MozillaZine

Open link in background tab

User Help for Mozilla Thunderbird
firefoxuse
 
Posts: 1086
Joined: November 8th, 2011, 12:06 pm

Post Posted January 6th, 2018, 7:22 pm

Hello!

I right click and choose to 'open link in browser' but I want it to do that in the background
I am not sure if this is addon-based or TB-based
how can I change it?

thanks!

DanRaisch
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 120605
Joined: September 23rd, 2004, 8:57 pm
Location: Somewhere on the right coast

Post Posted January 7th, 2018, 5:12 am

I am not sure if this is addon-based or TB-based


It neither. It's a Firefox setting. See this article -- https://support.mozilla.org/en-US/questions/940398

firefoxuse
 
Posts: 1086
Joined: November 8th, 2011, 12:06 pm

Post Posted January 12th, 2018, 2:50 pm

DanRaisch wrote:
I am not sure if this is addon-based or TB-based


It neither. It's a Firefox setting. See this article -- https://support.mozilla.org/en-US/questions/940398


thanks but it doesnt say anything about 'background tab' ? or at least not to focus FF after loading external link?

DanRaisch
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 120605
Joined: September 23rd, 2004, 8:57 pm
Location: Somewhere on the right coast

Post Posted January 12th, 2018, 3:00 pm

Do you mean you want it to open that page in Firefox but not bring the browser forward?

firefoxuse
 
Posts: 1086
Joined: November 8th, 2011, 12:06 pm

Post Posted January 12th, 2018, 3:56 pm

yes please

DanRaisch
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 120605
Joined: September 23rd, 2004, 8:57 pm
Location: Somewhere on the right coast

Post Posted January 12th, 2018, 5:03 pm

I don't believe that's possible.

firefoxuse
 
Posts: 1086
Joined: November 8th, 2011, 12:06 pm

Post Posted January 14th, 2018, 10:22 am

well it was before the last major FF update that screwed everything

DanRaisch
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 120605
Joined: September 23rd, 2004, 8:57 pm
Location: Somewhere on the right coast

Post Posted January 14th, 2018, 11:38 am

If you say so.

firefoxuse
 
Posts: 1086
Joined: November 8th, 2011, 12:06 pm

Post Posted January 14th, 2018, 2:07 pm

DanRaisch wrote:If you say so.


is there a proper FF forum to find solutions?

LIMPET235
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 38481
Joined: October 19th, 2007, 1:53 am
Location: The South Coast of N.S.W. Oz.

Post Posted January 14th, 2018, 7:44 pm

Well, after so many posts on here & the "Official Support" site link most probably being posted numerous times here,
viz; > https://support.mozilla.org/en-US/questions
why ask again?
Maybe Bookmark it?
Ancient Amateur Astronomer
Win-7-HP/IntelĀ® DualCore-2.0GHz/500G HDD/4 Gig Ram/550Watt PSU/350WattUPS/Firefox-20.0-57.0-61.0-62.0/T-bird-2.0.0.24/SnagIt-v10.0.1/MWP-7.11.0.
(Always choose the "Custom" Install.)

smsmith
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 19784
Joined: December 7th, 2004, 8:51 pm
Location: Indiana

Post Posted January 14th, 2018, 10:15 pm

Try changing the setting browser.tabs.loadDivertedInBackground in Firefox.

http://kb.mozillazine.org/About%3Aconfig
Give a man a fish, and he eats for a day. Teach a man to fish, and he eats for a lifetime.
I like poetry, long walks on the beach and poking dead things with a stick.
Please do not PM me for personal support. Keep posts here in the Forums instead and we all learn.

AndrewAM
 
Posts: 18
Joined: January 15th, 2018, 5:33 am

Post Posted January 16th, 2018, 1:24 pm

smsmith wrote:Try changing the setting browser.tabs.loadDivertedInBackground in Firefox.

http://kb.mozillazine.org/About%3Aconfig


Bingo!

Thanks!!!!!

firefoxuse
 
Posts: 1086
Joined: November 8th, 2011, 12:06 pm

Post Posted February 3rd, 2018, 3:21 pm

DanRaisch wrote:I don't believe that's possible.


smsmith wrote:Try changing the setting browser.tabs.loadDivertedInBackground in Firefox.

http://kb.mozillazine.org/About%3Aconfig


=D>

LIMPET235
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 38481
Joined: October 19th, 2007, 1:53 am
Location: The South Coast of N.S.W. Oz.

Post Posted February 4th, 2018, 8:23 am

&... that, ^, is not a very nice response to someone who always tries to help you.

O.K.?
Ancient Amateur Astronomer
Win-7-HP/IntelĀ® DualCore-2.0GHz/500G HDD/4 Gig Ram/550Watt PSU/350WattUPS/Firefox-20.0-57.0-61.0-62.0/T-bird-2.0.0.24/SnagIt-v10.0.1/MWP-7.11.0.
(Always choose the "Custom" Install.)

firefoxuse
 
Posts: 1086
Joined: November 8th, 2011, 12:06 pm

Post Posted February 17th, 2018, 12:07 pm

LIMPET235 wrote:&... that, ^, is not a very nice response to someone who always tries to help you.

O.K.?


OK sorry :cry:

Return to Thunderbird Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Google [Bot] and 2 guests