MozillaZine

failed to find settings for e-mail account

User Help for Mozilla Thunderbird
jspence
Guest
 

Post Posted October 25th, 2010, 12:56 pm

Hello,

I am setting up thunderbird, but got the message "failed to find settings for your e-mail account".
I tried the following:

Type the values in the following fields:
Incoming: mypost.yorku.ca
From the pull-down menu select "IMAP"
Next field change to "993"
From the pull-down menu select "SSL/TLS"

Outgoing: mailrelay.yorku.ca
SMTP field type "587"
From the pull-down menu select "STARTTLS"

...still no success.

What else do I need to do?

Thank you.

DanRaisch
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 107753
Joined: September 23rd, 2004, 8:57 pm
Location: Somewhere on the East Coast

Post Posted October 25th, 2010, 1:08 pm

What, exactly, does "still no success" mean?

* Which version of Thunderbird? Check Help>About for the version number.
* What is the exact wording of the error message (if any) that you are receiving?
* Are you using an antivirus and/or a firewall program? Which ones?

jspence
Guest
 

Post Posted October 25th, 2010, 1:28 pm

>> * Which version of Thunderbird? Check Help>About for the version number.
ver 3.1.5

>> * What is the exact wording of the error message (if any) that you are receiving?

Thunderbird failed to find the settings for your e-mail account.

>> * Are you using an antivirus and/or a firewall program? Which ones?

Trend Micro Anitvirus
I'm not sure, but possibly an MS firewall.

DanRaisch
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 107753
Joined: September 23rd, 2004, 8:57 pm
Location: Somewhere on the East Coast

Post Posted October 25th, 2010, 1:46 pm

jspence wrote:Trend Micro Anitvirus
I'm not sure, but possibly an MS firewall.


You'll want to check that firewall question and make sure that it is set to permit Thunderbird access to the Internet.

Did you click on the "Test..." button after manually entering those settings in the New Account Wizard dialogue?

jspence
Guest
 

Post Posted October 25th, 2010, 1:51 pm

>> You'll want to check that firewall question and make sure that it is set to permit Thunderbird
>> access to the Internet.

I looked at Start>>All Programs and I don't see anything that looks like a firewall or any other malware other that Trend.


>> Did you click on the "Test..." button after manually entering those settings in the New Account >> Wizard dialogue?

Yes.

DanRaisch
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 107753
Joined: September 23rd, 2004, 8:57 pm
Location: Somewhere on the East Coast

Post Posted October 25th, 2010, 1:54 pm

1. No, you wouldn't if it is the Windows firewall. Try Start->Control Panel->Security Center.

jspence
Guest
 

Post Posted October 25th, 2010, 1:59 pm

Yes, there is a firewall, but shouldn't I be prompted to allow T-bird to gain access?
If no, how do I grant access.

Daifne
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 122757
Joined: July 31st, 2005, 9:17 pm
Location: Where the Waters Meet, Wisconsin

Post Posted October 25th, 2010, 2:00 pm

You should be, but many firewalls won't prompt you if it's an upgrade to the program. It will see the change and block it, but because it's already listed, it won't ask.

How you grant access depends on which firewall you're using.
“If you make people think they're thinking, they'll love you; but if you really make them think, they'll hate you.” ― Harlan Ellison
Please do not PM me for personal support. Keep posts here in the Forums instead and we all learn.

DanRaisch
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 107753
Joined: September 23rd, 2004, 8:57 pm
Location: Somewhere on the East Coast

Post Posted October 25th, 2010, 2:07 pm

In the Windows firewall you should have a settings display that includes an exceptions tab. Enter Thunderbird in that tab.

jspence
Guest
 

Post Posted October 25th, 2010, 2:15 pm

Okay,
I found the setting on the firewall and chose to allow Thunderbird access. Stll getting the same error.
I tried the default settings and then this:

Incoming: mypost.yorku.ca
From the pull-down menu select "IMAP"
Next field change to "993"
From the pull-down menu select "SSL/TLS"

Outgoing: mailrelay.yorku.ca
SMTP field type "587"
From the pull-down menu select "STARTTLS"

Still getting the same error.

DanRaisch
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 107753
Joined: September 23rd, 2004, 8:57 pm
Location: Somewhere on the East Coast

Post Posted October 25th, 2010, 2:24 pm

Is there any account listed under menu path Tools->Account Settings?

jspence
Guest
 

Post Posted October 25th, 2010, 2:44 pm

Yes.

jspence
Guest
 

Post Posted October 25th, 2010, 3:06 pm

I called my provider, not too much help, but--the lady on the phone gave me the following as addresses to thier inbound and outbound servers:

POP.EAST.COX.NET in
SMPT.EAST.COX.NET out
both ports were 25

does this help any?

DanRaisch
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 107753
Joined: September 23rd, 2004, 8:57 pm
Location: Somewhere on the East Coast

Post Posted October 25th, 2010, 3:08 pm

That depends. Are you trying to set up that email account for your school or for your email address with your provider?

jspence
Guest
 

Post Posted October 25th, 2010, 3:10 pm

Just for home use.

Return to Thunderbird Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot], rlengland and 5 guests