MozillaZine

Firefox doesn't open Youtube.com. IE does. Why?

User Help for Mozilla Firefox
Pirun piru
Guest
 

Post Posted March 10th, 2006, 3:01 am

For some reason I can't access www.youtube.com page. Firefox 1.5.0.1 always gives me the following error page;

The connection has timed out
The server at www.youtube.com is taking too long to respond.

# The site could be temporarily unavailable or too busy. Try again in a few
moments.

# If you are unable to load any pages, check your computer's network
connection.

# If your computer or network is protected by a firewall or proxy, make sure
that Firefox is permitted to access the Web.


And the videos originating from that page won't open in pages like gizmodo.com, all I see is blank area. When I right click the blank area, I can see the flasplayer menu, but I still can't play the video.
http://www.gizmodo.com/gadgets/pcs/cebi ... 159545.php



IE plays these videos just fine and it can also access youtube.com.


My firefox doesn't open some other pages either, like;
http://dunck.us/collab/GreaseMonkeyUserScriptsGeneric



My Firefox connection settings are:
Auto-detect proxy settings for this network

Protocols:
SSL 2.0
SSL 3.0
TSL 1.0

I'm using Zone Alarm (ff has full access to net)




Does anyone else have similar problems? I can't figure out what's wrong with my connection settings.



PS.
Other flash videos on my Firefox work just fine.
http://www.cnet.com/2001-10107_1-0.html ... tfd.navtab

trolly
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 38945
Joined: August 22nd, 2005, 7:25 am

Post Posted March 10th, 2006, 3:38 am

Think for yourself. Otherwise you have to believe what other people tell you.
A society based on individualism is an oxymoron. || Freedom is at first the freedom to starve.
Constitution says: One man, one vote. Supreme court says: One dollar, one vote.

rjbinney
 
Posts: 56
Joined: October 31st, 2005, 9:09 am

Post Posted March 10th, 2006, 7:13 am

I"ve been complaining in another thread about slow load times.

I hit that link for the standard diagnostic about fifteen minutes ago... and it still is not up!
Dan: You're gonna need to get someone to fix my computer.
Kim: What's wrong with it?
Dan: It's in several pieces on my floor.

trolly
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 38945
Joined: August 22nd, 2005, 7:25 am

Post Posted March 10th, 2006, 7:31 am

Try safe mode:
Start -> Programs -> Mozilla Firefox -> Firefox (safe mode)
If not better crete a new profile:
Start -> Run -> type "firefox -P". Follow instructions, do not select a folder, accept the default.

To work FF must be closed in either case.
Think for yourself. Otherwise you have to believe what other people tell you.
A society based on individualism is an oxymoron. || Freedom is at first the freedom to starve.
Constitution says: One man, one vote. Supreme court says: One dollar, one vote.

Guest
Guest
 

Post Posted March 10th, 2006, 8:19 am

I tried safemode and also creating a new profile - no luck.
I also dowloaded Mozilla to see if that browser would be able to load youtube... but no. Same/similar error message.
(i've not downloaded mozilla before to this computer, so there was no previous profiles left hidden)

I doubt the "Standard diagnostic" trick would do the trick in this case.


I guess this one of those life's hidden mysteries.




Shit... just worked it out while writing this :) The "Auto-detect proxy settings for this network" didn't work correctly. I had to manually write HTTP Proxy & Port and voilĂ ! My Firefox now loads youtube.com


damned you "auto-detect" for not working correcly...

rose11443
Guest
 

Post Posted March 4th, 2011, 7:57 am

I had same problem.
I could not open you tube with Firefox , I could only see white screen & audio was good. I could see video again by doing....

1. left clickon the name of the uploader ( ID UPLOADFED) (if ...setting button is dim on right clicking on standard video)
2.right click in the uploader window streaming video
3.choose "settings"... from the Flash Player's pop-up menu
4. Uncheck the "Enable Hardware Accelaration"
5. Click close
6.Go back to previous window( your you tube) by clicking back button at standard tool bar,
you will see working now =D>

LIMPET235
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 34196
Joined: October 19th, 2007, 1:53 am
Location: The South Coast of N.S.W. Oz.

Post Posted March 4th, 2011, 8:03 am

You're replying to a 5 year old thread.

Locking due to very old age.
Ancient Amateur Astronomer
Win-7-HP/Intel® DualCore-2.0GHz/500G HDD/4 Gig Ram/550Watt PSU/350WattUPS/Firefox-20.0-30.0-36.0.1/T-bird-2.0.0.24/SnagIt-v10.0.1/MWP-7.5.0.
RadioYachting. Conficker Test.

Return to Firefox Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google Adsense [Bot], kamyto and 22 guests