Server Override local css files ?

User Help for Mozilla Firefox
CSpace

Server Override local css files ?

Post by CSpace »

Hi all,

I'm not a FF user but recently was told that FF can override the CSS that a website developer has linked in their HTML pages. So, as a developer, I may have specified text to be Arial 10 pt Black, but a FF user of the site can make it look like whatever they want, essentially overriding the developer's design.

Another thing I was told is that the user's local stylesheet (for lack of a better term - maybe its called userchrome.css or usercontent.css) will ALWAYS override the CSS file on the server... that there is no tweakable setting to have FF just use the CSS in the rendered HTML page coming from the server.
I found it hard to believe that there's no option to not use the local CSS.

Is this true? If so, how can I ever hope to generate consistent-looking pages to all my MAC/FF users if they're own FF browser's local CSS choices are overriding the one's designed into the page itself?

Can someone enlighten me or point me to some links explaining this PLEASE?

Thanks in advance!
Aerofox

Post by Aerofox »

The first part is true; Firefox users can override the CSS through the use of the Web Developer Toolbar. From there, a Firefox user can change the CSS on a given page to suit their needs, and even add their own stylesheet. However, from what I've heard, it only lasts for one browser session.

The second statement however, is not true, or at least, for the most part. Sites may display differently depending on how you set up the default font sizes, colors, styles etc. that are already a part of Firefox's accessibility settings. These settings will change the look of the page, but anything else such as an external stylesheet will never (or should never) always override the use of the server's CSS file.