MozillaZine

Multiple windows from outside links (Thunderbird, etc)

User Help for Mozilla Firefox
jkoebel
 
Posts: 3
Joined: June 16th, 2004, 7:36 am

Post Posted June 16th, 2004, 8:00 am

awesome, works.

I appended CritterNYC's post to the Bugzilla announcement, hopefully give whoever reads that a boost in the right direction.

Guest
Guest
 

Post Posted June 16th, 2004, 8:30 am

I'm seeing this issue with FF .9 as my default browser and double clicking internet shortcuts on the desktop or attempting to go to websites using my RUN box. I get an error, "Windows cannot find www.xxxx.xx ......" but FF still opens to the correct site.

The workaround mentioned above, fixed it.

Guest
Guest
 

Post Posted June 16th, 2004, 8:33 am

I'm seeing this issue with FF .9 as my default browser and double clicking internet shortcuts on the desktop or attempting to go to websites using my RUN box. I get an error, "Windows cannot find www.xxxx.xx ......" but FF still opens to the correct site.

The workaround mentioned above, fixed it.

Guest
Guest
 

Post Posted June 16th, 2004, 8:40 am

I'm seeing this issue with FF .9 (XPH) as my default browser and double clicking internet shortcuts on the desktop or attempting to go to websites using my RUN box. I get an error, "Windows cannot find www.xxxx.xx ......" but FF still opens to the correct site.

The workaround mentioned above, fixed it.

Flinx

User avatar
 
Posts: 163
Joined: May 17th, 2004, 9:07 pm
Location: Toronto, ON Canada

Post Posted June 16th, 2004, 11:56 am

I am using Thunderbird 0.6
I do not get two windows with Firefox 0.9, but what I do det is a new window for every link. This is VERY annoying. I want the link to open in the active window/tab like 0.8 and every other browser. ARG!!!!
...Going to play FarmVille ...At least my Black sheep love me.
Scratch that... The crops are wilted, the fruit are rotting on the trees and the sheep have run away.
Toronto International Film Festival

Mitch Gant

User avatar
 
Posts: 282
Joined: February 9th, 2004, 9:33 pm

Post Posted June 16th, 2004, 12:30 pm

Whenever I click on a link in Thunderbird, IE opens instead of Firefox - could this be the same problem??

Guest
Guest
 

Post Posted June 16th, 2004, 12:44 pm

the problem is..

firefox 0.9 ALWAYS open the links in third programs in a new windows instad of in the active window/tab

is a BIG bug....

I think that I´ll come back to 0.8 :(

xororand
 
Posts: 1
Joined: June 16th, 2004, 4:13 pm

Post Posted June 16th, 2004, 4:26 pm

After upgrading to Firefox 0.9 / Thunderbird 0.7 (OS=WindowsXP Pro) I had the problem that clicking on a link in Thunderbird caused Firefox to load the URL in the active window/tab although the ..useDDE... chrome setting was set to false.

This has fixed it:
CritterNYC wrote:Looks like their may be a problem with the way Firefox registers itself to handle urls in Windows or an issue with DDE messaging. A workaround for now:

1. Open Explorer
2. Select Tools and then Folder Options
3. Select the File Types tab
4. Select Extension: (NONE), File Type: HyperText Transfer Protocol
5. Click Advanced toward the bottom of the window
6. In the Edit File Type window, select open and click Edit
7. Clear the DDE message box (which should contain "%1")
8. Click OK, Click OK
9. Repeat for File Type: HyperText Transfer Protocol with Privacy


Thanks a lot, CritterNYC.

Guest
Guest
 

Post Posted June 16th, 2004, 4:40 pm

Anonymous wrote:the problem is..

firefox 0.9 ALWAYS open the links in third programs in a new windows instad of in the active window/tab

is a BIG bug....

I think that I´ll come back to 0.8 :(


i did the fix that was recommended and it stopped opening two windows instead of one

i downloaded the tabbed browser extension and sellected in Advanced Use "Open in New Tab Always Any page load from other applicaitons"

Now if I am in Outlook and follow a link, it opens as a new hilighted tab in Firefox and switches full focus to the page - no extra keystroke neccessary

Flinx

User avatar
 
Posts: 163
Joined: May 17th, 2004, 9:07 pm
Location: Toronto, ON Canada

Post Posted June 16th, 2004, 4:47 pm

Anonymous wrote:
Anonymous wrote:the problem is..
firefox 0.9 ALWAYS open the links in third programs in a new windows instad of in the active window/tab
is a BIG bug....
I think that I´ll come back to 0.8 :(

i did the fix that was recommended and it stopped opening two windows instead of one
i downloaded the tabbed browser extension and sellected in Advanced Use "Open in New Tab Always Any page load from other applicaitons"
Now if I am in Outlook and follow a link, it opens as a new hilighted tab in Firefox and switches full focus to the page - no extra keystroke neccessary


Why should we need to do a manual fix AND load a extension to bet the program to behave how it is supposed to?!?!
...Going to play FarmVille ...At least my Black sheep love me.
Scratch that... The crops are wilted, the fruit are rotting on the trees and the sheep have run away.
Toronto International Film Festival

Metrox
Guest
 

Post Posted June 16th, 2004, 4:53 pm

I have the same problem - win2k, Thunderbird, Firefox 0.9. Didn't have the problem with FF 0.8

Guest
Guest
 

Post Posted June 16th, 2004, 7:40 pm

Thanks, Critter, for the workaround! Much appreciated.

Guest
Guest
 

Post Posted June 16th, 2004, 7:51 pm

Hope they fix this one fast. I'm having the same problem with OUtlook 2003, Windows XP. When I first installed and I would click on a link I would get the link coming up in Firefox .9 but also the dialogue box looking for a "link browser" and a exe file. Unfortunately I steered it to Firefox's executable, now everytime I click on the link I get the browser opening the link twice. AHHHRRGGG.

CritterNYC
 
Posts: 970
Joined: August 27th, 2003, 12:27 am
Location: Astoria, NY

Post Posted June 16th, 2004, 10:51 pm

Ok folks... this is now a bug in bugtraq (I marked my original as a duplicate of this):
http://bugzilla.mozilla.org/show_bug.cgi?id=246078

You can track it from there, if you're so inclined. You'll see me posting as my full name on there (John Haller).

I've also posted a workaround as a .REG file that should fix the issue on affected installations. It should automatically fix the http, https, ftp and gopher handlers:
http://johnhaller.com/jh/mozilla/firefox_bug_246078.asp
Take your browser, email, office suite, instant messenger, image editor and more with you...
Get portable versions of Firefox, Thunderbird, OpenOffice.org, Pidgin, GIMP and more at PortableApps.com

Guest
Guest
 

Post Posted June 17th, 2004, 1:44 am

I tried using the reg edit file, but links from other programs such as eprompter, copernic still open in a different window, not the same tab/window that I have opened.

Return to Firefox Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests