MozillaZine

Flash Not working on Myspace.

User Help for Mozilla Firefox
cool318
Guest
 

Post Posted October 11th, 2008, 8:31 pm

My flash player has not been working on sites like myspace and google maps.

I've tried uninstalling it and then re-installing it. Didn't work

I've tried uninstalling ad block plus. Still didn't work

Ive tried uninstalling the flash plug in then installing it again. That didn't work

Any new suggestions?

This is on Firefox 3.0.3 too.

the-edmeister

User avatar
 
Posts: 32205
Joined: February 25th, 2003, 12:51 am
Location: Chicago, IL, USA

Post Posted October 12th, 2008, 12:05 am

A mind is a terrible thing to waste. Mine has wandered off and I'm out looking for it.

COOL318
Guest
 

Post Posted October 12th, 2008, 6:46 am

i didnt really find any help on that page...

cool318
Guest
 

Post Posted October 12th, 2008, 12:03 pm

i should also mention

This all started when i booted up my computer and got asked to update my flash player. I ignored it.

kindofabuzz

User avatar
 
Posts: 3859
Joined: July 20th, 2003, 1:13 am
Location: Memphis, TN

Post Posted October 12th, 2008, 12:08 pm

cool318 wrote:i should also mention

This all started when i booted up my computer and got asked to update my flash player. I ignored it.


Maybe you should've updated it?
Collapse unwanted MozillaZine forum sections ** Give a man a fish and he will eat for a day; teach a man to fish and he will eat for a lifetime; give a man religion and he will die praying for a fish.

dickvl

User avatar
 
Posts: 52813
Joined: July 18th, 2005, 3:25 am

Post Posted October 12th, 2008, 12:51 pm

Are you posting with IE6 or with Firefox?
I ask because you post with a IE6 user agent and having such a user agent in Firefox will cause problems.

cool318
Guest
 

Post Posted October 12th, 2008, 1:05 pm

Im posting with firefox.

All flash sites work fine except myspace and google maps.

dickvl

User avatar
 
Posts: 52813
Joined: July 18th, 2005, 3:25 am

Post Posted October 12th, 2008, 1:17 pm

If you post with Firefox then you need to reset the general.useragent prefs on the about:config page page.
Right-click and Reset all bold (user set) general.useragent prefs to the default value.
Using a wrong user agent can cause problems with web servers and scripts that use the components of the UA to determine what to do.

You can visit these sites to see how Web servers see your user agent:
http://gemal.dk/browserspy/basic.html
http://jscher2000.home.att.net/webdev/

cool318
Guest
 

Post Posted October 12th, 2008, 1:24 pm

dickvl wrote:If you post with Firefox then you need to reset the general.useragent prefs on the about:config page page.
Right-click and Reset all bold (user set) general.useragent prefs to the default value.
Using a wrong user agent can cause problems with web servers and scripts that use the components of the UA to determine what to do.

You can visit these sites to see how Web servers see your user agent:
<!-- m --><a class="postlink" href="http://gemal.dk/browserspy/basic.html">http://gemal.dk/browserspy/basic.html</a><!-- m -->
<!-- m --><a class="postlink" href="http://jscher2000.home.att.net/webdev/">http://jscher2000.home.att.net/webdev/</a><!-- m -->
It works!!!!!!

thank you so much!!!!!

dickvl

User avatar
 
Posts: 52813
Joined: July 18th, 2005, 3:25 am

Post Posted October 12th, 2008, 1:55 pm

You're welcome :)

Yes, now I see a valid Firefox user agent below your post.

3FYHS
Guest
 

Post Posted November 8th, 2008, 1:19 pm

I TRIED NOT WORKING FOR ME :(

dickvl

User avatar
 
Posts: 52813
Joined: July 18th, 2005, 3:25 am

Post Posted November 8th, 2008, 1:39 pm

What kind of problems do you have?
Which version of Flash do you have installed?
You can check that on the about:plugins page and in Tools > Add-ons > Plugins.

thefooligan5
Guest
 

Post Posted July 9th, 2009, 6:57 am

dickvl wrote:If you post with Firefox then you need to reset the general.useragent prefs on the about:config page page.
Right-click and Reset all bold (user set) general.useragent prefs to the default value.
Using a wrong user agent can cause problems with web servers and scripts that use the components of the UA to determine what to do.

You can visit these sites to see how Web servers see your user agent:
http://gemal.dk/browserspy/basic.html
http://jscher2000.home.att.net/webdev/

Hey I'm having the same problem as the OP but I haven't a clue what "general.useragent" or "about:config" is or where I would find those things so I can't make your suggested changes. Can you help an ignorant guy out?
Thanks a bunch.

thefooligan5
Guest
 

Post Posted July 9th, 2009, 7:07 am

thefooligan5 wrote:
dickvl wrote:If you post with Firefox then you need to reset the general.useragent prefs on the about:config page page.
Right-click and Reset all bold (user set) general.useragent prefs to the default value.
Using a wrong user agent can cause problems with web servers and scripts that use the components of the UA to determine what to do.

You can visit these sites to see how Web servers see your user agent:
http://gemal.dk/browserspy/basic.html
http://jscher2000.home.att.net/webdev/

Hey I'm having the same problem as the OP but I haven't a clue what "general.useragent" or "about:config" is or where I would find those things so I can't make your suggested changes. Can you help an ignorant guy out?
Thanks a bunch.

Actually I just figured what those things are and they are all set to 'default' already so that doesn't help me any.

Return to Firefox Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests