Thunderbird login Rejected on Linux Mint

User Help for Mozilla Thunderbird
BillWilson65

Thunderbird login Rejected on Linux Mint

Post by BillWilson65 »

I have been using Thunderbird on Windows for many years. I now have an old computer running Linux Mint Cinnamon. I just tried to install Thunderbird there too and it failed! After I filled-in the TB username and password it immediately said it found my existing account but after I clicked on the Done button, it said it was checking the password and then popped up a message that said that the username or password were incorrect! Then I tried the same TB username and password in a separate instance on my Windows machine and it logged in fine. So, it looks like something is happening in Linux that is different. Linux frequently has me reenter my login password when I try to do certain things and I'm wondering if it is expecting to see that password somehow when I click on the Done button? It does not provide any way in this instance for me to enter my Linux login password.

Any ideas how to get past this point?

Thanks,
Bill
DanRaisch

Re: Thunderbird login Rejected on Linux Mint

Post by DanRaisch »

Did you compare the account settings on the Linux machine with those on the Windows system?
On the Windows machine the menu path for that is Tools->Account Settings->Server Settings.
On the Linux machine the the menu path for that is Edit → Account Settings->Server Settings.
BillWilson65

Post by BillWilson65 »

DanRaisch wrote:Did you compare the account settings on the Linux machine with those on the Windows system?
On the Windows machine the menu path for that is Tools->Account Settings->Server Settings.
On the Linux machine the the menu path for that is Edit → Account Settings->Server Settings.