MozillaZine

Changing HTTP Port In Firefox?

User Help for Mozilla Firefox
Guest
Guest
 

Post Posted August 1st, 2006, 6:20 am

Hi, I was just wondering if there was a way
to change the default http port in Firefox...
(The default port being 80)
...I know it's possible to do this by setting up a proxy
but since I don't have a proxy to use, I was wondering if it
was possible to do it another way so that all my browsing
can be done from a port other than port 80

a;skdjfajf;ak

User avatar
 
Posts: 17002
Joined: July 10th, 2004, 8:44 am

Post Posted August 1st, 2006, 6:28 am

I don't think so, all traffic from any browser uses port 80.

Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.1; en-US; rv:1.9a1) Gecko/20060801 Minefield/3.0a1,Firefox ID:2006080104 [cairo]

teoli2003
 
Posts: 5091
Joined: November 10th, 2005, 2:54 am

Post Posted August 1st, 2006, 6:29 am

You have to use the port that the server is using, most of them using port 80. If you use another port to connect to the server, it just won't work.

The only way to connect to another port than the 80 and to connect is to have a proxy in between doing the translation.

If you do http://www.example.com:81 it will try to connect on port 81, and it will of course fail (except on some specific case).

Guest
Guest
 

Post Posted August 1st, 2006, 6:35 am

teoli2003 wrote:You have to use the port that the server is using, most of them using port 80. If you use another port to connect to the server, it just won't work.

The only way to connect to another port than the 80 and to connect is to have a proxy in between doing the translation.

If you do http://www.example.com:81 it will try to connect on port 81, and it will of course fail (except on some specific case).

That's not actually what I meant, I don't want to access a port other than 80 on other servers
I was wondering if there was a way for my outgoing http connections to use a port other than
my default browsing port...
if that makes sense ^^;
anyway, I appreciate the help nevertheless

teoli2003
 
Posts: 5091
Joined: November 10th, 2005, 2:54 am

Post Posted August 1st, 2006, 6:37 am

But your outgoing connection is NOT using port 80. It is using a very high (and changing) port (higher than 1024) and goes towards port 80 of the other computer.

That's the way all TCP connections work.

Guest
Guest
 

Post Posted August 1st, 2006, 6:44 am

Ohh... *feels really stupid*
Well, that sucks for me then.
Anyway, thanks for the help teoli

teoli2003
 
Posts: 5091
Joined: November 10th, 2005, 2:54 am

Post Posted August 1st, 2006, 6:52 am

Anonymous wrote:Ohh... *feels really stupid*

Not knowning something should make you feels stupid; it is not learning that is stupid :-)

Maybe you should explain the problem you are experiencing, and we can perhaps help or advise you.

Return to Firefox Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Daifne, Google Adsense [Bot], msmith and 30 guests