MozillaZine

firefox not opening home page

User Help for Mozilla Firefox
arizvi21
Guest
 

Post Posted December 9th, 2008, 4:16 pm

Whenever i open firefox it never goes to my home page which is google. It always starts with a screen that says "Index of file:///C:/Program Files/Mozilla Firefox/". The page basically is a directory of all my files on my computer. how do i fix this? please help.

mtz1of4
 
Posts: 3665
Joined: November 4th, 2004, 9:26 am
Location: Fairport, NY USA

Post Posted December 9th, 2008, 5:45 pm

Tools->Options->Main->Startup and confirm selection there.

dickvl

User avatar
 
Posts: 51411
Joined: July 18th, 2005, 3:25 am

Post Posted December 9th, 2008, 5:51 pm

You can also check the Target field in the Properties of the Firefox desktop shortcut to see if anything is appended after the closing quote of the Firefox application path.

(edit: corrected typo)
Last edited by dickvl on December 10th, 2008, 5:44 pm, edited 1 time in total.

arizvi21
Guest
 

Post Posted December 10th, 2008, 3:52 pm

I tried both these solutions but they dont seem to work. Im gonna reinstall firefox and see if that works.

Trailblazer
Guest
 

Post Posted December 30th, 2008, 9:08 pm

I am also having the problem of Firefox opening my Firefox folder, "Index of file:///C:/Program Files/Mozilla Firefox/" instead of my homepage. Checked the settings in Tools but no solution.

Has anyone found a solution?

Bluefang

User avatar
 
Posts: 7846
Joined: August 10th, 2005, 2:55 pm
Location: Vermont

Post Posted December 30th, 2008, 9:33 pm

There have always been ghosts in the machine... random segments of code that have grouped together to form unexpected protocols. Unanticipated, these free radicals engender questions of free will, creativity, and even the nature of what we might call the soul...

Guest
Guest
 

Post Posted June 30th, 2010, 3:47 am

Index of file:///C:/Program Files/Mozilla Firefox/ in my Mozilla Firefox please give me answer

LIMPET235
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 34351
Joined: October 19th, 2007, 1:53 am
Location: The South Coast of N.S.W. Oz.

Post Posted June 30th, 2010, 4:55 am

Hi, Please re-post your question in a new thread & explain more fully, exactly what you require.
Thank you.
Locking this oldie.
Ancient Amateur Astronomer
Win-7-HP/IntelĀ® DualCore-2.0GHz/500G HDD/4 Gig Ram/550Watt PSU/350WattUPS/Firefox-20.0-30.0-36.0.1/T-bird-2.0.0.24/SnagIt-v10.0.1/MWP-7.5.0.
RadioYachting. Conficker Test.

Return to Firefox Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 24 guests