MozillaZine

Games won't load on shockwave after update!

User Help for Mozilla Firefox
cdw_10
Guest
 

Post Posted June 3rd, 2007, 3:39 pm

The only way I get through my long work days is through the small amount of pleasure I get from silly games on shockwave!!

That said, and I am the furthest from being computer savvy, but I guess its the java applets that are not loading when i try to play a game (text twist for example) on shockwaves website. This problem only occurred after Firefox was updated to 2.0.0.4 while IE has no problems loading games on the same website. First I thought it had something to do with java, but the applets seem to load in Firefox when I access other sites like Yahoo Games!!

Anyone else experiencing this phenomenon!! Or do you all have better things to do with your time other than play games!! haHA!!

cheers

Tad Ghostal

User avatar
 
Posts: 7141
Joined: August 8th, 2005, 8:26 pm
Location: aka sumguy231

Post Posted June 3rd, 2007, 4:26 pm

Maybe I'm in the wrong section, but most of the games on shockwave.com use either Flash or Shockwave, not Java (I suppose that does make sense, right?) Make sure you have those installed - to see which plugins are available to Firefox, go to about:plugins.
Mozilla/5.0 (X11; U; Linux i686; en-US; rv:1.8.1.6) Gecko/20061201 Firefox/2.0.0.6 (Ubuntu-feisty)
When you say 'I wrote a program that crashed Windows', people just stare at you blankly and say 'Hey, I got those with the system, *for free*'.
-- Linus Torvalds

James
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 25732
Joined: June 18th, 2003, 3:07 pm
Location: Made in Canada

Post Posted June 3rd, 2007, 4:31 pm

(*.mozillaZine.org is not Mozilla!)
The Complaint Department at Mozilla (current complaints) (<It is not a real complaint site but for jokes/testing of bugzilla).
The Complaint department link is borked until unknown time.

cdw_10
Guest
 

Post Posted June 3rd, 2007, 5:01 pm

I have both flash and shockwave plugins. I say java because when I open certain games with IE the orange java logo can be seen and the icon also appears in my system tray, at least I thought it did, then I hid it and now I don't know how to open up the java control panel!! Anyway, other games will load adobe shockwave and others will load java, I can do both with IE, but neither with Firefox......again this happened after the latest update.

dickvl

User avatar
 
Posts: 51514
Joined: July 18th, 2005, 3:25 am

Post Posted June 3rd, 2007, 5:35 pm

Text Twist has a Java Applet in the listed in the page source, so you are correct about that.
I do not have JRE installed so I can't check if it works

Tad Ghostal

User avatar
 
Posts: 7141
Joined: August 8th, 2005, 8:26 pm
Location: aka sumguy231

Post Posted June 3rd, 2007, 7:17 pm

Ah, didn't see that. But once again, are any of those plugins listed in about:plugins?
Mozilla/5.0 (X11; U; Linux i686; en-US; rv:1.8.1.6) Gecko/20061201 Firefox/2.0.0.6 (Ubuntu-feisty)
When you say 'I wrote a program that crashed Windows', people just stare at you blankly and say 'Hey, I got those with the system, *for free*'.
-- Linus Torvalds

Guest
Guest
 

Post Posted June 3rd, 2007, 7:53 pm

The following are listed in about:plugins

1)Shockwave for Director (Adobe Shockwave for Director Netscape plug-in, version 10.2)
File name: np32dsw.dll

2)Shockwave Flash (Shockwave Flash 9.0 r45)
File name: NPSWF32.dll

3)Java(TM) Platform SE 6 U1 (Java Plug-in 1.6.0_01 for Netscape Navigator (DLL Helper))
File name: npjava13.dll
File name: npjava14.dll
File name: npjava32.dll
File name: npjava11.dll
File name: npjava12.dll
File name: npjpi160_01.dll

All are Enabled.

cdw_10
Guest
 

Post Posted June 3rd, 2007, 8:02 pm

Anonymous wrote:The following are listed in about:plugins

1)Shockwave for Director (Adobe Shockwave for Director Netscape plug-in, version 10.2)
File name: np32dsw.dll

2)Shockwave Flash (Shockwave Flash 9.0 r45)
File name: NPSWF32.dll

3)Java(TM) Platform SE 6 U1 (Java Plug-in 1.6.0_01 for Netscape Navigator (DLL Helper))
File name: npjava13.dll
File name: npjava14.dll
File name: npjava32.dll
File name: npjava11.dll
File name: npjava12.dll
File name: npjpi160_01.dll

All are Enabled.




