MozillaZine

Flash okay in Firebird, but SHOCKWAVE - no way.

User Help for Mozilla Firefox
dewaun
 
Posts: 92
Joined: August 17th, 2003, 7:47 pm
Location: 16 hours in Cowtown / 8 hours in Big-D

Post Posted December 11th, 2003, 1:01 pm

|
|

Okay...

I'm running Firebird (build: see signature) on Macintosh OS X 10.2.8 "Jaguar". I've been to Macromedia.com and downloaded the latest FLASH player plug-in and the SHOCKWAVE player plug-in.

Only the flash player plug-in works. SHOCKWAVE browser plug-in DOES NOT WORK. I've searched this forum and found nothing that works for Firebird under OS X 10.2.8. I've repaired permissions, reinstalled and even dropped a copy of the SHOCKWAVE plug-in directly in the PACKAGE CONTENTS (plug-in folder) of Firebird.

I've went to: http://www.macromedia.com/shockwave/welcome/

:sad: :furious: What's a guy to do? :sad: :furious:
Only the FLASH player shows being installed. SHOCKWAVE doesn't seem to work in Opera, Camino or Safari, either. So far, only OmniWeb and Internet Explorer shows BOTH PLUGINS being installed from the macromedia welcome site.


:?:
DEWAUN SIMMONS

Current Firefox Build: Mozilla/5.0 (Macintosh; U; PPC Mac OS X Mach-O; en-US; rv:1.8b4) Gecko/20050904 Firefox/1.0+

Concerned Parent

User avatar
 
Posts: 11
Joined: December 26th, 2003, 11:04 am

Post Posted December 26th, 2003, 11:27 am

Firebird 0.7 WinME and XP

Flash Player installs and works as intended but Shockwave Player does not.
Installed Shockwave from this link http://plugindoc.mozdev.org/windows.html#Shockwave

This page http://pbskids.org/barney/children/music/ideasw.html loads with the "RealOne Player bar", under that is a link that one can click on to view with Shockwave, when clicked you get the plugin link that sends you to this page http://sdc.shockwave.com/shockwave/down ... ge=English

Also tried this page http://www.shockwave.com/sw/content/jigsawpuzzles got similar message that gives you this link http://www.shockwave.com/sw/error/shockwave.html which sends you to this page http://sdc.shockwave.com/shockwave/down ... wnload.cgi?

(Note: all links to Shockwave dowload give you this:
Version: Shockwave 8.5.1
Platform: Windows
Browser: Netscape or Netscape-compatible and CompuServe 7.0
File size: 3,942 K
Date Posted: 4/8/2003
Language: English, French, German)

Also noticed that when viewing the plugins with "about:plugins" the Shockwave player is not listed.

NHSheep
 
Posts: 14
Joined: November 29th, 2003, 1:36 pm

Post Posted December 26th, 2003, 12:12 pm

Under plugins, it's listed for me..

Shockwave Flash

File name: NPSWF32.dll
Shockwave Flash 7.0 r14

MIME Type Description Suffixes Enabled
application/x-shockwave-flash Macromedia Flash movie swf Yes
application/futuresplash FutureSplash movie spl Yes



It seems to work at all the sites.

EDIT:

I have ShockwavePlugin.class in my plugins folder, and if you can direct me to the place where I can find out what else is added during the install, I can help. I'm by no means smart when it comes to this sort of thing, I'm more hardware oriented... :banana:

Concerned Parent

User avatar
 
Posts: 11
Joined: December 26th, 2003, 11:04 am

Post Posted December 26th, 2003, 5:28 pm

NHSheep wrote:...
I have ShockwavePlugin.class in my plugins folder, and if you can direct me to the place where I can find out what else is added during the install, I can help. I'm by no means smart when it comes to this sort of thing, I'm more hardware oriented... :banana:
Determined to get this fixed for dewaun and myself and I really hate Hijacking someone elses post but I've got to ask whom were you addressing and what exactly do you mean by "if you can direct me to the place where I can find out what else is added during the install ..."?

NHSheep
 
Posts: 14
Joined: November 29th, 2003, 1:36 pm

Post Posted December 26th, 2003, 7:18 pm

Sorry if I was unclear, I was addressing you, trying to get help finding what modifications shockwave made when it was installed. If I could find that out, I could get it to work on my other system as well.

Idea, have you applied the plugin registry patch? You'll have to edit it to reflect where your firebird installation is. Here is the info:

Persist wrote:Right click on this link and choose Save Link to Disk...go to where you saved it (it's a registry patch), double click on it, then click OK. And then run the Flash installer again. (Firebird must be installed in C:\Program Files\MozillaFirebird or the patch won't help)



If firebird isn't installed to that directory, just edit it... shockwave should install right then. That's how I got mine working. In reference to the original poster... I don't have MacOS, but after reading around, it seems like a common problem. Have you checked bugzilla?

Concerned Parent

User avatar
 
Posts: 11
Joined: December 26th, 2003, 11:04 am

Post Posted December 26th, 2003, 8:22 pm

That did it NH. The problem was with the folder that Firebird was "installed" in. I followed the tips in this post http://forums.mozillazine.org/viewtopic.php?t=15537 and installed the registry fix but it's missing the important note about the folder (unless I missed it). Thanks a million.

dewaun
 
Posts: 92
Joined: August 17th, 2003, 7:47 pm
Location: 16 hours in Cowtown / 8 hours in Big-D

Post Posted December 26th, 2003, 11:22 pm

But alas, still no idea how to fix for Macintosh OS X version of Firebird...

:cry: :cry: :cry:
DEWAUN SIMMONS

Current Firefox Build: Mozilla/5.0 (Macintosh; U; PPC Mac OS X Mach-O; en-US; rv:1.8b4) Gecko/20050904 Firefox/1.0+

Concerned Parent

User avatar
 
Posts: 11
Joined: December 26th, 2003, 11:04 am

Post Posted December 27th, 2003, 12:47 pm

Don't fret, I'm still working on it. [-o<

Dam
Guest
 

Post Posted December 29th, 2003, 8:14 pm

Same problem with mac osX jaguar (10.3), so... (shockwave plug-in works with Mozilla, i don't understand why it doesn't with firebird).

Return to Firefox Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 9 guests