gandi.net possible ransomware ?

User Help for Mozilla Thunderbird
tttbirduser

gandi.net possible ransomware ?

Post by tttbirduser »

I cannot access my email accounts, I am being blocked by an offer to sell me a personal email account.
A search indicates Mozilla has something to do with this gandi thing but I am in the US not Europe.
Is this a new ? How do I get rid of it ?
Thanks
DanRaisch

Re: gandi.net possible ransomware ?

Post by DanRaisch »

Are you trying to setup Thunderbird for the first time? Are you using menu path File->New->Existing mail account?
tttbirduser

Post by tttbirduser »

I've been using Thunderbird for 8 or 9 years. Since I posted this I've found that other people had the same problem.
But this one seems to be different, it only offers gandi.net not not both gandi and hover and nothing happens when I click on " Skip this and use
my existing email" ,
I just ran chkdsk, no change.
DanRaisch

Post by DanRaisch »

I haven't seen other reports of such problems on these forums. Were you trying to add another account at this point or did the block pop up during normal use?
tttbirduser

Post by tttbirduser »

wsmwk

Post by wsmwk »

You were probably screwed by CCLeaner https://forum.piriform.com/index.php?sh ... 8&p=284171 - they shipped a bug today.
Make sure you get up-to-the-second-new-version and set it to NOT touch your Thunderbird and Firefox, ever.
DanRaisch

Post by DanRaisch »

tttbirduser wrote:All I did was open Thunderbird

You might have forgot about these two

http://forums.mozillazine.org/viewtopic ... &t=2803691

http://forums.mozillazine.org/viewtopic ... &t=2823929