That was me above. And I tried the link to Text Twist provided by dickvl which led me to Yahoo and the bloody thing works there with Firefox. So it seems that for some reason nothing will load (shockwave or java) just on the shockwave website http://www.shockwave.com/gamelanding/texttwist.jsp
Someone maybe wanna give this a go and see what happens?!?!?!?!

Tad Ghostal

User avatar
 
Posts: 7141
Joined: August 8th, 2005, 8:26 pm
Location: aka sumguy231

Post Posted June 3rd, 2007, 9:07 pm

Huh, Text Twist works fine for me even though it takes a minute for it to redirect past the ads. Are you getting the popup player window? It uses JavaScript to launch it, make sure that's enabled as well in Tools -> Options -> Content. Also remember that if you have NoScript installed you need to go to the NoScript options and whitelist shockwave.com.
Mozilla/5.0 (X11; U; Linux i686; en-US; rv:1.8.1.6) Gecko/20061201 Firefox/2.0.0.6 (Ubuntu-feisty)
When you say 'I wrote a program that crashed Windows', people just stare at you blankly and say 'Hey, I got those with the system, *for free*'.
-- Linus Torvalds

cdw_10
Guest
 

Post Posted June 3rd, 2007, 10:13 pm

Got it working....as soon as i seen the word ADS!!! I disabled AdBlock Plus on shockwaves site and it loaded......Which is really weird cause before the update I had adblock running on that website!!!! Oh well............thanks for you help.

Tad Ghostal

User avatar
 
Posts: 7141
Joined: August 8th, 2005, 8:26 pm
Location: aka sumguy231

Post Posted June 3rd, 2007, 10:43 pm

I had Adblock Plus on, and it still worked - it just didn't show the ads before starting the game. I guess it's a problem with one of your filter rules.
Mozilla/5.0 (X11; U; Linux i686; en-US; rv:1.8.1.6) Gecko/20061201 Firefox/2.0.0.6 (Ubuntu-feisty)
When you say 'I wrote a program that crashed Windows', people just stare at you blankly and say 'Hey, I got those with the system, *for free*'.
-- Linus Torvalds

Giorgio Maone

User avatar
 
Posts: 3516
Joined: September 21st, 2004, 12:05 am
Location: Palermo - Italy

Post Posted June 4th, 2007, 2:24 am

cdw_10 wrote:This problem only occurred after Firefox was updated to 2.0.0.4 while IE has no problems loading games on the same website. First I thought it had something to do with java, but the applets seem to load in Firefox when I access other sites like Yahoo Games!!

The most likely reason is this Firefox 2.0.0.4 change, which makes AB+ interfere also with requests initiated by plugins like Flash or Shockwave.

Tad Ghostal

User avatar
 
Posts: 7141
Joined: August 8th, 2005, 8:26 pm
Location: aka sumguy231

Post Posted June 4th, 2007, 10:52 am

The most likely reason is this Firefox 2.0.0.4 change, which makes AB+ interfere also with requests initiated by plugins like Flash or Shockwave.

Then why did it work for me? I don't recall updating Adblock Plus recently.
Mozilla/5.0 (X11; U; Linux i686; en-US; rv:1.8.1.6) Gecko/20061201 Firefox/2.0.0.6 (Ubuntu-feisty)
When you say 'I wrote a program that crashed Windows', people just stare at you blankly and say 'Hey, I got those with the system, *for free*'.
-- Linus Torvalds

Giorgio Maone

User avatar
 
Posts: 3516
Joined: September 21st, 2004, 12:05 am
Location: Palermo - Italy

Post Posted June 4th, 2007, 1:50 pm

Space Ghost 231 wrote:
The most likely reason is this Firefox 2.0.0.4 change, which makes AB+ interfere also with requests initiated by plugins like Flash or Shockwave.

Then why did it work for me? I don't recall updating Adblock Plus recently.

Different filters maybe?

Return to Firefox Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 14 guests