firefox but I am having a problem with it not saving my form information. I have it set to save that information under Tools-->Option-->Privacy. But it still will not save my form information. Any ideas why would be great. I have searched for an answer but have had no luck.

Thank You

rtmjr50

User avatar
 
Posts: 6318
Joined: August 2nd, 2004, 5:06 pm
Location: Raleigh, NC USA

Post Posted November 25th, 2005, 3:20 am

cm25 wrote:Hello,
I love Firefox but I am having a problem with it not saving my form information. I have it set to save that information under Tools-->Option-->Privacy. But it still will not save my form information. Any ideas why would be great. I have searched for an answer but have had no luck.

Thank You


Some sites or all sites?

What version of Firefox?

What version of Windows?

Lots of sites do not allow Firefox password manager to save userid/password

# Workaround for saving Passwords for sites that Password Manager will not.....
http://www.extensionsmirror.nl/index.php?showtopic=621
http://www.squarefree.com/bookmarklets/ ... r_password

# RoboForm: Password Manager, Form Filler, Password Generator, Fill & Save Forms
http://www.roboform.com/
You will also need to download the RoboForm Adapter for Firefox .... you will need to download a new one for each new version of firefox ...
http://www.roboform.com/browsers.html#browser_mozilla
also ...
from a post by the-edmeister
there really is no way to 'manage' that info. You choose to either not save the info or save it; if you save it, you can delete incorect or mis-typed entries by hitting <Ctrl+Delete>. That's really the only 'management' available in the "vanila-Firefox".
Extensions available for setting up form information:
InformEnter extension adds a small, clickable icon next to every input field in a web form, from where you can select the item to be inserted - no typing required. You can configure it to display your frequently used information such as name, email, address
https://addons.mozilla.org/extensions/m ... php?id=673
Author's homepage for this extension
http://informenter.mozdev.org/
AutoFill extension is a semi-faithful recreation of Google's IE Autofill function in Mozilla Firefox (with some additional features).
https://addons.mozilla.org/extensions/m ... php?id=184
Author's homepage for this extension.
http://autofill.mozdev.org/

PMs are always welcome ...

later, Richard
Rule #1: My computer is always right, the human is always the problem .. RULE #2: See Rule #1
using Win XP/SP2 (home) FF1.5.0.9 FF2.0.0.1 FF3a1 Tbird1.5.0.9 ==> Press for More Answers <==
No colours in sig please.

greenknight

User avatar
 
Posts: 6150
Joined: December 13th, 2004, 2:28 am
Location: In the shadow of Mount St. Helens

Post Posted November 25th, 2005, 4:25 am

Possibly the file that data is saved in may have gotten set to Read Only. Go to your profile folder and look: http://kb.mozillazine.org/Profile_folder

Right-click on a file -> Properties will let you see if it's Read Only. None of the files in your profile should be Read Only (but the folders always are). The file you're concerned with is formhistory.dat. If it's Read Only, unset that and you're back in business.
Win 7 Home Premium SP1 x64, Linux Mint 17 MATE x64, AMD A4 5300 APU 3.4 GHz, ADATA XPG DDR3 1600 8GB, ATI Radeon HD 5450 1GB, Firefox 38.0.1, Developer Edition 40.0a2 (Win only), Nightly 41.0a1x64 (Win), Nightly 41.0a1 (Linux AMD64) .

cm25
Guest
 

Post Posted November 25th, 2005, 1:40 pm

I have Firefox 1.0.7 and Windows XP SP2. All sites have the problem with form information. I checked to see if the files are read only and they are not so any other ideas would be helpful.

cm25

Lee_Dailey

User avatar
 
Posts: 14194
Joined: July 27th, 2004, 4:33 pm
Location: milky way galaxy, sol system, terra, north america, usa, tx, bedford

Post Posted November 25th, 2005, 2:19 pm

howdy cm25,

did it EVER work? in other words, has something changed?

take care,
lee

Ed1
 
Posts: 754
Joined: January 30th, 2005, 2:33 pm

Post Posted November 25th, 2005, 2:40 pm

For me, FF stopped saving any form entries when I uninstalled FF 1.0.7 and installed FF 1.5 RC3. From that point on, no entries are being saved, despite FF settings calling for form entries to be saved. This worked perfectly in FF 1.0.7. (Running Windows ME.)

ScubyDu
Guest
 

Post Posted November 25th, 2005, 3:01 pm

This is happening to me too, with the same situation as Ed1 described above. We're not necessarily talking about passwords, but any form where you enter like your email address or zip code. Next time you go there and start typing your email address it should pop it up from before but it doesn't.

cm25
Guest
 

Post Posted November 25th, 2005, 7:40 pm

I fixed it by uninstalling firefox deleting my profile and then reinstalling. I lost all my settings except my bookmarks which I saved. I think it must be related to one of the extensions I had installed but I have no idea which one so my solution was the only one that would work.

cm25

greenknight

User avatar
 
Posts: 6150
Joined: December 13th, 2004, 2:28 am
Location: In the shadow of Mount St. Helens

Post Posted November 26th, 2005, 2:29 am

Win 7 Home Premium SP1 x64, Linux Mint 17 MATE x64, AMD A4 5300 APU 3.4 GHz, ADATA XPG DDR3 1600 8GB, ATI Radeon HD 5450 1GB, Firefox 38.0.1, Developer Edition 40.0a2 (Win only), Nightly 41.0a1x64 (Win), Nightly 41.0a1 (Linux AMD64) .

Ed1
 
Posts: 754
Joined: January 30th, 2005, 2:33 pm

Post Posted November 26th, 2005, 7:06 am

Based on cm25's comments, I'm thinking it might be the Autofill extension, which I did use (and liked a lot) in FF 1.0.7, but can't get to work in FF 1.5 RC3. I am using the same FF profile, just with Autofill uninstalled. Most of my other extensions were successfully updated, either by me manually, by their authors or with MR. Tech's Local Install or Nightly Tester Tools.

Guest
Guest
 

Post Posted November 26th, 2005, 12:13 pm

I'm not using Autofill and it happens to me.

Ed1
 
Posts: 754
Joined: January 30th, 2005, 2:33 pm

Post Posted November 26th, 2005, 1:44 pm

Please see thread called "Saved forms....." for some steps I've tried to solve this.

Return to Firefox Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 21 guests