MozillaZine

can not send emails all of a sudden

User Help for Mozilla Thunderbird
absor
 
Posts: 5
Joined: August 27th, 2009, 11:20 am

Post Posted August 27th, 2009, 1:07 pm

All of a sudden I can no longer send email. I can receive email just fine, and I can browse the web via my server, iinet. I have tried sending with all firewalls, virus protection, and spyware protection turned off, it still will not work. I have verified that the server outgoing mail setting is correct, smtp.iinet.com, and that the port is correct, 25. The version I am using is x.23, and I am pretty sure it just performed an automatic update. Perhaps this update is bad. I am thinking of doing a system restore, if XP will allow me to do that. Sometimes it thinks nothing has changed and refuses to do a restore, when in fact things have changed. Unless anybody has any other ideas. Can you uninstall an update by any chance?

DanRaisch
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 106596
Joined: September 23rd, 2004, 8:57 pm
Location: Somewhere on the East Coast

Post Posted August 27th, 2009, 1:15 pm

What is the exact text of the error message you are getting when trying to send messages?

Note that turning off firewalls usually means turning off the user interface but not the blocking functions. And some AV protection acts in the same way. You should (with Thunderbird closed) remove Thunderbird from the list of permitted applications in the firewall setting and then start Thunderbird so that the firewall can "discover" it is there.
Vista Home Premium 64 - FX 37.0.1 & TB 31.6.0 Win 8.1 - FX 37.0.1 and TB 31.6.0

vince-m
 
Posts: 1
Joined: August 27th, 2009, 2:41 pm
Location: kamiah idaho

Post Posted August 27th, 2009, 2:48 pm

I have same problem, can get my mail through earthlink but thunderbird say's earthlink need authentication to send message,Had this problem some time ago and for some reason fixed itself.I have an imac running mac os10.5.8, would be grateful for any help.

thank you vince

absor
 
Posts: 5
Joined: August 27th, 2009, 11:20 am

Post Posted August 27th, 2009, 3:42 pm

It just says that it can not connect to smtp.iinet.com. That's about it, no error messages or anything.

DanRaisch
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 106596
Joined: September 23rd, 2004, 8:57 pm
Location: Somewhere on the East Coast

Post Posted August 27th, 2009, 8:14 pm

Are you located in Australia?
Vista Home Premium 64 - FX 37.0.1 & TB 31.6.0 Win 8.1 - FX 37.0.1 and TB 31.6.0

absor
 
Posts: 5
Joined: August 27th, 2009, 11:20 am

Post Posted August 28th, 2009, 11:19 am

Portland Oregon, why?

erg57
 
Posts: 14
Joined: September 20th, 2005, 3:37 pm

Post Posted August 28th, 2009, 11:50 am

I have had the same problem. I can send them if I am logged in. If I am not logged in I get the smtp error message. before this last update, i could send emails without logging in first. Not any more. I use Charter
Last edited by erg57 on August 28th, 2009, 12:01 pm, edited 1 time in total.

DanRaisch
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 106596
Joined: September 23rd, 2004, 8:57 pm
Location: Somewhere on the East Coast

Post Posted August 28th, 2009, 11:56 am

Because the information on SMTP settings requirements that I get for iinet are all for iinet.net.au.

erg57, please stay in just one thread. You've already posted the same comment here -- viewtopic.php?f=39&t=1442385
Vista Home Premium 64 - FX 37.0.1 & TB 31.6.0 Win 8.1 - FX 37.0.1 and TB 31.6.0

erg57
 
Posts: 14
Joined: September 20th, 2005, 3:37 pm

Post Posted August 28th, 2009, 12:05 pm

sorry Dan. I lost track when I editing and had mult threads open. My bad

absor
 
Posts: 5
Joined: August 27th, 2009, 11:20 am

Post Posted August 28th, 2009, 12:53 pm

WWW.IINET.COM

Formerly Pacifier.com, now owned by Infinity, I have no idea where their central office is.

DanRaisch
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 106596
Joined: September 23rd, 2004, 8:57 pm
Location: Somewhere on the East Coast

Post Posted August 28th, 2009, 8:34 pm

What settings do you have for that SMTP server?
Vista Home Premium 64 - FX 37.0.1 & TB 31.6.0 Win 8.1 - FX 37.0.1 and TB 31.6.0

absor
 
Posts: 5
Joined: August 27th, 2009, 11:20 am

Post Posted August 31st, 2009, 5:48 pm

Problem solved. I went online to the support section of my internet provider. They have a step by step instruction on how to configure the outgoing email. It turns out that the port was wrong. When I changed my port setting to what they said it needs to be, it worked. Now why all of a sudden this happened I do not know. either the new thunderbird update made some changes to the settings, or my server made one of their own. But for anybody who has this problem, look at the settings recommended to you by your provider.

DanRaisch
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 106596
Joined: September 23rd, 2004, 8:57 pm
Location: Somewhere on the East Coast

Post Posted August 31st, 2009, 5:50 pm

Thanks for reporting your findings.
Vista Home Premium 64 - FX 37.0.1 & TB 31.6.0 Win 8.1 - FX 37.0.1 and TB 31.6.0

Return to Thunderbird Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests