MozillaZine

Adblock Plus doesn't work anymore. Help?

User Help for Mozilla Firefox
thewayshemoves
 
Posts: 9
Joined: December 3rd, 2008, 6:08 pm

Post Posted December 3rd, 2008, 6:28 pm

Ok, so out of the blue Adblock Plus just stopped working today. For no reason. It's still enabled, it's been updated. I restarted Firefox and it still doesn't work. I rebooted the computer and that didn't work, so I reinstalled Firefox. It's still not blocking ads even with the brand new install and new Adblock Plus download. I'm using the newest version of both Firefox and Adblock. Can anyone help me at all here? I don't know what else to do.

yooser
Guest
 

Post Posted December 3rd, 2008, 6:59 pm

in addition to bare Adblock Plus, do you also have EasyList , and Easy Element subscriptions?
while you're at it, also get Element Hiding Helper !

thewayshemoves
 
Posts: 9
Joined: December 3rd, 2008, 6:08 pm

Post Posted December 3rd, 2008, 7:03 pm

yooser wrote:in addition to bare Adblock Plus, do you also have EasyList , and Easy Element subscriptions?
while you're at it, also get Element Hiding Helper !


No I don't have that, do I need them? Will that fix what's up? My friend said I needed to get like a blocklist or something, but I never did that before and it worked until last night.

Guest
Guest
 

Post Posted December 3rd, 2008, 7:06 pm

absuhlootly you need em; otherwise it's worthless

Guest
Guest
 

Post Posted December 3rd, 2008, 7:09 pm


Guest
Guest
 

Post Posted December 3rd, 2008, 7:12 pm


thewayshemoves
 
Posts: 9
Joined: December 3rd, 2008, 6:08 pm

Post Posted December 3rd, 2008, 7:45 pm

Thank you, I feel pretty dumb now. I didn't get those before and it worked I guess my friend did it for me and I didn't know it. Thanks, though.

thewayshemoves
 
Posts: 9
Joined: December 3rd, 2008, 6:08 pm

Post Posted December 3rd, 2008, 8:07 pm

Ok it still doesn't work. I did all that, put on those ad-ons. Got a blocklist or whatever and put that there. I did what I could find to do and still nothing at all.

mzfuser
Folder@Home
 
Posts: 1886
Joined: August 15th, 2004, 10:21 pm

Post Posted December 3rd, 2008, 8:09 pm

If you open the AdBlock Plus preferences, do you see any subscriptions listed there?

thewayshemoves
 
Posts: 9
Joined: December 3rd, 2008, 6:08 pm

Post Posted December 3rd, 2008, 8:12 pm

mzfuser wrote:If you open the AdBlock Plus preferences, do you see any subscriptions listed there?


Yes. It's one I got from one of those lists posted above.

mzfuser
Folder@Home
 
Posts: 1886
Joined: August 15th, 2004, 10:21 pm

Post Posted December 3rd, 2008, 8:21 pm

Try removing then readd the EasyList subscription.

thewayshemoves
 
Posts: 9
Joined: December 3rd, 2008, 6:08 pm

Post Posted December 3rd, 2008, 8:38 pm

mzfuser wrote:Try removing then readd the EasyList subscription.

That didn't work either.

Guest
Guest
 

Post Posted December 3rd, 2008, 9:05 pm

thewayshemoves wrote:
mzfuser wrote:If you open the AdBlock Plus preferences, do you see any subscriptions listed there?


Yes. It's one I got from one of those lists posted above.
only one? should have two, Easy List and Easy Element.

thewayshemoves
 
Posts: 9
Joined: December 3rd, 2008, 6:08 pm

Post Posted December 3rd, 2008, 9:11 pm

Ok, I have Easy List and Easy Element, both are checked on and still nothing's changed. I have ads on every page.

thewayshemoves
 
Posts: 9
Joined: December 3rd, 2008, 6:08 pm

Post Posted December 3rd, 2008, 9:13 pm

Ok, so it works now. I was putting the filters on there without actually subscribing to the list. I figured it out. Sorry for wasting your time. Thank you for the help though, without this I'd just been sitting here staring at it.

Return to Firefox Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google Adsense [Bot], minamori, s-light and 25 guests