MozillaZine

Firefox Color is not showing

User Help for Mozilla Firefox
milliontimesusername
 
Posts: 7
Joined: June 26th, 2008, 1:52 pm

Post Posted June 26th, 2008, 2:17 pm

Image

How can I get my color to show again?

I reinstalled Firefox

I started Firefox in safemode

but neither helped.

Any suggestions would be great.

kindofabuzz

User avatar
 
Posts: 3859
Joined: July 20th, 2003, 1:13 am
Location: Memphis, TN

Post Posted June 26th, 2008, 2:58 pm

do all sites do that? this is the first time i've ever seen the color disappear in firefox. does your desktop have color?
Collapse unwanted MozillaZine forum sections ** Give a man a fish and he will eat for a day; teach a man to fish and he will eat for a lifetime; give a man religion and he will die praying for a fish.

sergio eduardo
Folder@Home

User avatar
 
Posts: 5161
Joined: May 12th, 2004, 1:08 pm
Location: Narrawallee - Australia

Post Posted June 26th, 2008, 4:47 pm

Funnily enough I saw this page come up normally and a second later it loses it ! Tried again and it went straight to the " no colour" situation . Clear data and it happened again as the first time .
Edit : disregard that. It was just a delay on the loading . Weird nevertheless .

milliontimesusername
 
Posts: 7
Joined: June 26th, 2008, 1:52 pm

Post Posted June 27th, 2008, 6:03 am

Yes all the site are colorless. I have color on my desktop and IE7. Only FF3 has this problem. I think it has something to do with ghost fox addon. And sure enough I did a search and this is what I found. Another person with the same problem.

http://forums.facepunchstudios.com/show ... ?p=9415104

After following their suggestions this is what I get now.

Image

malliz
Folder@Home

User avatar
 
Posts: 41800
Joined: December 7th, 2002, 4:34 am
Location: Aus

Post Posted June 27th, 2008, 6:10 am

Try a new profile
http://kb.mozillazine.org/Profile_Manag ... ew_profile

And if that works then you can transfer your setting from your old profile

http://kb.mozillazine.org/Transferring_ ... _-_Firefox

I would give Ghost Fox a miss though :)

Have you seen this from Mozilla Addons site re: Ghost fox?

The latest version of ghostfox can always be found at http://ghostfox.mozdev.org/
The current version of ghostfox is v0.2.1.0 which has not yet been made public on AMO. This is a critical update which addresses the grey text theme issue (which is actually a functionality and NOT a bug). Please get v0.2.1.0 from http://ghostfox.mozdev.org/ ASAP.
What sort of man would put a known criminal in charge of a major branch of government? Apart from, say, the average voter.
"Terry Pratchett"

milliontimesusername
 
Posts: 7
Joined: June 26th, 2008, 1:52 pm

Post Posted June 27th, 2008, 6:29 am

Oh well, when I try to use the critical update it states it is not compatible with FF3. So no more FF3... :( Well MS got the IE8 beta thing going, guess that is what I will be using untill they can find a way to reverse the effects of that crappy addon.

I think they should take that addon off the site until he develop it to an acceptable level. But who cares what I think..

malliz
Folder@Home

User avatar
 
Posts: 41800
Joined: December 7th, 2002, 4:34 am
Location: Aus

Post Posted June 27th, 2008, 6:32 am

Did you do this?
malliz wrote:Try a new profile
http://kb.mozillazine.org/Profile_Manag ... ew_profile

And if that works then you can transfer your setting from your old profile

http://kb.mozillazine.org/Transferring_ ... _-_Firefox

And Ghost Fox is listed as experimental so you would have had to log on to AMO to install it.
What sort of man would put a known criminal in charge of a major branch of government? Apart from, say, the average voter.
"Terry Pratchett"

a;skdjfajf;ak

User avatar
 
Posts: 17002
Joined: July 10th, 2004, 8:44 am

Post Posted June 27th, 2008, 6:33 am

What ? Your going to a bug-ridden IE8 for want of one lousy addon?

*sigh* whatever!

milliontimesusername
 
Posts: 7
Joined: June 26th, 2008, 1:52 pm

Post Posted June 27th, 2008, 6:51 am

malliz wrote:Did you do this?
malliz wrote:Try a new profile
http://kb.mozillazine.org/Profile_Manag ... ew_profile

And if that works then you can transfer your setting from your old profile

http://kb.mozillazine.org/Transferring_ ... _-_Firefox

And Ghost Fox is listed as experimental so you would have had to log on to AMO to install it.



Nope it was installed from the addon page at Mozilla, I just installed it with the rest of the addons. I didn't click on the ghost fox page, I only used "Download Now" button to install. Won't happen again!!!

milliontimesusername
 
Posts: 7
Joined: June 26th, 2008, 1:52 pm

Post Posted June 27th, 2008, 6:55 am

Yahoo!!! Got it back!!

http://www.gtplanet.net/forum/showthread.php?t=107845

has the answer!

In Firefox, go into Options, click on the Content tab and make sure the Load Images Automatically is checked. Then under Fonts and Colors (on the same Content tab) go into Colors. Change the text color to black.
Thanks TB!

milliontimesusername
 
Posts: 7
Joined: June 26th, 2008, 1:52 pm

Post Posted June 27th, 2008, 6:57 am

And I actually chose the option:

Allow pages to choose their own colors, instead of my selections above

milliontimesusername
 
Posts: 7
Joined: June 26th, 2008, 1:52 pm

Post Posted June 27th, 2008, 7:23 am

There was some lingering problems, for a total fix try this:

Try this:

Launch Firefox's Safe Mode window, as described in the Safe Mode article
Choose to "Reset all user preferences to Firefox defaults," then restart Firefox.

LoudNoise
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 38610
Joined: October 18th, 2007, 1:45 pm
Location: Next door to the west

Post Posted June 29th, 2008, 9:53 am

The solution you got from the other site was the same that malliz gave you twice.
Post wrangler
Notice: If you have a comment on moderation, please post here viewtopic.php?f=11&t=2706389 and don't private message a mod. I don't reply to private messages unless I have previously requested them

Return to Firefox Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google Adsense [Bot] and 24 guests