MozillaZine

Support please read: TB 45 two new problems

User Help for Mozilla Thunderbird
rindsight
 
Posts: 3
Joined: May 5th, 2016, 8:22 pm

Post Posted May 5th, 2016, 8:31 pm

When I click on a new email it opens up in a new window even though this is not selected in Options.

Also after I place a link in a message I'm composing I can't add another. The first link appears in the pop-up box and even after I paste in the second link and click OK nothing happens.

Hope the support team picks up on these. Thank you!

DanRaisch
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 117696
Joined: September 23rd, 2004, 8:57 pm
Location: Somewhere on the right coast

Post Posted May 6th, 2016, 5:45 am

Moving to Thunderbird Support.

1. Just so you're clear about things, this forum is not run by or formally associated with Mozilla. We're an independent user-helping-user community.

2. Have you tried toggling that option? That is, have you tried selecting Tools->Options->Display->Advanced tab->"Open new messages in:"->"A new message window" and then closing and restarting Thunderbird, followed by that same menu path and then selecting the option of your choice, followed by closing and restarting the program?

3. Are you trying to place two links at one time using menu path Insert->Link in the composition window?

rindsight
 
Posts: 3
Joined: May 5th, 2016, 8:22 pm

Post Posted May 6th, 2016, 11:42 am

3. Are you trying to place two links at one time using menu path Insert->Link in the composition window?

No. I used to be able to put as many links into an email body as I wanted to. Now I can't insert more than one. When I try, the first link is already in the link properties popup box, and when I delete that link, insert the new one and click OK, the box disappears and nothing is added to the email body. I'm skipping a couple of lines after inserting a link as always.

BTW this is Windows 8.1. Thanks for your help!

DanRaisch
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 117696
Joined: September 23rd, 2004, 8:57 pm
Location: Somewhere on the right coast

Post Posted May 6th, 2016, 7:10 pm

Not seeing that problem here. I can enter multiple links by using the Ctrl+L or menu path Insert->Link and each time I repeat that the dialogue box comes up empty and ready to accept new input.

Does the same thing occur if you launch the application in Mozilla Safe Mode? http://kb.mozillazine.org/Safe_mode

rindsight
 
Posts: 3
Joined: May 5th, 2016, 8:22 pm

Post Posted May 6th, 2016, 8:08 pm

Link function is working fine now Dan. New day, fresh boot must have cleared out the dust bunnies, or else a Windows update fixed it. Appreciate the time you spent on this. Thanks again...

DanRaisch
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 117696
Joined: September 23rd, 2004, 8:57 pm
Location: Somewhere on the right coast

Post Posted May 6th, 2016, 8:42 pm

You're welcome. Glad to hear things are running well for you now.

Return to Thunderbird Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 6 guests