MozillaZine

Cannot type in Firefox browser

User Help for Mozilla Firefox
SweetMeow
Guest
 

Post Posted February 6th, 2008, 4:17 pm

I'm asking this question for a friend. She is unable to type inside any boxes (like this one) in her firefox browser. She also cannot type inside search boxes, either. Any suggestions for solutions?

DanRaisch
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 106837
Joined: September 23rd, 2004, 8:57 pm
Location: Somewhere on the East Coast

Post Posted February 6th, 2008, 4:28 pm

Is she having any problem of that type with other applications? Does she have any extensions installed? What version of Firefox is she running? Can she browse by clicking on links?
Vista Home Premium 64 - FX 37.0.1 & TB 31.6.0 Win 8.1 - FX 37.0.1 and TB 31.6.0

SweetMeow
Guest
 

Post Posted February 6th, 2008, 4:56 pm

To answer your questions:

She is not having this trouble with any other applications.

She has Firefox 2.0.0.11 on her Windows XP Professional (laptop) computer, as well as on her other (desktop) computer. The other computer is working fine with Firefox.

Extensions: Greasemonkey, AccuWeather, Cool Iris, and Pic Lens. They are also on her other computer. The Greasemonkey scripts work inside boxes, but she just cannot type.

She can click on links and they work. She just cannot type.

It is sounding like there is something interacting from within her computer with Firefox - but what could that be?

Thank you so much for your time... :)

DanRaisch
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 106837
Joined: September 23rd, 2004, 8:57 pm
Location: Somewhere on the East Coast

Post Posted February 6th, 2008, 5:11 pm

Suggest that she try starting Firefox in Mozilla (NOT Windows) Safe Mode -- http://kb.mozillazine.org/Safe_mode

Also forward this link to her -- http://kb.mozillazine.org/Standard_diag ... Firefox%29
Vista Home Premium 64 - FX 37.0.1 & TB 31.6.0 Win 8.1 - FX 37.0.1 and TB 31.6.0

Return to Firefox Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 26 guests