MozillaZine


Firefox 3 logging out of sites even though I hit Remember Me

User Help for Mozilla Firefox
arilyn
 
Posts: 2
Joined: June 19th, 2008, 3:51 am

Post Posted June 19th, 2008, 3:58 am

I deleted all my extensions, restarted firefox and I still have this problem.

DannyLinux
Guest
 

Post Posted June 19th, 2008, 5:17 am

Same problem using Linux Ubuntu Hardy

naugh
Guest
 

Post Posted June 19th, 2008, 5:18 am

same problem using Linux Ubuntu Hardy

soundsilent
 
Posts: 5
Joined: May 7th, 2006, 12:08 am

Post Posted June 19th, 2008, 5:40 am

same problem using windows xp (cup:amd 4000+)
it seems that The FF3.0 lost all my cookie.

Come on back!!!
Guest
 

Post Posted June 19th, 2008, 5:45 am

This is amazing....F3RC3 working great......calling out the whole community to set a world record....and bringing a F3 thats looses your logged in sessions..... this is crazy...

Thank God I can see this does not happen just to me...

barlow28
 
Posts: 14
Joined: January 29th, 2004, 8:27 pm
Location: Massachusetts

Post Posted June 19th, 2008, 6:17 am

CaptainWesker wrote:Right. So, thewolrab, when you first installed v3 it worked, but as soon as you installed an Add-on it began acting up? Or could it have been doing it all along and you didn't notice until after installing some stuff? If you're like me, the first thing you did was install your favorite Add-on's the second you saw the home screen. Perhaps they're related though. I'm going to keep trying stuff and checking back in. There's no way I'm leaving this thread until the problem is fixed. :D

Yeah, I'm not sure if I had the problem the whole time but I first noticed it when I had to restart after installing addons... which like you, is the first thing I did after going into Options and setting everything.

Gonna have to bookmark this thread as well. Looks like there'll have to be a Firefox 3.0.1.

CaptainWesker
Guest
 

Post Posted June 19th, 2008, 10:07 am

I wish I was running TorButton, 'cause that would make this easier. :p

My extensions are:
Adblock Plus
AVH Safe Search
FireFTP
Foxmarks Bookmark Synchronizer
Move Media Player
Veoh Browser Plugin

All are currently disabled. No luck.

One weird thing though - AVH Safe Search is incompatible with FF3, all the buttons are grayed out (even the uninstall).

CaptainWesker
Guest
 

Post Posted June 19th, 2008, 10:11 am

Anonymous wrote:I wish I was running TorButton, 'cause that would make this easier. :p

My extensions are:
Adblock Plus
AVH Safe Search
FireFTP
Foxmarks Bookmark Synchronizer
Move Media Player
Veoh Browser Plugin

All are currently disabled. No luck.

One weird thing though - AVH Safe Search is incompatible with FF3, all the buttons are grayed out (even the uninstall).
I'm sorry, AVG Safe Search, not AVH. AVH is the abbreviation of a company I used to work for. :p

MaverickFGFX
 
Posts: 3
Joined: February 21st, 2005, 2:00 pm

Post Posted June 19th, 2008, 10:56 am

Yea, firefox keeps my history and everything, it's just the "remember me" or "automatically keep me logged in" or "remember me for 2 weeks" or however you want to phrase it that is the problem! It's actually really frustrating having to click a bookmark but being brought to a login screen instead :(

dickvl

User avatar
 
Posts: 53668
Joined: July 18th, 2005, 3:25 am

Post Posted June 19th, 2008, 11:18 am

The uninstall button is probably grayed because the AVG extension is installed globally in the Firefox program folder (extensions).
See Uninstalling_add-ons (MozillaZine KB)

erinreid
Guest
 

Post Posted June 19th, 2008, 2:04 pm

Same problem here. Funny thing is I've been having this problem since Firefox 2.0.0.x. I only have the problem on the Vista operating system, none of my other copies of Firefox (Mac, XP) have this problem. I fervently hoped that Firefox 3 would fix the problem. Help?!

shortyuk87
Guest
 

Post Posted June 19th, 2008, 3:19 pm

I'm having the same problems. It was fine the first day but now everytime I close and reopen FF3, it has me logged out of all sites I'm usually logged into.

shortyuk87
Guest
 

Post Posted June 19th, 2008, 3:33 pm

How the heck do I get Firefox 2 now? I can't find anywhere to download it from.

CaptainWesker
 
Posts: 5
Joined: June 19th, 2008, 10:12 am

Post Posted June 19th, 2008, 9:41 pm

Saved my bookmarks to FoxMarks, Uninstalled v3, Deleted everything in %APPDATA%\Mozilla\Extensions, Reinstalled v3 imported my bookmarks. Oh joy, it works now. Now I'll start reinstalling my addons one by one. Will update soon.
People call us renegades. We're just in it for the pie.

CaptainWesker
 
Posts: 5
Joined: June 19th, 2008, 10:12 am

Post Posted June 19th, 2008, 10:17 pm

Weird. All the Add-on's I listed above are now reinstalled on my (working) installation of Firefox 3. So my solution is as follows:
1.) Back up your bookmarks using Foxmarks.
2.) Uninstall Firefox.
3.) Start+R (Run) %APPDATA%\Mozilla\Extensions
4.) Delete everything in that directory.
5.) Reinstall Firefox.
People call us renegades. We're just in it for the pie.

Return to Firefox Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests