MozillaZine

GMail IMAP leading to huge "All Mail" folder. Why?

User Help for Mozilla Thunderbird
danll

Post Posted December 10th, 2016, 5:03 pm

I've been using Thunderbird for POP downloads for many many years. Have just started to use it for IMAP downloads. I'm doing IMAP downloads from Gmail, which seems to work well. But Thunderbird seems to want to download ALL of my "All Mail" on my Gmail account, which is thousands of e-mails. I don't want all that on my Thunderbird client, since they are always accessible directly on GMail if I need them. I have it set to Synchronize just the most recent 30 days, so why am I looking at a whole years worth of e-mail in my "All Mail" folder on Thunderbird, rather than just the last 30 days?

tanstaafl

Post Posted December 10th, 2016, 5:29 pm

I think its a poor decision displaying that folder by default too, but some people like that feature. I suspect the reason Thunderbird is ignoring the 30 day setting is because the AllMail folder is not a normal folder, it is a special case. From http://kb.mozillazine.org/Minimize_the_ ... _a_profile :

"If you decide to keep offline folders enabled and have a Gmail IMAP account, uncheck "All Mail" in Tools -> Account Settings -> Account Name -> Synchronization & Storage -> Advanced. Exit Thunderbird and delete "All Mail." and "All Mail.msf" in the accounts local directory. The "All Mail" folder in a Gmail IMAP account has a copy of all messages for that account, doubling the number of messages downloaded for offline folders. "

I normally disable both offline folders (synchronization & storage) and global search/indexing to save disk space and eliminate both of the background processes that would download mail to the hard disk since I'm comfortable relying upon using the "quick filter bar" to search messages, and it reduces the chances of problems.

viewtopic.php?p=14614949#p14614949

danll

Post Posted December 10th, 2016, 5:38 pm