MozillaZine

Firefox won't let me bid on Ebay

User Help for Mozilla Firefox
Lost User 18475
 
Posts: 0
Joined: December 31st, 1969, 5:00 pm

Post Posted January 7th, 2006, 7:59 am

I just started using Firefox v1.5. I have used Mozilla for years. I am having a problem that I can't figure out...firefox won't let me do secure transactions.

For instance, I supposedly have Internet access to my bank account. But Firefox won't let me log into my account. I have an Ebay account which worked the last time I logged on a bid (with Mozilla)...Now, with Firefox, I can log in to my account but I cannot bid. In both instances, I keep getting thrown back to the log in screen.

I have checked cookies...<b><i>allowing</i></b> every conceivable type of cookie from the sites in question. I have checked my passwords and usernames to the point of calling Ebay and confirming the login. all security protocols are checked and certificates are determined automatically.

Now the kicker...I also have the default IE (WindowsXP Pro sp2) on my computer and the latest version of Opera. No similar problems with either.

Is there a setting I'm missing? Or is this a bug?


DW
In the High Desert of Central Oregon

Lost User 18475
 
Posts: 0
Joined: December 31st, 1969, 5:00 pm

Post Posted January 7th, 2006, 12:12 pm

If there's no one here that can answer this question or point me in the right direction, maybe someone could tell me this...is there a contact email address for Firefox where I can get some support on this issue? Please...?

thanks


DW
In the High Desert of Central Oregon

jagged ben
 
Posts: 97
Joined: March 5th, 2004, 8:43 pm

Post Posted January 7th, 2006, 1:02 pm

All I can say is that it's not a problem for me, so it might be a setting. You could try a clean install.

irs009

User avatar
 
Posts: 729
Joined: November 28th, 2004, 7:33 am
Location: Des Moines, Iowa

Post Posted January 7th, 2006, 1:04 pm

The only thing I can think of is: Tools>options>advanced>security>make sure all three methods are checked and check do automatically. Jack

Lost User 18475
 
Posts: 0
Joined: December 31st, 1969, 5:00 pm

Post Posted January 7th, 2006, 1:20 pm

Jack,

Thanks, but I do have all three protocols enabled and Certificates selected automatically.

Any other ideas?


DW
In the High Desert of Central Oregon

Guest
Guest
 

Post Posted January 16th, 2006, 3:58 am

I've got same problem... how did you go DW? Any ideas?

Guest
Guest
 

Post Posted January 16th, 2006, 6:04 am

Well, no offence to anyone intended but I didn't get much response or help here...perhaps because this isn't a common problem...so I really had no choice--I unistalled Firefox (very sad) and installed Mozilla.

No problems now. (well only one problem but it is minor)


DW
In the High Desert of Central Oregon

old FatJohn
 
Posts: 0
Joined: December 31st, 1969, 5:00 pm

Post Posted January 16th, 2006, 6:21 am

jagged ben wrote:All I can say is that it's not a problem for me, so it might be a setting. You could try a clean install.


Why wasn't this suggestion useful? Especially since it seems to work for others... And Mozilla and Firefox are very similar, so like a problem affecting one will affect another.

Lost User 18475
 
Posts: 0
Joined: December 31st, 1969, 5:00 pm

Post Posted January 16th, 2006, 11:42 am

FatJohn,

Pardon me...it was helpful in that it suggested that all the things and settings that I had looked at (and mentioned in my original post) were not the issue and that, in turn, led me to believe that Firefox just wasn't going to work for me.

But more than that...it was helpful in the sense of generousity, if nothing else, and I thank you for taking the time to respond. I apologize for not posting my thanks sooner.


DW
In the High Desert of Central Oregon

Guest
Guest
 

Post Posted May 5th, 2006, 7:26 am

I have the same problem I can't log into my bank using FF I get to the prompt put my info in and just it will not do anything when I hit submit. It is at the bbandt.com site.

Guest
Guest
 

Post Posted May 7th, 2006, 6:31 am

Me too. I cant send Yahoo Mail. It is making me crazy and has wasted a ton of my time. I use IE for my email now.

whitekings
 
Posts: 110
Joined: November 22nd, 2005, 5:11 am

Post Posted May 8th, 2006, 1:46 am

Many secure websites use proprietary IE features, and therefore don't work in Firefox. Sometimes Opera, when cloaked as IE, will work. Try it.

Lost User 18475
 
Posts: 0
Joined: December 31st, 1969, 5:00 pm

Post Posted May 8th, 2006, 5:05 am

In my case Opera cloaked as IE *did* work but so did Mozilla. I am not convinced that the problem was with the website. I think it is with firefox. When I uninstalled FF and installed Mozilla, everything worked...bank, Ebay, etc.


DW
In the High Desert of Central Oregon

old FatJohn
 
Posts: 0
Joined: December 31st, 1969, 5:00 pm

Post Posted May 8th, 2006, 7:35 am

Well, if it works on Mozilla, then it will work on Firefox. Simple as that. The problem is with your install.

James
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 25752
Joined: June 18th, 2003, 3:07 pm
Location: Made in Canada

Post Posted May 8th, 2006, 1:23 pm

whitekings wrote:Many secure websites use proprietary IE features, and therefore don't work in Firefox. Sometimes Opera, when cloaked as IE, will work. Try it.

Or you could ask them to try the user switcher extension before plugging Opera as usual...
(*.mozillaZine.org is not Mozilla!)
The Complaint Department at Mozilla (current complaints) (<It is not a real complaint site but for jokes/testing of bugzilla).
The Complaint department link is borked until unknown time.

Return to Firefox Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 22 guests