Insert HTML button

User Help for Mozilla Thunderbird
Post Reply
indkal
Posts: 58
Joined: February 29th, 2008, 12:59 pm

Insert HTML button

Post by indkal »

My Thunderbird got updated a couple of times and is currently at 52.6.0. Now, Custom Buttons add-on doesn't work. I was using it to create a button to open the Insert HTML window only. Is there a way to create a button to do it. I know ALT IH works, but that is too many keys when I have to send many emails. Thanks.
User avatar
tanstaafl
Moderator
Posts: 49647
Joined: July 30th, 2003, 5:06 pm

Re: Insert HTML button

Post by tanstaafl »

I can install the add-on with 52.6.0 and add a custom button (defined in the FAQ) such as opening http://www.google.com in a foreground tab, but it does nothing. You could use the support email link in https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/thunde ... src=search and ask for help or create a ticket at https://sourceforge.net/projects/custom ... rce=navbar. It's possible the latest Mozilla toolkit removed an API that the add-on depended upon.

Unfortunately I noticed https://sourceforge.net/p/custombuttons/tickets/10/ (dated 2017-05-24) which complains that the add-on stopped working after updating Thunderbird to 52.1.1, with no replies. Looking at the other open tickets I wonder if the add-on has been abandoned.

I suggest you start by sending a private message to morat and see if he is the same morat who wrote the stickified FAQ thread at the top of the custom buttons forum. You can get a link to private message him at http://forums.mozillazine.org/memberlis ... e&u=523035

Please let me know what you find out.
morat
Posts: 6421
Joined: February 3rd, 2009, 6:29 pm

Re: Insert HTML button

Post by morat »

Custom Buttons 0.0.5.8.9 on the AMO site doesn't work well in Thunderbird 52.

There are signed fixes available by Infocatcher in the CB thread, but most Thunderbird users only install extensions on the AMO site. And that's a good policy since Thunderbird doesn't require extensions to be signed.

AMO site
http://addons.mozilla.org/thunderbird/addon/2707
http://addons.mozilla.org/firefox/user/Infocatcher/

CB thread
http://custombuttons.sourceforge.net/fo ... f=5&t=3743
morat
Posts: 6421
Joined: February 3rd, 2009, 6:29 pm

Re: Insert HTML button

Post by morat »

You could create a toolbar button in the compose window with an extension.

Instructions:

* create tweaks.zip file (contains install.rdf, chrome.manifest, overlay.xul, style.css)
* rename tweaks.zip file to tweaks.xpi
* install tweaks.xpi file
* open compose window
* open customize toolbar window
* drag and drop toolbar button to toolbar

Usage:

* focus message text area
* left click toolbar button

Source:

* install.rdf

Code: Select all

<?xml version="1.0"?>

<RDF xmlns="http://www.w3.org/1999/02/22-rdf-syntax-ns#"
  xmlns:em="http://www.mozilla.org/2004/em-rdf#">

  <Description about="urn:mozilla:install-manifest">
    <em:id>tweaks@example.com</em:id>
    <em:type>2</em:type>
    <em:unpack>true</em:unpack>
    <em:name>Tweaks</em:name>
    <em:version>1.0</em:version>
    <em:creator>morat</em:creator>
    <em:description>Personalize Thunderbird.</em:description>
    <em:homepageURL>http://forums.mozillazine.org/viewtopic.php?f=39&t=3037994</em:homepageURL>

    <!-- Thunderbird -->
    <em:targetApplication>
      <Description>
        <em:id>{3550f703-e582-4d05-9a08-453d09bdfdc6}</em:id>
        <em:minVersion>52.0</em:minVersion>
        <em:maxVersion>99.0</em:maxVersion>
      </Description>
    </em:targetApplication>

  </Description>

</RDF>
* chrome.manifest

Code: Select all

content tweaks .
locale tweaks en-US .
skin tweaks classic/1.0 .

overlay chrome://messenger/content/messengercompose/messengercompose.xul chrome://tweaks/content/overlay.xul
style chrome://global/content/customizeToolbar.xul chrome://tweaks/skin/style.css
* overlay.xul

Code: Select all

<?xml version="1.0"?>

<?xml-stylesheet href="chrome://tweaks/skin/style.css" type="text/css"?>

<overlay id="tweaks-toolbar-overlay"
         xmlns="http://www.mozilla.org/keymaster/gatekeeper/there.is.only.xul">
  <toolbarpalette id="MsgComposeToolbarPalette">
    <toolbarbutton id="tweaks-button-insert-html"
                   class="toolbarbutton-1"
                   label="Insert HTML"
                   tooltiptext="Enter HTML tags and text"
                   oncommand="goDoCommand('cmd_insertHTMLWithDialog');"/>
  </toolbarpalette>
</overlay>
* style.css

Code: Select all

#tweaks-button-insert-html {
  list-style-image: url("http://forum.mozilla-russia.org/uploaded/custombuttons_button.png");
  -moz-image-region: rect(0px, 16px, 16px, 0px);
}
Thunderbird 52.6.0
Windows 7 SP1 32-bit

Similar thread: http://forums.mozillazine.org/viewtopic ... &t=3021875
indkal
Posts: 58
Joined: February 29th, 2008, 12:59 pm

Re: Insert HTML button

Post by indkal »

It works. Thanks. :)
morat
Posts: 6421
Joined: February 3rd, 2009, 6:29 pm

Re: Insert HTML button

Post by morat »

You're welcome.
Post Reply