MozillaZine

Why now two accounts??? (Mac)

User Help for Mozilla Thunderbird
Mac73
 
Posts: 24
Joined: August 19th, 2015, 5:05 pm

Post Posted February 20th, 2019, 7:57 pm

I finally got TB to download my emails but now I have two accounts in the side bar. I have all the same folders, all the same emails, folders of saved, trash, inboxes, etc. So what do I do to get back to only ONE account without deleting any of the emails in the folders????????? How can one new update mess things up so much! I may never update again!!
Last edited by DanRaisch on February 20th, 2019, 8:32 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: (Mac) added to subject line.

DanRaisch
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 121249
Joined: September 23rd, 2004, 8:57 pm
Location: Somewhere on the right coast

Post Posted February 20th, 2019, 8:34 pm

There have been no other reports of duplicated accounts due to recent updates.

Please post a screen shot of what you are seeing -- http://kb.mozillazine.org/Posting_a_scr ... _the_forum

Mac73
 
Posts: 24
Joined: August 19th, 2015, 5:05 pm

Post Posted February 21st, 2019, 9:46 pm

Here is a screen shot of what I see. I could not get TB to get my emails and after somehow getting it to accept gmail's password, I ended up with two accounts.

OK, now how do I get the screen shot on here? It will not drag here and I see no attach picture button.

DanRaisch
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 121249
Joined: September 23rd, 2004, 8:57 pm
Location: Somewhere on the right coast

Post Posted February 22nd, 2019, 4:12 am

Please see the link I posted above. You have to upload that screenshot to an image hosting site and then post a link to that in your next reply.

Mac73
 
Posts: 24
Joined: August 19th, 2015, 5:05 pm

Post Posted February 22nd, 2019, 8:38 pm

Here is the link to the picture I posted.

https://imgur.com/vp5vvaU

DanRaisch
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 121249
Joined: September 23rd, 2004, 8:57 pm
Location: Somewhere on the right coast

Post Posted February 23rd, 2019, 5:33 am

OK, if from the main Thunderbird window you use menu path Tools->Account Settings, do you see that Gmail account listed once or twice in the left hand column of the Account Settings window?
If twice, if you then click on the Server Settings entry for each in that left column, what is listed as the Server Type in the right hand panel?

Mac73
 
Posts: 24
Joined: August 19th, 2015, 5:05 pm

Post Posted February 23rd, 2019, 12:30 pm

I am not sure exactly what you are asking, but the two accounts listed in the left hand are identical. New mail shows up in both accounts, the saved emails are the same, and etc. The only difference that I can see is if I click each account and then click account settings in the right hand window, the servers for each are the same only one has (default) behind it.

DanRaisch
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 121249
Joined: September 23rd, 2004, 8:57 pm
Location: Somewhere on the right coast

Post Posted February 23rd, 2019, 5:23 pm

I'm looking for the server type information as shown in this imge:
Image

Mac73
 
Posts: 24
Joined: August 19th, 2015, 5:05 pm

Post Posted February 23rd, 2019, 8:27 pm

The server is listed as "Google Mail - smtp.gmail.com" on both accounts.

makaiguy

User avatar
 
Posts: 16714
Joined: November 18th, 2002, 6:44 pm
Location: Somewhere in SE USA

Post Posted February 23rd, 2019, 8:53 pm

No, he's asking for the SERVER TYPE, the line ABOVE the sever name in his image.

And smtp.gmail.com would be for an outgoing server not the incoming server from which you download your messages.
Doug Wilson, "The Makai Guy"
Win10 (64bit): FF Quantum 66.0.2 (64bit), TB 60.6.1 (32-bit) ║ Android 8.0/7.1.1: FF Mobile 66.0.2 No TB for Android available, dammit!
What a fool believes he sees, no wise man has the power to reason away - Doobie Brothers

Mac73
 
Posts: 24
Joined: August 19th, 2015, 5:05 pm

Post Posted February 24th, 2019, 11:20 am

I cannot see the server settings. Every time I go to account settings and click on the server settings, a drop down window says

"Account Wizard"
"An account with this name already exists. Please enter a different account name."
Below is a blue box with OK in it.

If you click ok, the window disappears upward, then another box with the same thing comes down, click ok, it disappears and finally the initial box that opened up with the account info on it shows back up. You have to click "cancel" to get back to the mailboxes, otherwise this keeps going and going if you click OK on anything in these windows.

Mac73
 
Posts: 24
Joined: August 19th, 2015, 5:05 pm

Post Posted February 24th, 2019, 11:23 am

You cannot get to any other window like the server and settings, copies, junk or anything without the box listed above showing up two times. It is like a dog chasing his tail. Around and around we go and where we stop no one knows.

DanRaisch
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 121249
Joined: September 23rd, 2004, 8:57 pm
Location: Somewhere on the right coast

Post Posted February 24th, 2019, 2:03 pm

Does the same thing occur if you launch the application in Mozilla Safe Mode? http://kb.mozillazine.org/Safe_mode

Mac73
 
Posts: 24
Joined: August 19th, 2015, 5:05 pm

Post Posted February 24th, 2019, 7:45 pm

Yes it does. the around and around window.

Return to Thunderbird Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 9 guests