Configured to use proxy that's refusing connections

User Help for Mozilla Firefox
Hoistur

Configured to use proxy that's refusing connections

Post by Hoistur »

I click FF shortcut and get
"Proxy server is refusing connections. Firefox is configured to use a proxy server that is refusing connections. Check the proxy settings to make sure they are correct."
I just installed FF 2.0.0.1 and never reached where it should offer to transfer Outlook Express stuff to FF. I'm a beginner so would very much appreciate someone telling me specifically where and what to click. Can't make sure proxy settings are correct cause don't know where to do that or what is correct.
Thanks in advance.
dickvl

Post by dickvl »

Are you using a proxy or a direct connection?

Check: Tools > Options > Advanced : Network : Connection
Hoistur

Post by Hoistur »

dickvl wrote:Are you using a proxy or a direct connection?

Check: Tools > Options > Advanced : Network : Connection

Thanks

I go Tools > Internet Options, Advanced tab and get long lists under major headings such as Accessibility, Browsing, HTTPS settings, International, etc. See nothing relevant.

I go Tools > Internet Options, Connections tab, Settings, Proxy Server section - has unchecked box for "Use proxy server for this connection . . ." and faint gray numbers in address and port number boxes and an Advanced tab which will not accept clk without the numbers entered. My IP tech helper once had my be sure the Use Prosy Server box was not checked. To solve this FF problem I have tried it both ways.

So to answer, I don't know if using proxy or direct.

Have Windows XP and update all programs regularly.
dickvl

Post by dickvl »

That menu is in Firefox and not in IE:
Firefox: Tools > Options > Advanced : Network : Connection

Post by Guest »

Went to Advanced: Network: Connections: "Configure how Firefox connects to the Internet"; Settings. There I see
Manual proxy configurations is on
HTTP Proxy- local host Port 8118