MozillaZine

Firefox keeps a process running after close.

User Help for Mozilla Firefox
georgerb
 
Posts: 2
Joined: February 6th, 2008, 5:00 pm

Post Posted February 6th, 2008, 5:03 pm

I close firefox and see a process for firefox still running in Task Manager. If I try to stop it it reports Access Denied.
If this a Vista probelm of firefox?

Thanks

DanRaisch
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 106466
Joined: September 23rd, 2004, 8:57 pm
Location: Somewhere on the East Coast

Post Posted February 6th, 2008, 5:14 pm

Vista Home Premium 64 - FX 37.0.1 & TB 31.6.0 Win 8.1 - FX 37.0.1 and TB 31.6.0

georgerb
 
Posts: 2
Joined: February 6th, 2008, 5:00 pm

Post Posted February 7th, 2008, 1:17 am

I have followed the article and there are no registry entries in error. I use Webroot Spy Sweeper and it does not report any problems either.

DanRaisch
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 106466
Joined: September 23rd, 2004, 8:57 pm
Location: Somewhere on the East Coast

Post Posted February 7th, 2008, 6:26 am

Vista Home Premium 64 - FX 37.0.1 & TB 31.6.0 Win 8.1 - FX 37.0.1 and TB 31.6.0

makaiguy

User avatar
 
Posts: 15629
Joined: November 18th, 2002, 6:44 pm
Location: Somewhere in SE USA

Post Posted February 7th, 2008, 7:49 am

Does this happen all the time, or only when you've visited certain sites?

It could be that some site you go to has some poorly written code that does not exit properly. This could especially be true if it is code that requires a plugin (Flash, Java, etc) that runs outside of Firefox. That external plugin may not have closed properly and keeps its link to Firefox open.
Doug Wilson, "The Makai Guy"
Win7 Home Prem (64bit): FF 37.0.1, TB 31.6.0║ Android 4.2.2/4.4.2: FF 37.0.1, no TB available, dammit!
What a fool believes he sees, no wise man has the power to reason away - Doobie Brothers

Guest
Guest
 

Post Posted February 18th, 2010, 8:25 am

I just solved this problem on my own computer thanks to a post I saw on another forum. With Firefox open, go to Tools, Add Ons and look for Microsoft .NET Framework Assistant 1.1 and Disable it. Firefox will now close and open properly.

greeentstamp
Guest
 

Post Posted March 6th, 2010, 4:19 am

It works thak you guest

LIMPET235
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 34206
Joined: October 19th, 2007, 1:53 am
Location: The South Coast of N.S.W. Oz.

Post Posted March 6th, 2010, 4:31 am

That's good news.
Now locking this very old thread.
Ancient Amateur Astronomer
Win-7-HP/Intel® DualCore-2.0GHz/500G HDD/4 Gig Ram/550Watt PSU/350WattUPS/Firefox-20.0-30.0-36.0.1/T-bird-2.0.0.24/SnagIt-v10.0.1/MWP-7.5.0.
RadioYachting. Conficker Test.

Return to Firefox Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google Adsense [Bot], stringham and 35 guests