MozillaZine

Firefox remember text area text when going forward/back?

User Help for Mozilla Firefox
shawn112233
Guest
 

Post Posted November 8th, 2008, 5:07 pm

I've looked all over google for information on this. Opera remembers the text you type and restores it if you happen to accidentally click to another site as you are typing a long message and then click back. Is there any way to make firefox mimic this behaviour? This is a really useful feature and should be implemented into firefox if it has not been already.

dickvl

User avatar
 
Posts: 52516
Joined: July 18th, 2005, 3:25 am

Post Posted November 8th, 2008, 5:49 pm


shawn112233
Guest
 

Post Posted November 8th, 2008, 6:08 pm

Actually, what I meant was in the case of typing a message and then clicking something by accident, then clicking back and having the typed text restored in the text box. i didnt mean actually closing the browser and restoring it with all text and such. is there any way to restore text that was typed when just returning to the page using the back button?

Alan Baxter
 
Posts: 4419
Joined: May 30th, 2005, 2:01 pm
Location: Colorado, USA

Post Posted November 8th, 2008, 7:02 pm

Firefox 3.0.3 seems to have the behavior you desire by default already. Is it broken in 3.1b1? Or is there something wrong with your settings? I tested this in a vanilla profile at http://adblockplus.org/forum/posting.ph ... wtopic&f=1. Does it work for you there?

Hope this helps. Please let us know whether it does.

shawn112233
Guest
 

Post Posted November 8th, 2008, 7:06 pm

You're right, it does work for that forum. I was trying to get it to work on facebook to no avail. I'm not sure how Opera always restores the text that was in the box, but firefox doesn't do it for facebook. maybe its a setting that is set by the site in particular?

Alan Baxter
 
Posts: 4419
Joined: May 30th, 2005, 2:01 pm
Location: Colorado, USA

Post Posted November 8th, 2008, 7:14 pm

Sorry. I'm not on facebook. I can't help you there.

dickvl

User avatar
 
Posts: 52516
Joined: July 18th, 2005, 3:25 am

Post Posted November 8th, 2008, 8:02 pm

If that is a rich text editor instead of a normal textarea then that can explain why it doesn't work.

shawn112233
Guest
 

Post Posted November 8th, 2008, 9:31 pm

no it is a regular text area, but i think it may have something to do with facebooks weird anchor urls

Boffy
 
Posts: 5
Joined: August 13th, 2006, 9:47 am

Post Posted December 7th, 2008, 10:16 am

I have the same problem. If you go into the Facebook message interface, type a message, click a random link, then click back. What you typed is now gone. Is there any plugin so that doesn't happen?

It doesn't happen on this forum though.

UNOwen

User avatar
 
Posts: 32
Joined: June 7th, 2006, 12:09 pm

Post Posted December 7th, 2008, 11:30 am

You might give a look at this add-on:

https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/addon/6984

I haven't personally used it but it might save you some retyping.

LoudNoise
New Member

User avatar
 
Posts: 40048
Joined: October 18th, 2007, 1:45 pm
Location: Next door to the west

Post Posted December 7th, 2008, 11:37 am

Shawn112233

You are using 3.1b1. If you register we can move this to Firefox Builds where the pre-release versions are discussed. Please reply here when you have registered.
Post wrangler
"Choose between the Food Select Feature or other Functions. If no food or function is chosen, Toast is the default."

Return to Firefox Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests