MozillaZine

Closing all tabs possible ?

User Help for Mozilla Firefox
maybenewuser
Guest
 

Post Posted November 23rd, 2003, 8:45 am

Hi there,

I have been testing firebird and also mozilla and there is one thing I would like to be able to do:

I use tabbed browsing in opera (I am a big opera user) and I can close all tabs and just have the naked opera running if I like it has a grey background to it.

how can I do this in firebird ?

Thanks for any tips.

Kind Regards

frease

User avatar
 
Posts: 3981
Joined: September 16th, 2003, 1:17 pm

Post Posted November 23rd, 2003, 8:48 am

I don't think FB has this background behind the tabs. It will always have at least 1 tab opened.

maybenewuser
Guest
 

Post Posted November 23rd, 2003, 8:52 am

Hi there,

okay thanks for the information. but another question just came up also concerning the tabs:

in opera the Tabs are straight and not rounded. Is there any way how I can transform the look of the tabs in firebird/mozilla so that they look like boxes and are thinner ?

thanks for any help

Kind Regards

frease

User avatar
 
Posts: 3981
Joined: September 16th, 2003, 1:17 pm

Post Posted November 23rd, 2003, 9:01 am

I have this in my userchrome.css. Not sure if it helps:

Code: Select all
/* General Tab Appearances */

tab {
height: 20px !important;
max-height: 20px !important;
-moz-appearance: none !important;
}
.tabbrowser-tabs tab {
background-color: #D7D7D7 !important;
margin-top: 4px !important;
margin-left: 1px !important;
margin-right: 1px !important;
margin-bottom: -2px !important;
border-top: 1px solid !important;
border-right: 1px solid !important;
border-left: 1px solid !important;
border-bottom: 1px #CCCCCC!important;
-moz-border-top-colors: #CCCCCC !important;
-moz-border-right-colors: #CCCCCC !important;
-moz-border-left-colors: #CCCCCC !important;
}

tab[selected="true"] {
background: #FFFFFF !important;
padding-bottom: 1px !important;
margin-top: 0px !important;
margin-bottom: -1px !important;
border-top: 1px solid !important;
border-right: 1px solid !important;
border-left: 1px solid !important;
border-bottom: none !important;
}

#content tab:hover {
background: #FFFFFF !important;
padding-bottom: 1px !important;
margin-top: 0px !important;
margin-bottom: -1px !important;
border-top: 1px solid !important;
border-bottom: none !important;
}


/* icons on tab on regular, hover, and selected */
.tabbrowser-tabs *|tab .tab-icon {
display: none;
}

.tabbrowser-tabs *|tab:hover .tab-icon {
display: -moz-box;
}

/* Show icons on selected tab */
.tabbrowser-tabs tab[selected="true"] .tab-icon {
display: -moz-box;
}

/* cosmetic effects to line everything up--unconfirmed */
.tabbrowser-strip {
border-bottom: 0px #CCCCCC !important;
}

/* End Tab Customization */



(someone did that but I forgot the username)

In the end, it looks like:

<img src="http://server4.uploadit.org/files/231103-tabs.png">

maybenewuser
Guest
 

Post Posted November 23rd, 2003, 9:10 am

hi there,

thanks a lot ;-) ... that is just what I was looking for. great.

you have no idea how thankfull I am for this ;-)

I am really beginning to like this browser more and more and if I manage to get it to feel a bit more like my very personalized opera, then it sure will be my "standard" browser soon ;-)

kind regards

frease

User avatar
 
Posts: 3981
Joined: September 16th, 2003, 1:17 pm

Post Posted November 23rd, 2003, 9:11 am

You're welcome. Glad I helped:)

oe600

User avatar
 
Posts: 6
Joined: November 23rd, 2003, 10:43 am
Location: Germany

Post Posted November 23rd, 2003, 2:32 pm

hi there,

another thing concerning the tabs:

I tried the following in the usercrhome.css:

/* GENERAL TAB APPEARANCES */
/* Fixing up the Tabheights */
tab { height: 23px !important; max-height: 23px !important; -moz-appearance: none !important; }
tab { width: 30px !important; max-width: 30px !important; -moz-appearance: none !important; }


but no matter what value I put into the width line, the width always stays the same :-( I would like to have slimm tabs.

anybody have an idea how I can do it, so that it will work ?

Kind Regards
We help you see the World. Our business is life itself.

frease

User avatar
 
Posts: 3981
Joined: September 16th, 2003, 1:17 pm

Post Posted November 23rd, 2003, 7:57 pm

Here on sboulema's site, I found this code:

Code: Select all
/* Fixed width Tabs */
tab {max-width: blahpx !important;}


(replace blah with a number)

Hope this helps.

dacovale

User avatar
 
Posts: 1106
Joined: March 19th, 2003, 6:14 am
Location: Sweden

Post Posted November 24th, 2003, 9:03 am

you can make it seem like there's no tabs opened if you use TBE. (find it among the extensions)
I have TBE set so that when I close my last tab, it turns blank (it goes to about:blank)
That way, I have a browser that behaves very similar to Opera.
I'm nice

oe600

User avatar
 
Posts: 6
Joined: November 23rd, 2003, 10:43 am
Location: Germany

Post Posted November 25th, 2003, 12:17 pm

Hi there,

well thanks for those tips, I will try them out tonight. I think there is no way round using TBE then ;-)

I must say that the support here is the fastest I have ever seen. *thumbs up*

Kind Regards
We help you see the World. Our business is life itself.

Guest
Guest
 

Post Posted December 11th, 2003, 5:29 am

rah rah

Return to Firefox Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 10 guests