MozillaZine

FEBE errors ?

User Help for Mozilla Firefox
jrszabo
 
Posts: 86
Joined: April 20th, 2007, 12:36 pm
Location: Indianapolis, IN

Post Posted September 18th, 2007, 3:24 am

When ever I do a FEBE backup I get the following three errors:

Could not backup userChrome!
Could not backup userContent!
Could not backup search plugins!


What's going on?

malliz
Folder@Home

User avatar
 
Posts: 41753
Joined: December 7th, 2002, 4:34 am
Location: Aus

Post Posted September 18th, 2007, 3:36 am

Have you actually made any changes to those three files? the first two are only example files unless you change the extension. And I may be wrong but I think you have to add a search engine for the 3rd one two exist.
What sort of man would put a known criminal in charge of a major branch of government? Apart from, say, the average voter.
"Terry Pratchett"

jrszabo
 
Posts: 86
Joined: April 20th, 2007, 12:36 pm
Location: Indianapolis, IN

Post Posted September 18th, 2007, 3:53 am

I'm not sure this time but in the past when I remember adding bookmarks or ID's and Passwords, I still got the same errors

malliz
Folder@Home

User avatar
 
Posts: 41753
Joined: December 7th, 2002, 4:34 am
Location: Aus

Post Posted September 18th, 2007, 4:00 am

Different files altogether. Been a while since I used FEBE. do you have the option to exclude those files on backup? You don't need them
What sort of man would put a known criminal in charge of a major branch of government? Apart from, say, the average voter.
"Terry Pratchett"

jrszabo
 
Posts: 86
Joined: April 20th, 2007, 12:36 pm
Location: Indianapolis, IN

Post Posted September 18th, 2007, 4:14 am

No I don't know if I have this option. But in my past numerous HDD failures, the bookmarks and thye ID/passwords have been most difficult to "replace" . So why don't I need to backup these files ?

malliz
Folder@Home

User avatar
 
Posts: 41753
Joined: December 7th, 2002, 4:34 am
Location: Aus

Post Posted September 18th, 2007, 4:22 am

As I said

userChrome
userContent


Are normally example files and you actually have to rename them and add code for them to have any effect.
Have you done that? If not you don't need them. period.
Unless you have added another search engine other than the default one you don't need to backup search plugins. period. The default ones are actually kept in the Firefox program and get installed along with it.
What sort of man would put a known criminal in charge of a major branch of government? Apart from, say, the average voter.
"Terry Pratchett"

jrszabo
 
Posts: 86
Joined: April 20th, 2007, 12:36 pm
Location: Indianapolis, IN

Post Posted September 18th, 2007, 4:29 am

No I haven't renamed these files, in fact the only time that I've seen their names have been in FEBE. What about backing up my Bookmarks and ID/passowrds?

malliz
Folder@Home

User avatar
 
Posts: 41753
Joined: December 7th, 2002, 4:34 am
Location: Aus

Post Posted September 18th, 2007, 4:47 am

Go for it. Personally I use Bookmark backup extension
http://www.pikey.me.uk/mozilla/
What sort of man would put a known criminal in charge of a major branch of government? Apart from, say, the average voter.
"Terry Pratchett"

jrszabo
 
Posts: 86
Joined: April 20th, 2007, 12:36 pm
Location: Indianapolis, IN

Post Posted September 18th, 2007, 5:00 am

What about the IDs/passwords?

malliz
Folder@Home

User avatar
 
Posts: 41753
Joined: December 7th, 2002, 4:34 am
Location: Aus

Post Posted September 18th, 2007, 5:05 am

It does them as well. In the Addons options just check the "all" box and it will back up all your info.
What sort of man would put a known criminal in charge of a major branch of government? Apart from, say, the average voter.
"Terry Pratchett"

jrszabo
 
Posts: 86
Joined: April 20th, 2007, 12:36 pm
Location: Indianapolis, IN

Post Posted September 18th, 2007, 5:57 am

I downloaded this backup extension, when thru the Foxfire shutdown, opened the add-ons and set to back up ALL, but how do I access this backup to run?

the-edmeister

User avatar
 
Posts: 31014
Joined: February 25th, 2003, 12:51 am
Location: Chicago, IL, USA

Post Posted September 18th, 2007, 2:31 pm

You will need to restore those backed-up files manually.
http://kb.mozillazine.org/Migrating_settings_to_a_new_profile

.
A mind is a terrible thing to waste. Mine has wandered off and I'm out looking for it.

jrszabo
 
Posts: 86
Joined: April 20th, 2007, 12:36 pm
Location: Indianapolis, IN

Post Posted September 18th, 2007, 6:45 pm

I'm talking about running the backup. Not Restoring backups already run.

malliz
Folder@Home

User avatar
 
Posts: 41753
Joined: December 7th, 2002, 4:34 am
Location: Aus

Post Posted September 18th, 2007, 7:45 pm

Bookmark backup, backs up everything automatically, every two hours or when you shut Firefox down.
You can change the location it backs up to. I have mine set to a folder on my spare HD
What sort of man would put a known criminal in charge of a major branch of government? Apart from, say, the average voter.
"Terry Pratchett"

Shadoefax

User avatar
 
Posts: 373
Joined: April 29th, 2005, 2:59 pm
Location: Glendale, AZ

Post Posted September 19th, 2007, 5:32 am

@jrszabo, See this FEBE Faq item.
All my signatures are stolen from other people. Including this one.
Homepage

Return to Firefox Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Google [Bot] and 19 guests