MozillaZine

How to refresh quota value - You exceeded your mail quota

User Help for Mozilla Thunderbird
romanhrivik
 
Posts: 2
Joined: May 19th, 2009, 2:21 am

Post Posted May 19th, 2009, 2:28 am

Hi,

I just received message from my thunderbird "You exceeded your mail quota"

As I have my own domain, so I increased quota of my inbox to double value.
But even when I restarted my computer I still receiving this message from my thunderbird.

It looks like thunderbird does not recognized that the quota was changed.
Is there any solution for this problem.
The message "You exceeded your mail quota" is shown every time I receive new message and it is horrible.

Is there any way how to refresh value of quota in thunderbird, or any way how to disable this notification.

I use Windows version of Thunderbird version 2.0.0.21 (20090302)

Thank you very much

Roman

SK.
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 20750
Joined: October 18th, 2007, 1:28 pm
Location: Third Rock From The Sun

Post Posted May 19th, 2009, 5:57 am

What are the exact contents of the entire error message? Do you regularly compact your folders? It is strongly recommended. Check this page for information on compacting folders.
John 3:16 and Philippians 4:13

romanhrivik
 
Posts: 2
Joined: May 19th, 2009, 2:21 am

Post Posted May 19th, 2009, 6:34 am

The entair message is "You exceeded your mail quota"
It is not error message, but Alert window.
It has something with IMAP quotas.
When you right click on INBOX folder -> Properties... -> Quota
Before I had my email account limit (limited quota on server side) set to 2GB
When it reaches 80% of the limit the thunderbird started alert me, so I just set it to 4GB on my IMAP server.
Thunderbird somehow getted the limits from my IMAP server, but now after upgrade quota on my server the thunderbird did not actualize new size.
It always alert me with message "You exceeded your mail quota" (always when new message arrives - but only when the thunderbird is not active window - i.e. it is in background when I work with other application) even I already upgraded the quota on server side.

One thing is that befor quota upgrade I saw 80% proggress bar at the status bar of thunderbird also quota info was under INBOX folder -> Properties... -> Quota.
Now there is no data under INBOX folder -> Properties... -> Quota
and also the quota progress bar was disappeared.
But the problem is that thunderbird still opens alert window with message "You exceeded your mail quota".

Thank you

Roman

SK.
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 20750
Joined: October 18th, 2007, 1:28 pm
Location: Third Rock From The Sun

Post Posted May 19th, 2009, 8:02 am

Please review the link and answer the question about compacting.
John 3:16 and Philippians 4:13

guidothunderbirduser
Guest
 

Post Posted December 7th, 2009, 9:50 am

this link doesn't work for me :(

I have exactly the same problem as romanhrivik.
Is there anyone who knows an answer to this problem?

If possible I would like to not compact my folders.

Thanks,
Guido

DanRaisch
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 106857
Joined: September 23rd, 2004, 8:57 pm
Location: Somewhere on the East Coast

Post Posted December 7th, 2009, 12:31 pm

guidothunderbirduser wrote:If possible I would like to not compact my folders.


Why do you not wish to compact folders? Do you understand that compacting is not compressing?
Vista Home Premium 64 - FX 37.0.1 & TB 31.6.0 Win 8.1 - FX 37.0.1 and TB 31.6.0

guidothunderbirduser
Guest
 

Post Posted December 8th, 2009, 8:35 am

Hmm, no. I though this is the same, and Thunderbird is just unclear about the terminology.

I just read up on it. As it seems it is to get the space from the already deleted emails? Is that right?
This will only be done locally, it won't have any effect on the IMAP server?

Thanks,
Guido

PTRPRO

User avatar
 
Posts: 139
Joined: December 6th, 2009, 10:30 am
Location: The Midlands of South Carolina

Post Posted December 8th, 2009, 11:04 am

You have it right!
The best baseball players are only right on a third of their at bats.

Daifne
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 122733
Joined: July 31st, 2005, 9:17 pm
Location: Where the Waters Meet, Wisconsin

Post Posted December 8th, 2009, 11:10 am

Compacting also expunges IMAP accounts. It applies to both protocols.

Corday,
While we appreciate help, please don't post if you can't give a real solution. Posting just to post is against forum rules.
JE SUIS CHARLIE
“If you make people think they're thinking, they'll love you; but if you really make them think, they'll hate you.” ― Harlan Ellison
Please do not PM me for personal support. Keep posts here in the Forums instead and we all learn.

guidothunderbirduser
Guest
 

Post Posted December 8th, 2009, 9:46 pm

@DanRaisch & Daifne: Thanks a lot for the help!
I restarted Thunderbird several times by now and it just 'magically' started to work again. I'm not sure if it is related to the following German blog post I found: http://stefan.waidele.info/2008/10/03/a ... ail-quota/ Where it says that you can delete the maildirsize on the IMAP server to force an update on the new available size.
But anyway, it works again for me.

Thanks you guys for the information about the compacting, I didn't know that!

Cheers,
Guido

DanRaisch
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 106857
Joined: September 23rd, 2004, 8:57 pm
Location: Somewhere on the East Coast

Post Posted December 8th, 2009, 9:49 pm

You're welcome.
Vista Home Premium 64 - FX 37.0.1 & TB 31.6.0 Win 8.1 - FX 37.0.1 and TB 31.6.0

Return to Thunderbird Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Google Adsense [Bot] and 8 guests