MozillaZine

Outgoing Server Error.

User Help for Mozilla Thunderbird
Breeze

User avatar
 
Posts: 213
Joined: October 31st, 2005, 6:06 pm

Post Posted October 8th, 2017, 9:37 am

Just recently when I write a message then click on send I get this error:
"An error occurred while sending mail:
Outgoing server (SMTP) error.
The server responded: Service not available,
closing transaction channel."
When I look in the "Sent" folder it seems to be sent.
Any ideas as to what's going on?
I set TB and forget it. I haven't messed with things for probably a year.
Thank you for you help.
Last edited by LIMPET235 on October 8th, 2017, 9:39 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Removed the coloured text to make it more readable.
It's Not New and It's Not Order

DanRaisch
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 118403
Joined: September 23rd, 2004, 8:57 pm
Location: Somewhere on the right coast

Post Posted October 8th, 2017, 10:01 am

How is the account set up in Thunderbird, as POP or IMAP? Find out using menu path Tools->Account Settings->Server Settings->Server Type at the top right of the dialogue.
Who is the email provider?

Breeze

User avatar
 
Posts: 213
Joined: October 31st, 2005, 6:06 pm

Post Posted October 8th, 2017, 2:33 pm

Thank you for your reply.
It's still set up as POP. RoadRunner is the email provider.
It's Not New and It's Not Order

DanRaisch
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 118403
Joined: September 23rd, 2004, 8:57 pm
Location: Somewhere on the right coast

Post Posted October 8th, 2017, 2:36 pm

In that case it's most likely a problem with the RoadRunner server that will be resolved by the provider.

Breeze

User avatar
 
Posts: 213
Joined: October 31st, 2005, 6:06 pm

Post Posted October 14th, 2017, 6:23 am

OK, thank you. I'll wait and see if it clears up.
It's Not New and It's Not Order

Breeze

User avatar
 
Posts: 213
Joined: October 31st, 2005, 6:06 pm

Post Posted December 31st, 2017, 9:58 am

This problem seems to come and go. I'm getting the error message again. I send emails, I get the error and I find the email in my "Sent" folder but it really hasn't been sent. (I checked it out.)
I went to the Time Warner Web email and sent emails from there and they really were sent.
So I'm thinking it's a TB problem but what, I just don't know.
Like I said, I set TB and forget it. I rarely change anything.
Maybe someone has an idea as to what the problem is.
I did call Time Warner one time when I received the error and they said everything looks good on their end.
Thank you and Have a Happy and Safe New Year.
It's Not New and It's Not Order

DanRaisch
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 118403
Joined: September 23rd, 2004, 8:57 pm
Location: Somewhere on the right coast

Post Posted December 31st, 2017, 2:17 pm

I went to the Time Warner Web email and sent emails from there and they really were sent.
So I'm thinking it's a TB problem but what, I just don't know.

No, that's not likely. Sending from the Time Warener web mail page uses different servers than when sending from TB, so it's not valid to compare the results of those two different processes. And Thunderbird's process is to put the copy of the outgoing message in the Sent folder when the server tells Thunderbird it has accepted the message for sending. So if you are finding that messages in TB's Sent folder have not been received by the addressee, it doesn't automatically mean a TB problem. It could still be intermittent problems with Time Warner's SMTP servers.

Breeze

User avatar
 
Posts: 213
Joined: October 31st, 2005, 6:06 pm

Post Posted January 3rd, 2018, 8:45 am

I called Time Warner, went through the settings and since they have changed their name to Spectrum she said I needed to change the incoming and outgoing servers both to mail.twc.com.
I still can't send any emails.
I'm not the only one with this issue. Others on the Time Warner forum are complaining but no one from Time Warner answers. Their claiming the port 587 is to blame.
The TWC person has me sign into webmail and verified I could send and receive emails through webmail. I told her what you'd said about the servers and she said No, that's not possible.
I'm still searching as I'm stumped.
It's Not New and It's Not Order

DanRaisch
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 118403
Joined: September 23rd, 2004, 8:57 pm
Location: Somewhere on the right coast

Post Posted January 3rd, 2018, 9:02 am

I told her what you'd said about the servers and she said No, that's not possible.

That's not unusual for a first tier support person. They often don't know anything about the processes but what they have on the scripts in front of them.

Without posting your full email address, what settings do you have under menu path Tools->Account Settings->Outgoing Server (SMTP)->click on the account name at the upper right of the dialogue:
Server name:
Port # :
User name : (Just tell us if it is your full name or just the bit before the @ symbol)
Authentication Method:
Connection Security:

Breeze

User avatar
 
Posts: 213
Joined: October 31st, 2005, 6:06 pm

Post Posted January 3rd, 2018, 9:35 am

Server Name: mail.twc.com
Port # 587
User Name: my email address
Authentication Method: Normal Password
Connection Security: SSL/TLS

Thank you so much for your help!
It's Not New and It's Not Order

DanRaisch
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 118403
Joined: September 23rd, 2004, 8:57 pm
Location: Somewhere on the right coast

Post Posted January 3rd, 2018, 9:41 am

Try changing the Connection Security from SSL/TLS to STARTTLS.

Breeze

User avatar
 
Posts: 213
Joined: October 31st, 2005, 6:06 pm

Post Posted January 3rd, 2018, 9:49 am

Okay, something is strange here. During my searching for the answer I changed the Connection Security to STARTTLS and I also changed it to None and neither would send an email.
Now when I change it to STARTLLS, it sends the email.
I'm thinking TWC lied to me. I do think the error is on their end.
It's Not New and It's Not Order

makaiguy

User avatar
 
Posts: 16525
Joined: November 18th, 2002, 6:44 pm
Location: Somewhere in SE USA

Post Posted January 3rd, 2018, 10:42 am

Breeze wrote:.
I'm thinking TWC lied to me. I do think the error is on their end.


This is SHOCKING I tell you, SHOCKING!
Doug Wilson, "The Makai Guy"
Win10 (64bit): FF 52.4.0 ESR (64bit), TB 52.3.0 (32bit)║ Android 7.0/7.1.1: FF 57.0, No TB for Android available, dammit!
What a fool believes he sees, no wise man has the power to reason away - Doobie Brothers

DanRaisch
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 118403
Joined: September 23rd, 2004, 8:57 pm
Location: Somewhere on the right coast

Post Posted January 3rd, 2018, 10:54 am

DanRaisch wrote:That's not unusual for a first tier support person. They often don't know anything about the processes but what they have on the scripts in front of them.

It's possible that the ISP changed the required value for that setting but their first tier support staff were never informed of that, nor, obviously, were their customers. :roll:

Breeze

User avatar
 
Posts: 213
Joined: October 31st, 2005, 6:06 pm

Post Posted January 3rd, 2018, 11:16 am

Yeah, thank you so much for your time and help. I'll wait and see if it clears up.
It's Not New and It's Not Order

Return to Thunderbird Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests