MozillaZine

Cannot Open Link from Thunderbird

User Help for Mozilla Thunderbird
AlainCh2
 
Posts: 9
Joined: April 16th, 2017, 6:30 am

Post Posted April 19th, 2017, 3:51 am

W10 Thunderbird 52.0.1 (32-bit)

Browser default: Palemoon > checked <

following: http://kb.mozillazine.org/Setting_Your_Default_Browser :

Search for the following three entries:

network.protocol-handler.warn-external.http
network.protocol-handler.warn-external.https
network.protocol-handler.warn-external.ftp

Set the value of each of these three entries to true >set<

Nothing change..
I have no idea if it's the new version or if it was so before...

Thanks
ALAIN
Last edited by AlainCh2 on April 19th, 2017, 4:49 am, edited 1 time in total.

DanRaisch
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 116651
Joined: September 23rd, 2004, 8:57 pm
Location: Somewhere on the right coast

Post Posted April 19th, 2017, 3:56 am

What version of Thunderbird? Look under menu path Help->About Thunderbird to determine that.

AlainCh2
 
Posts: 9
Joined: April 16th, 2017, 6:30 am

Post Posted April 19th, 2017, 4:50 am

52.0.1 (32-bit)

sfhowes
 
Posts: 244
Joined: April 1st, 2012, 10:21 am

Post Posted April 19th, 2017, 10:21 am

The links problem was supposed to be fixed in 52.0.1, but if not, delete the places.sqlite* files in your profile folder and see if links now work. Help/Troubleshooting Information, click Open Folder, close TB, delete the files, restart TB.

AlainCh2
 
Posts: 9
Joined: April 16th, 2017, 6:30 am

Post Posted April 21st, 2017, 1:17 am

I did the step by step... thanks ..

Nothing changed...
It seem strange to me:
but some links works once, next time they don't. Some never works

99% are not working ... but that's not 100% °?°


Thanks
Alain

sfhowes
 
Posts: 244
Joined: April 1st, 2012, 10:21 am

Post Posted April 21st, 2017, 9:39 am

It looks like you've already checked the config. editor preferences, but there may be some other items in this article that are relevant:

https://support.mozilla.org/en-US/kb/hy ... ot-working

AlainCh2
 
Posts: 9
Joined: April 16th, 2017, 6:30 am

Post Posted April 22nd, 2017, 5:30 am

Already checked that post... nothing avail...

so I posted again this one :-((

sfhowes
 
Posts: 244
Joined: April 1st, 2012, 10:21 am

Post Posted April 22nd, 2017, 10:11 am

Does Pale Moon launch when you click links from other applications besides TB, e.g. Word doc, newsreader etc.?

AlainCh2
 
Posts: 9
Joined: April 16th, 2017, 6:30 am

Post Posted April 23rd, 2017, 12:31 am

Palemoon Version: 27.2.1 (64-bit)

is the only installed version.
Just to remember: This is a Fresh Windows 10 install.

Following my "after crash procedure/ moving to new PC "
... I install w10 and first Palemoon,
then other software ( Office, utilities etc.. ) then the last one is Thunderbird.

After Thunderbird installation is complete,
I will not change settings or else nor in Windows or TB because everything is done on the list..

Thanks for your care !!
Alain

DanRaisch
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 116651
Joined: September 23rd, 2004, 8:57 pm
Location: Somewhere on the right coast

Post Posted April 23rd, 2017, 4:34 am

You didn't answer the question: "Does Pale Moon launch when you click links from other applications besides TB, e.g. Word doc, newsreader etc.?"

AlainCh2
 
Posts: 9
Joined: April 16th, 2017, 6:30 am

Post Posted April 23rd, 2017, 6:44 am

OOPs , Yes sure .. why not ??

If I click a link outside TB it work.

From Word and newsgroup >> I don't have any idea ,
.. because I don't have links in Word... and I don't use anymore Newsgroups.

SO:
I I tried to copy a link ( this conversation one).. pasted in a Doc... save, close
... open Word and Ctrl+click on it :
The result is perfect. ....
It opened a new tab near from this one. even if I have multiple PM windows open, with multiple tab on each.

Thanks for your patience.

Alain

sfhowes
 
Posts: 244
Joined: April 1st, 2012, 10:21 am

Post Posted April 23rd, 2017, 10:41 am

Windows sometimes upsets file and application associations when it does a major upgrade, such as the recent RS2. I would open Settings/Apps and features/Default apps and make sure Pale Moon is set for Web browser, and under 'Choose default apps by protocol' make sure Pale Moon is set for HTTP ans HTTPS. If that still doesn't help, I'd set another browser as default, e.g. Edge, then set it back to Pale Moon. Also, check Pale Moon under 'Set defaults by app'.

AlainCh2
 
Posts: 9
Joined: April 16th, 2017, 6:30 am

Post Posted April 23rd, 2017, 11:27 am

That's what I have ...
Image
Image

sfhowes
 
Posts: 244
Joined: April 1st, 2012, 10:21 am

Post Posted April 23rd, 2017, 11:37 am

Looks right.... which leads me to suspect there's a browser-related TB add-on or 3rd-party 'safe browsing' security program causing the problem. Running in TB safe mode (hold Shift when you launch TB) would eliminate the former, and running in Windows safe mode (Shift+Restart) would eliminate the latter.

As a last resort, I would create a new profile in TB with Profile Manager (Winkey+R, type thunderbird.exe -p), add one account, and see if links work correctly.

AlainCh2
 
Posts: 9
Joined: April 16th, 2017, 6:30 am

Post Posted April 27th, 2017, 11:10 am

OK.
For many reason I create 4 TB accounts .. to recover existing saved file.. then used the last one to manage all post.
None have this working ( unless occasionally)

Add-ons only "Google Search" and "Get Selected Mails 0.10.2" installed
that I was forced to solve this other problem:
viewtopic.php?f=39&t=3029475&p=14743265#p14743265

Tobe more precise: Sometime the link work, sometime it doesn't... no reason given.
To day I opened 4 pages without any problem... but next time when I restart TB I will not be sure they open again.

>>>> Speaking of the SAME MAIL containing the SAME LINK ! :-)

Return to Thunderbird Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests