MozillaZine

Youtube videos pausing

User Help for Mozilla Firefox
VanillaMozilla
 
Posts: 13808
Joined: November 7th, 2005, 11:26 am

Post Posted June 22nd, 2008, 6:53 am

Using IE is not really a solution. The reason it works is that IE uses a different version of Flash, but you are still subject to the security vulnerabilities of both Flash and IE. Just so you know. And if you're going to use IE, why not just use IE and not force it into a Firefox tab?

cruzinaround
Guest
 

Post Posted June 22nd, 2008, 8:48 am

Is there anyway someone can me how to do this step by step. ?

Rudar
Guest
 

Post Posted June 24th, 2008, 12:57 am

Installing flash 10 worked for me! I had this problem for 5 months now, and I almost gave up watching videos on web because I preferred using FF without videos instead of using IE.

yoism
Guest
 

Post Posted June 24th, 2008, 7:31 am

LoudNoise wrote:Note: Use FilesForFixingFlashProblem.zip from the above page with great care if at all. A guest posting a helpful executable file is likely to be bad news.


I understand LoudNoise's concerns about downloading and using the files I posted here ( http://www.yoism.org/?q=node/152#flash) to provide a temporary fix for this problem. However, for what it is worth, the files I put in the zip file were all downloaded directly from Adobe. I renamed them to something that would give the user a clue as to their function, but otherwise I did not change them. The solution works but has some drawbacks. All of this is discussed on that page.

LoudNoise
New Member

User avatar
 
Posts: 40048
Joined: October 18th, 2007, 1:45 pm
Location: Next door to the west

Post Posted June 24th, 2008, 9:12 am

Why not just post a link to items instead? Then there isn't any question about them.
Post wrangler
"Choose between the Food Select Feature or other Functions. If no food or function is chosen, Toast is the default."

raafje
 
Posts: 1
Joined: June 24th, 2008, 1:51 pm

Post Posted June 24th, 2008, 2:01 pm

Thanks guys, Flash 10 works perfectly, ending my misery...!
](*,)

gennessee
 
Posts: 2
Joined: August 1st, 2006, 7:42 am

Post Posted June 24th, 2008, 3:12 pm

after you install version 10, if you install this extension you can have access to earlier versions for sites that require them.

http://www.sephiroth.it/weblog/archives ... and_li.php

Edit: actually after using it a bit, what worked for me is this (using XP):

1. Install the extension first.
2. Install flash 10.
3. Look in the options for the flash switcher add on to find the directory containing the flash versions. Make a folder in this directory called "10 beta" or something similar.
4. Find the directory where your flash is installed (Mine is C:\WINDOWS\system32\Macromed\Flash). Copy the NPSWF32.dll file from this directory to your 10 beta directory.

Now you can switch back and forth between version 9 and version 10 beta at will (or 7 or 8 or any others you'd like to add. Hope this is easy enough to follow. The only drawback is that your browser will close and restart quickly when switching, but hopefully there aren't too many sites where you'll need to go back to 9.

Mantra_lord
Guest
 

Post Posted June 27th, 2008, 5:09 am

Installing Flash 10 didn't fix this for me, I'm still getting the pauses with no sound about as frequently as with Flash 9.

Myxxoma
Guest
 

Post Posted June 27th, 2008, 4:07 pm

Well, I'm at least glad to find that I'm not the only one having this problem. I downloaded Flash 10 but it seems to be the same as before.

Guest
Guest
 

Post Posted June 28th, 2008, 10:58 am

Flash v10 fixed my problem. Now the problem is that some sites don't recognize the beta version.

jenny from the block 123456789
Guest
 

Post Posted June 28th, 2008, 1:14 pm

OH MY xxx GOD!!! I have never had this problem until right now. I had been having LOTS of problems with firefox refusing to switch tabs, but i just now tried to watch some porn on redtube and it won't xxx work!! it pauses after 2 secs just like the OP said, and then if i scroll forward it wil start again but only for 2 seconds! GGGRRRRRR! SO xxxx FRUSTRATING!!!!
Last edited by Daifne on June 28th, 2008, 4:39 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Language and user name

jenny from the block 123456789
Guest
 

Post Posted June 28th, 2008, 1:20 pm

im about to just uninstall this piece of xxx and try a new browser. firefox used to be the best browser ever but now it's turning into a giant steaming xxx. when the same thing happened internet explorer, i think that's what caused firefox to become popular. now it's just as xxxx as ie was, time to find a new better browser

Daifne
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 123077
Joined: July 31st, 2005, 9:17 pm
Location: Where the Waters Meet, Wisconsin

Post Posted June 28th, 2008, 4:38 pm

jennyfromtheblock123456789
1. That language is not allowed here because this is a family forum and it really was not necessary to make your point. I have edited it out. Please do not do it again. If you do, you will be banned.

2. I have edited your user name because is it much to long and is breaking the forum formatting.

3. Drop the attitude if you want help.

4. What in the world does your rant have to do with this topic?

trek554
Guest
 

Post Posted July 4th, 2008, 12:11 pm

well after reading the FF forums and seeing how many months this has been going on I get the feeling this will never be fixed. uninstalling the plug in and reinstalling it will make it work for a little while but the issue always comes back. its ridiculous that they cant fix this. ](*,)

LoudNoise
New Member

User avatar
 
Posts: 40048
Joined: October 18th, 2007, 1:45 pm
Location: Next door to the west

Post Posted July 4th, 2008, 12:20 pm

Did you try the beta as suggested? It seems to be fixed.
Post wrangler
"Choose between the Food Select Feature or other Functions. If no food or function is chosen, Toast is the default."

Return to Firefox Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 7 guests