MozillaZine

Firefox did not work after update

User Help for Mozilla Firefox
phero100
Guest
 

Post Posted June 2nd, 2006, 4:53 am

Hello!
Today Firefox version 1.5.0.4 was automatically installed as update on my computer (windows XP, SP2). After installation, Firefox did not connect to the internet anymore. For every link I got the message connection failed (in German).

I write this message from IE which works correctly, so it is not a connection problem.

Any help?

Guest
Guest
 

Post Posted June 2nd, 2006, 4:58 am

http://kb.mozillazine.org/Error_loading_any_website
Error loading any website

Most likely a firwall issue.

Guest
Guest
 

Post Posted June 2nd, 2006, 5:24 am

it is not a firewall issue. I am having the same problem. I took the steps in the walkthrough troubleshooter and nothign works.

Guest
Guest
 

Post Posted June 2nd, 2006, 5:29 am

Anonymous wrote:it is not a firewall issue. I am having the same problem. I took the steps in the walkthrough troubleshooter and nothign works.
Are you completely disabling your firewall or are you just closing the program? Most firewalls continue to block access even if you think you shut it down.

Guest
Guest
 

Post Posted June 2nd, 2006, 5:29 am

How can i reinstall 1.5.0.3? The link on firefox site brings you to 1.5.0.4. New version is not working.

trolly
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 39908
Joined: August 22nd, 2005, 7:25 am

Post Posted June 2nd, 2006, 5:41 am

Which firewall do you have? For Norton -> http://forums.mozillazine.org/viewtopic.php?t=259337
1.5.0.3 -> http://ftp.mozilla.org/pub/mozilla.org/ ... es/1.5.0.3
Unless you switch off automatic updates the update is installed in less than two days again.
Tools -> Options -> Advanced -> Update -> Check "Ask me ..."
Think for yourself. Otherwise you have to believe what other people tell you.
A society based on individualism is an oxymoron. || Freedom is at first the freedom to starve.
Constitution says: One man, one vote. Supreme court says: One dollar, one vote.

Guest
Guest
 

Post Posted June 2nd, 2006, 5:58 am

not using Norton. Using WindowsFirewall and Zonelabs. Both have given new firefox as an exception and nothing. I turned off both firewalls and nothing. I went through the tutorial help and still no connection. Im not a pro so maybe something i am missing.

leopoldv
 
Posts: 3
Joined: June 2nd, 2006, 6:06 am
Location: Slovenia

Post Posted June 2nd, 2006, 6:12 am

I have exactly the same problem
On asking for the update I get the message :
AUS: Posodobitvena datoteka XML ni prave oblike (200) ....AUS: Updating file XML not in the right form(at) (200)
I removed and reinstalled the firefox but it doesn´t help
Leopold

makaiguy

User avatar
 
Posts: 16760
Joined: November 18th, 2002, 6:44 pm
Location: Somewhere in SE USA

Post Posted June 2nd, 2006, 6:13 am

Firewalls and Antivirus programs

"Checking" the settings in these utilities is often not enough. Many recognize an updated FFox or TBird is not the same program that you have already granted internet permissions to. It's smart enough not to give permission to an unauthorized program, but too stupid to ask you what to about it when the program trying to access the net has the same name as one with permissions. When you check your set up, yep, looks like FFox or TBird has all the permissions it needs, but that's the OLD version. Try deleting all mention of FFox/TBird from the firewall/AV configuration and let the firewall/AV rediscover FFox/TBird the next time you use it.

Also, sometimes automatic updates of these utilities can cause problems as well causing loss of permissions.

And one last point. Depending on the utility, deactivating the firewall/av for testing may just shut down the user interface but still leave the basic utility running in the background.
Doug Wilson, "The Makai Guy"
Win10 (64bit): FF Quantum 68.0 (64bit), TB 60.8.0 (32-bit) ║ Android 8.0/7.1.1: FF Mobile 67.0.3
No TB for Android available, dammit!
What a fool believes he sees, no wise man has the power to reason away - Doobie Brothers

leopoldv
 
Posts: 3
Joined: June 2nd, 2006, 6:06 am
Location: Slovenia

Post Posted June 2nd, 2006, 6:20 am

makaiguy wrote:Firewalls and Antivirus programs

"Checking" the settings in these utilities is often not enough. Many recognize an updated FFox or TBird is not the same program that you have already granted internet permissions to. It's smart enough not to give permission to an unauthorized program, but too stupid to ask you what to about it when the program trying to access the net has the same name as one with permissions. When you check your set up, yep, looks like FFox or TBird has all the permissions it needs, but that's the OLD version. Try deleting all mention of FFox/TBird from the firewall/AV configuration and let the firewall/AV rediscover FFox/TBird the next time you use it.

Also, sometimes automatic updates of these utilities can cause problems as well causing loss of permissions.

And one last point. Depending on the utility, deactivating the firewall/av for testing may just shut down the user interface but still leave the basic utility running in the background.
I exited all Kaspersky programs (antivirus & antihacker) , but firefox still doesn´t work
Leopold

trolly
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 39908
Joined: August 22nd, 2005, 7:25 am

Post Posted June 2nd, 2006, 6:20 am

leopoldv wrote:I have exactly the same problem
On asking for the update I get the message :
AUS: Posodobitvena datoteka XML ni prave oblike (200) ....AUS: Updating file XML not in the right form(at) (200)
I removed and reinstalled the firefox but it doesn´t help
This has nothing to do with the original problem and FF. The update server delivers a broken file. Just try later or if you already have updated to 1.5.0.4 ignore it.

Guest
Guest
 

Post Posted June 2nd, 2006, 6:23 am

Try deleting all mention of FFox/TBird from the firewall/AV configuration and let the firewall/AV rediscover FFox/TBird the next time you use it.

Did that before hand and didnt work. As for shutting down the firewalls. They were not running in the background.

tomaszek
Guest
 

Post Posted June 2nd, 2006, 7:21 am

This is unacceptable. Firefox was working fine until it automatically updated, and now it can't connect to anything. The thunderbird update to 1.5.0.4 has the same problem. Deleting the enries from zonealarm makes no difference. Shutting down zonealarm woks, but that leaves me without a firewall.

rextilleon
 
Posts: 71
Joined: April 11th, 2004, 9:15 pm

Post Posted June 2nd, 2006, 7:23 am

Just upgraded and I can no longer connect to the Internet. Tried the following:

1. Complete uninstall of all Mozilla software and registry entries----(including preferences) and reinstall of version 1.5.04
2. System Restore to version 1.50.03
3. Turned off all firewalls virus protection etc.

Very frustrated as I am a long time user and I am not forced to use Windows Explorer which connects with no problem. Why wouldn't I be able to connect when I am essentially starting with a clean install? Is there something wrong with this version.

mizzmonsta
Guest
 

Post Posted June 2nd, 2006, 7:34 am

I also had the update auto-install and I'm experiencing a looping error message:

Software Update Failed
One or more files could not be updated. Please make sure all other applications are closed and that you have permission to modify files, and then restart Firefox to try again.
(OK)

Whether you click (OK) or close the prompt, it tries again... The error appears and I get the above error message again. Had to kill the process to get it to stop.

Not good >:-(

Return to Firefox Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: tpaulr and 7 guests