MozillaZine

TB Start Page Fails to Load -- How to Fix?

User Help for Mozilla Thunderbird
zlaer
 
Posts: 65
Joined: June 29th, 2018, 11:11 am

Post Posted November 16th, 2018, 5:37 pm

TB's start page doesnt work. It worked before I updated to 60.3. After the update it fails to load up. How do I fix this?

DanRaisch
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 120626
Joined: September 23rd, 2004, 8:57 pm
Location: Somewhere on the right coast

Post Posted November 16th, 2018, 5:47 pm

Does the same thing occur if you launch the application in Mozilla Safe Mode? http://kb.mozillazine.org/Safe_mode

tanstaafl
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 44649
Joined: July 30th, 2003, 5:06 pm

Post Posted November 16th, 2018, 7:19 pm

Try specifying a .jpeg file as the start page. For example, I used C:\Windows\Web\Wallpaper\wp2176869-static-wallpapers.jpg . If the path includes embedded spaces don't forget to use double quotes.

If that works then try restoring the default using the restore default button.

zlaer
 
Posts: 65
Joined: June 29th, 2018, 11:11 am

Post Posted November 18th, 2018, 4:02 pm

DanRaisch wrote:Does the same thing occur if you launch the application in Mozilla Safe Mode? http://kb.mozillazine.org/Safe_mode


Once I disabled Conversations and restarted TB, the start page worked again. Is there a fix so to can keep Conversations and have the start page too?

tanstaafl
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 44649
Joined: July 30th, 2003, 5:06 pm

Post Posted November 18th, 2018, 5:16 pm

That looks like a new bug. I can reproduce the problem with 60.3.1 but not 52.9.1. If I run 52.9.1 and then run 60.3.1 (using the same profile) the problem doesn't occur again. But the next time I run 60.3.1 the problem is back :)

I can't find a bug report about it, but its possible I just didn't figure out the right keywords to search with. I also searched the official forums on https://support.mozilla.org and didn't find anything recent about conversations.

morat
 
Posts: 2958
Joined: February 3rd, 2009, 6:29 pm

Post Posted November 18th, 2018, 9:11 pm

There are no errors in the console. I can't find a bug report as well.

Conversations issues
http://github.com/protz/thunderbird-conversations/issues

I can force the start page to load without any problems by running the following command in the console.

Code: Select all
goDoCommand("cmd_goStartPage");

zlaer
 
Posts: 65
Joined: June 29th, 2018, 11:11 am

Post Posted November 19th, 2018, 6:26 pm

morat wrote:There are no errors in the console. I can't find a bug report as well.

Conversations issues
http://github.com/protz/thunderbird-conversations/issues

I can force the start page to load without any problems by running the following command in the console.

Code: Select all
goDoCommand("cmd_goStartPage");


How exactly did you get this to run in the console? Is this an automatic way to get it to start the start page every time you start TB?

.

morat
 
Posts: 2958
Joined: February 3rd, 2009, 6:29 pm

Post Posted November 19th, 2018, 7:02 pm

If you want the bug fixed, then report it to the developer.

Conversations issues
http://github.com/protz/thunderbird-conversations/issues

My comment was not a fix. I was only testing the bug.

zlaer wrote:How exactly did you get this to run in the console?

Instructions:

* tools > developer tools > error console
* copy and paste code into error console
* press enter to run

Error Console command line
http://developer.mozilla.org/en-US/docs/Tools/Browser_Console#Browser_Console_command_line

You could create a keyboard shortcut to open the start page as a workaround until the developer fixes the bug.

Keyconfig
http://addons.thunderbird.net/thunderbird/addon/602486

zlaer
 
Posts: 65
Joined: June 29th, 2018, 11:11 am

Post Posted November 20th, 2018, 4:01 pm

morat wrote:If you want the bug fixed, then report it to the developer.

Conversations issues
http://github.com/protz/thunderbird-conversations/issues

My comment was not a fix. I was only testing the bug.

zlaer wrote:How exactly did you get this to run in the console?

Instructions:

* tools > developer tools > error console
* copy and paste code into error console
* press enter to run

Error Console command line
http://developer.mozilla.org/en-US/docs/Tools/Browser_Console#Browser_Console_command_line

You could create a keyboard shortcut to open the start page as a workaround until the developer fixes the bug.

Keyconfig
http://addons.thunderbird.net/thunderbird/addon/602486



Do you know how to turn the error console to dark theme? Its all white and I cant see what I'm typing.

.

morat
 
Posts: 2958
Joined: February 3rd, 2009, 6:29 pm

Post Posted November 20th, 2018, 5:46 pm

Sorry, I don't know how to change the theme of the error console.

Return to Thunderbird Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests