MozillaZine

a lot of TBird waiting

User Help for Mozilla Thunderbird
walkerpbus

User avatar
 
Posts: 1006
Joined: August 15th, 2004, 2:11 pm
Location: Duncanville, TX, USA

Post Posted September 1st, 2017, 5:56 pm

Any ideas? add-ons?
Win 10 Pro on my originally Dell Optiplex System 7 desktop. Usually latest or latest-1 Thunderbird on all machines. Would like soon to buy a new laptop if my finances permit.

tanstaafl
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 43501
Joined: July 30th, 2003, 5:06 pm

Post Posted September 2nd, 2017, 12:07 am

More details please such as when does this occur (startup, when composing a message, sending a message, switching to a different folder ....). Have you always had this problem or did it only occur after the last upgrade of Thunderbird?

See http://kb.mozillazine.org/Performance_-_Thunderbird

walkerpbus

User avatar
 
Posts: 1006
Joined: August 15th, 2004, 2:11 pm
Location: Duncanville, TX, USA

Post Posted September 5th, 2017, 6:12 pm

tanstaafl wrote:More details please such as when does this occur (startup, when composing a message, sending a message, switching to a different folder ....). Have you always had this problem or did it only occur after the last upgrade of Thunderbird?

See http://kb.mozillazine.org/Performance_-_Thunderbird

most everything, sir. The only things I can think of are more disk is needed, removal of some contact lists, or bad/conflicting add-ons. or 2 many programs running but usually they are inactive. I am not sure of when.
Win 10 Pro on my originally Dell Optiplex System 7 desktop. Usually latest or latest-1 Thunderbird on all machines. Would like soon to buy a new laptop if my finances permit.

DanRaisch
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 118402
Joined: September 23rd, 2004, 8:57 pm
Location: Somewhere on the right coast

Post Posted September 5th, 2017, 6:27 pm

What version of Thunderbird?
Does the same thing occur if you launch the application in Mozilla Safe Mode? http://kb.mozillazine.org/Safe_mode
What security software is running on that system?

walkerpbus

User avatar
 
Posts: 1006
Joined: August 15th, 2004, 2:11 pm
Location: Duncanville, TX, USA

Post Posted September 6th, 2017, 10:17 am

DanRaisch wrote:What version of Thunderbird?
Does the same thing occur if you launch the application in Mozilla Safe Mode? http://kb.mozillazine.org/Safe_mode
What security software is running on that system?

A strange thing happens in safe mode: it comes up very swiftly & also a big sub-screen "This domain is expired. For renewal instructions please click here" for a Thunderbrowse.com When I click on it nothing happens. It does show me that an add-on is causing the problem.
Win 10 Pro on my originally Dell Optiplex System 7 desktop. Usually latest or latest-1 Thunderbird on all machines. Would like soon to buy a new laptop if my finances permit.

DanRaisch
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 118402
Joined: September 23rd, 2004, 8:57 pm
Location: Somewhere on the right coast

Post Posted September 6th, 2017, 10:38 am

It sounds as though whatever site you have set as the home page for Thunderbrowse is no longer valid or has a certificate issue. I'd suggest either changing that selection while in Safe Mode or removing Thunderbrowse.

walkerpbus

User avatar
 
Posts: 1006
Joined: August 15th, 2004, 2:11 pm
Location: Duncanville, TX, USA

Post Posted September 6th, 2017, 11:25 am

It's solved! an addressbook synchronizer was the culprit!
Win 10 Pro on my originally Dell Optiplex System 7 desktop. Usually latest or latest-1 Thunderbird on all machines. Would like soon to buy a new laptop if my finances permit.

Return to Thunderbird Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests