How to setup a topmail email account in Thunderbird

User Help for Mozilla Thunderbird
Posts: 5
Joined: November 19th, 2012, 12:49 pm

Post Posted March 20th, 2013, 10:24 am

Have created an email account with topmail, Its using POP3 & SMTP. Thunderbird finds the server after a few tweaks.
However when it comes to check the password this is where it fails.
Have tried to contact topmail without success. I have the feeling its down to the server settings, but there does not appear to be any option to change them on the Topmail website.
I wonder maybe that its an online service only, not sure.

Regards Cliff

Adrian Bell
Posts: 923
Joined: September 3rd, 2005, 8:34 am
Location: Darlington, UK

Post Posted March 20th, 2013, 12:13 pm

You can't change the settings on Topmail, but Thunderbird may have made the wrong guess at them.

Code: Select all
"Tools > Account Settings... > Server Settings"
Server Name" should be
User Name should be your email address
Port should be 110
Tick "My server requires authentication"
NB - Check that the Server Type is POP

"Tools > Account Settings... > Outgoing Server (SMTP)"
Server Name should be
Port should be 25
Tick "Use name and password" and complete your email address.
Tick "Use secure authentication"

It doesn't list Thunderbird but the server names etc. are there:-


User avatar
Posts: 109475
Joined: September 23rd, 2004, 8:57 pm
Location: Somewhere on the right coast

Post Posted March 22nd, 2013, 4:18 pm

Moving to Thunderbird Support.

Return to Thunderbird Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: uplink and 7 guests