MozillaZine

Keep going offline

User Help for Mozilla Thunderbird
cgret
 
Posts: 9
Joined: December 5th, 2012, 9:41 am

Post Posted December 5th, 2012, 11:36 am

I am using the latest version of Thunderbird. During the day, I will try to get mail and instead get an error message that "I am offline. Would I like to go online? I answer yes and nothing happens. I toggled the icons in the lower left corner with no success.
I check to make sure that I still have network access (I do) and I go to Firefox and can use the browser fine. The problem seems limited to Thunderbird and the only solution that works is to reboot the computer. This scenario happens many times each day.
Any suggestions? HELP!

DanRaisch
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 107290
Joined: September 23rd, 2004, 8:57 pm
Location: Somewhere on the East Coast

Post Posted December 5th, 2012, 12:16 pm

Check under menu path Tools->Options->Advanced->Network & Diskspace->click on the "Offline" button->make sure that "Always start up online" is selected.

cgret
 
Posts: 9
Joined: December 5th, 2012, 9:41 am

Post Posted December 5th, 2012, 12:40 pm

Thank you for your reply.
The "Always start up online" was selected. I did not have to change it. Any other suggestions?

DanRaisch
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 107290
Joined: September 23rd, 2004, 8:57 pm
Location: Somewhere on the East Coast

Post Posted December 5th, 2012, 1:04 pm

Does this occur on start up or only after you have had Thunderbird running for a time?
Does the same thing occur if you launch the application in Mozilla Safe Mode? http://kb.mozillazine.org/Safe_mode
Please confirm the specific version of Thunderbird you are using. Find that under Help->About Thunderbird.

cgret
 
Posts: 9
Joined: December 5th, 2012, 9:41 am

Post Posted December 5th, 2012, 2:59 pm

I'm using version 17.0. This occurs after Thunderbird has been running for a time. I haven't tried the safe mode. will do so.

cgret
 
Posts: 9
Joined: December 5th, 2012, 9:41 am

Post Posted December 5th, 2012, 3:05 pm

Another note to this problem, when I close the window, I cannot restart it. I get a message that Thunderbird is still running... BUT ITS NOT. Crazy.

DanRaisch
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 107290
Joined: September 23rd, 2004, 8:57 pm
Location: Somewhere on the East Coast

Post Posted December 5th, 2012, 3:07 pm

When you say that it's not running, are you checking that in Windows Task Manager's Processes tab? Thunderbird may be running but the user interface may not be displayed.

cgret
 
Posts: 9
Joined: December 5th, 2012, 9:41 am

Post Posted December 5th, 2012, 5:53 pm

Thank you for your reply. I had to go out for a meeting so pardon the delay in responding. I have not checked the Windows Task Mngr's Processes tab when the problem arose, but I will the next time it happens.

cgret
 
Posts: 9
Joined: December 5th, 2012, 9:41 am

Post Posted December 5th, 2012, 5:56 pm

When I said Thunderbird was not running, I had closed it by hitting the X in the upper right corner and it went off the screen and also disappeared from the bottom bar. When I doubleclicked on the Thunderbird icon on my desktop, I was tole Thunderbird was still running, so I could not open the application.

DanRaisch
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 107290
Joined: September 23rd, 2004, 8:57 pm
Location: Somewhere on the East Coast

Post Posted December 5th, 2012, 9:10 pm

Yes, but at that point you need to check Windows Task Manager and view the list of active Processes, not the list of open applications.

cgret
 
Posts: 9
Joined: December 5th, 2012, 9:41 am

Post Posted December 6th, 2012, 11:55 am

It did it again. Both Foxfire and Thunderbird stalled on me. Both processes were running at the time on Windows Task Mngr.

DanRaisch
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 107290
Joined: September 23rd, 2004, 8:57 pm
Location: Somewhere on the East Coast

Post Posted December 6th, 2012, 1:31 pm

Try running in Safe Mode for a time to see if the problem occurs in that environment.

cgret
 
Posts: 9
Joined: December 5th, 2012, 9:41 am

Post Posted December 6th, 2012, 5:36 pm

I am now running Thunderbird in safe mode. Will let you know the results. Thanks for the suggestion.

DanRaisch
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 107290
Joined: September 23rd, 2004, 8:57 pm
Location: Somewhere on the East Coast

Post Posted December 7th, 2012, 5:08 am

Good luck.

cgret
 
Posts: 9
Joined: December 5th, 2012, 9:41 am

Post Posted December 8th, 2012, 10:12 am

Both Firefox and Thunderbird locked up again. I closed both browsers, closed the process, restarted both programs and able to run again. What keeps causing them to lock up?

Return to Thunderbird Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 13 guests