The server responded: #4.5.3 Too many recipients..

User Help for Mozilla Thunderbird
alangeeves

The server responded: #4.5.3 Too many recipients..

Post by alangeeves »

Hi This has my head confused
I have been sending emails to the same group of people for several years via win xp and outlook express no issue. Just upgraded my pc along with Win7 and changed to thunderbird 10.0.2 at the same time. If I send to this group of about 40 people I get the following message.
The size of the message you are trying to send exceeds a temporary size limit of the server. The message was not sent; try to reduce the message size or wait some time and try again. The server responded: #4.5.3 Too many recipients..
Sending to one or 2 people is fine.Also as a test I installed win live mail and sent the exact same message to the same list of people from the same pc and isp without problem.
I am the secretary of a 4wd club so need to be able to send emails to groups of people. If I have to I will change to win live but would rather keep thunderbird as its far nicer to use and I dont fancy having to teach the wife how to use a 3rd email programme. Also importing everything into that will be a pain.
Thunderbird is saying the server is creating the message but the same server happily accepts the same email from win live
any thoughts please
I really want to keep thunderbird
tanstaafl

Re: The server responded: #4.5.3 Too many recipients..

Post by tanstaafl »

That sounds like a 452 4.5.3 Error: too many recipients SMTP error except it shouldn't also complain about the message size. That would normally be something like a 552 5.3.4 Message size exceeds fixed maximum message size error, or a 452 4.1.1 ... temporary failure if it was due to a temporary problem with the SMTP server. They shouldn't be combined in one error message, the SMTP error codes are designed to report a single problem.

What email provider are you using?