imap and pop3

User Help for Mozilla Thunderbird
paulmars

imap and pop3

Post by paulmars »

I have been using gmail with TB both set to imap for several years. this way I get my preferred user interface and the safety of keeping emails on the server and once in a while accessing my emails from another computer. I dont want to change this.

Posting this question to gmail forums gets no helpful response.

In G mail web settings enabling or disabling pop3 is independent of enabling or disabling imap. Why?

I had thought that I had pop3 disabled, but looking at it now I see it says
"Status: POP is enabled for all mail that has arrived since 10/31/08"
"When messages are accessed with POP delete Gmail's copy"

and below that it is set to
"Status: IMAP is enabled"

When I log into my gmail account with the g mail web interface, I see that messages that I have already received w/TB are still there even months/years later. This is IMAP and what I want, but in g mail web settings is:
"Status: POP is enabled for all mail that has arrived since 10/31/08"
"When messages are accessed with POP delete Gmail's copy"

What's up?

tks,pa
tanstaafl

Re: imap and pop3

Post by tanstaafl »

Webmail ("the g mail web interface"), a POP account and a IMAP account are different ways to access the same mailbox, with very different abilities and restrictions. Settings that apply to POP accounts (such as "When messages are accessed with POP delete Gmail's copy") don't effect webmail or a IMAP account.