MozillaZine

Shockwave Flash error

User Help for Mozilla Firefox
Guest
Guest
 

Post Posted May 21st, 2006, 5:28 am

I am having this problem too, I am going to try Shockwave player 7, see if it makes any difference.

What major differences am I missing out on between 7 and 8?

Ariox
Guest
 

Post Posted May 27th, 2006, 6:57 pm

I had the same problem, and uninstalled according to bushvenom's advice.

C:\Program Files\Mozilla Firefox\plugins\np32dsw.dll

was missing in my case, thanks a lot for the help.

Guest
Guest
 

Post Posted May 27th, 2006, 6:59 pm

Ariox wrote:I had the same problem, and uninstalled according to bushvenom's advice.

C:\Program Files\Mozilla Firefox\plugins\np32dsw.dll

was missing in my case, thanks a lot for the help.


Scratch the above, still have problems. Darn.

Ariox
Guest
 

Post Posted May 27th, 2006, 8:37 pm

BB3000, did you try installing Flash 7 instead of 8? I was at the end of my rope until I tried it, and it works for me.

Thank, Kyle26 ;)

dickvl

User avatar
 
Posts: 52833
Joined: July 18th, 2005, 3:25 am

Post Posted May 28th, 2006, 7:21 am

You can try to delete the Macromedia support folder:
http://www.adobe.com/cfusion/knowledgeb ... r_6fe9019f

C:\Documents and Settings\<user>\Application Data\Macromedia\Flash Player\macromedia.com\support\
Start> Run: %APPDATA%\Macromedia\Flash Player\
Delete everything in the Flash Player folder.

Guest
Guest
 

Post Posted May 28th, 2006, 10:01 pm

this error is so frstrating. I've unstinalled Flash 8, i've deleted everything in my extension folders. Delete everything in components. Reintall firefox and I still get the ops shcokwave erro message. What is going on? Thanks.

Guest
Guest
 

Post Posted May 28th, 2006, 10:25 pm

sorry, looks like the Flash 7 idea is working (at least I hope it fixed it).

Mupe
Guest
 

Post Posted May 28th, 2006, 11:35 pm

Hi! I have a problem with Flash on our webpage. The flash animations on main page of our site wont show in Firefox. With IE it is ok. The main page is http://www.ficnet.fi. There is one flash on top of upper buttons and language flags, which is shown as white line in FF. The other flash is under "log in" and "register in" links.

Old BushVenom
 
Posts: 0
Joined: December 31st, 1969, 5:00 pm

Post Posted May 28th, 2006, 11:45 pm

I didn't see any Flash animations at www.ficnet.fi either, although Adblock Plus showed there was only one embedded flash file, not two. The following may help you resolve this issue:

http://validator.w3.org/check?uri=http% ... cnet.fi%2F

http://jigsaw.w3.org/css-validator/vali ... medium=all

Psymong
Guest
 

Post Posted June 14th, 2006, 7:11 pm

Cheers Guys,

Was also getting this problem and it was really starting to get on my tits.
Installing version 7 seems to have worked for me.
Thanks for the help all!

XtcKilz
Guest
 

Post Posted June 22nd, 2006, 8:26 pm

Kyle26 wrote:It's quite simple really. There is a bug in Macromedia Flash Player 8 that causes this Shockwave Flash error to happen. http://casario.blogs.com/mmworld/2005/1 ... stall.html tells you more about it. Other issues with Macromedia Flash Player 8 can be found at http://www.fullasagoog.com/index.cfm?blogid=300.

I tried sending the files in C:\Program Files\Mozilla Firefox\plugins to the Recycle Bin but that didn't work, so I restored the files to that folder. Then I did some tests with www.wgcshop.com which ReconNinja (from this thread) provided--to find what was causing the plugin error.

Here is what you need to do with Mozilla Firefox browser in Windows XP to remove this annoying plugin error:

1. Go to www.wgcshop.com and wait for the plugin error. Then on the left side of the screen where the list is, right click on the menu list then look at the bottom of the popup white box. It should show "About Macromedia Flash Player 8..." (and that's where the problem comes from)
2. Find and download the uninstaller for Macromedia Flash Player 8 at http://www.macromedia.com/cfusion/knowl ... r_tn_14157 (download the correct one for the operating system you are using)--also, if link's dead, find an uninstaller that is specifically made for Macromedia Flash Player 8.
3. Close browser windows then run the Macromedia Flash Player 8 uninstaller.
4. You may get stuck at 93% uninstall while it's searching for browser windows to shut down. When that happens, open Task Manager and kill off "killbro~.exe" (which doesn't matter because it's just looking for browser windows that aren't even there). Wait for uninstall to complete. Then end the gcff.tmp (sp?) and uninstall_flash_player.exe (sp?) processes in Task Manager.
4. Download the appropriate Macromedia Flash Player 7 installer from http://infogenix.com/links/download_flash_player.html
5. Install Macromedia Flash Player 7.
6. Open Firefox browser, go to http://www.wgcshop.com/. See if the error message comes up again. It should be gone. That wasn't so hard after all, was it?

Congratulations to Kevin for having the right idea of how to resolve this problem. It's probably the best workaround solution for now.





worked for me thanks a bunch

gialloporpora

User avatar
 
Posts: 362
Joined: October 24th, 2005, 12:44 pm

Post Posted June 25th, 2006, 12:08 pm

This is a bug of Flash plugin, to solve read this Topic in Adobe support Forum:
http://www.adobe.com/cfusion/webforums/ ... erthread=y

Guest
Guest
 

Post Posted June 25th, 2006, 8:45 pm

I have same problem, I did everything said above. Like JRM60 when I ran uninstall_flashplayer, it would stop at 93% copying C:\DOCUME~1\Jim\LOCALS~1\Temp\Killbrowser.exe

And I tried deleted everything in Temp folder, unsinstall Shockwave using SW_Uninstaller and Flash Player as well as Firefox. Reinstall them and Message Still Pops Up whenever I go to a page with flash media on it (not all the time though, it pops up like 90% of the times)

When I type About:plugins, I have all the stuff mentioned above:
Shockwave Flash
File name: NPSWF32.dll
Shockwave Flash 8.0 r24 (mine says r24, above said r22

Shockwave for Director
File name: np32dsw.dll
Macromedia Shockwave for Director Netscape plug-in, version 10.1

This pop up gets quite annoying

Guest
Guest
 

Post Posted June 25th, 2006, 8:57 pm

Ignore the post above, installed Flash version 7 seemed to stop the problem. Thx

luobogao
Guest
 

Post Posted June 27th, 2006, 6:26 pm

thanks bushvenom, that did the trick for me....unistalled flash player and then reinstalled it.

Return to Firefox Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests