MozillaZine

extensions.update.url

User Help for Mozilla Thunderbird
CBA
 
Posts: 109
Joined: June 16th, 2008, 2:08 am

Post Posted August 3rd, 2018, 1:53 am

My "extensions.update.url" is:

Code: Select all
https://versioncheck.addons.mozilla.org/update/VersionCheck.php?reqVersion=%REQ_VERSION%&id=%ITEM_ID%&version=%ITEM_VERSION%&maxAppVersion=%ITEM_MAXAPPVERSION%&status=%ITEM_STATUS%&appID=%APP_ID%&appVersion=%APP_VERSION%&appOS=%APP_OS%&appABI=%APP_ABI%&locale=%APP_LOCALE%&currentAppVersion=%CURRENT_APP_VERSION%&updateType=%UPDATE_TYPE%

Until recently, this URL worked fine (i.e., it told me no updates available). Now it throws an error for all my extensions. It's not critical as I don't expect any extension updates for my "legacy" TB version 3.1.20. But, I'm curious to find out what's up? Any suggestions? A new URL string or no more support for old style add-ons?

morat
 
Posts: 2922
Joined: February 3rd, 2009, 6:29 pm

Post Posted August 3rd, 2018, 4:37 am

My extensions.update.url value is the same as yours, except &compatMode=%COMPATIBILITY_MODE% on the end.

The compatMode value can equal to normal, ignore or strict.

Try adding &compatMode=ignore to the end of the extensions.update.url value.

Thunderbird 3.1 Gecko 1.9.2
http://dxr.mozilla.org/comm-1.9.2/search?q=extensions.update.url+file%3Aall-thunderbird.js

Thunderbird 52
http://dxr.mozilla.org/comm-esr52/search?q=extensions.update.url+file%3Aall-thunderbird.js
http://dxr.mozilla.org/comm-esr52/search?q=COMPATIBILITY_MODE

CBA
 
Posts: 109
Joined: June 16th, 2008, 2:08 am

Post Posted August 3rd, 2018, 5:27 am

I tried your .url value too, but no difference. Error. And I added &compatMode=ignore to the end of my extensions.update.url value and still error. Then I added &compatMode=%IGNORE% to the end and the same error.

I have the same error issue on three different computers, running identical TB versions/configurations. And I tried a portable version of 3.1.20 and the same error .. so it's not my profile.

Checking TB's Error Console, all extensions show the same error. Here is an example: Warning: RDFItemUpdater:onError: There was an error loading the the update datasource for item tbsortfolders@xulforum.org, error: nsIXMLHttpRequest channel unavailable

morat
 
Posts: 2922
Joined: February 3rd, 2009, 6:29 pm

Post Posted August 3rd, 2018, 9:07 am

Try changing mozilla.org to the new thunderbird.net domain in the extensions.update.url value.

Check for Updates, DOM Inspector Update Url, App Version 3.1.20:

https://versioncheck.addons.thunderbird.net/update/VersionCheck.php
?reqVersion=2
&id=inspector@mozilla.org
&version=2.0.16.1-signed
&maxAppVersion=
&status=userEnabled
&appID={3550f703-e582-4d05-9a08-453d09bdfdc6}
&appVersion=3.1.20
&appOS=WINNT
&appABI=x86-msvc
&locale=en-US
&currentAppVersion=3.1.20
&updateType=1
&compatMode=ignore

Check for Updates, DOM Inspector Update Url, App Version 52.9.1:

https://versioncheck.addons.thunderbird.net/update/VersionCheck.php
?reqVersion=2
&id=inspector@mozilla.org
&version=2.0.16.1-signed
&maxAppVersion=
&status=userEnabled
&appID={3550f703-e582-4d05-9a08-453d09bdfdc6}
&appVersion=52.9.1
&appOS=WINNT
&appABI=x86-msvc
&locale=en-US
&currentAppVersion=52.9.1
&updateType=1
&compatMode=ignore

The update urls correctly loads a RDF file in Firefox.

I posted the urls in plain text because mozillazine forums can't parse them for some reason...

CBA
 
Posts: 109
Joined: June 16th, 2008, 2:08 am

Post Posted August 3rd, 2018, 9:53 am

Thanks! I tried the string for 3.1.20 and I think it worked once .. then I got errors again. Need to play with this as I think you are onto something. I also got a RDF file loaded in Firefox. I'll get back once I have more time. :)

CBA
 
Posts: 109
Joined: June 16th, 2008, 2:08 am

Post Posted August 5th, 2018, 1:21 am

CBA wrote:I'll get back once I have more time. :)

Update: I tried "your" 3.1.20 extensions.update.url string a few more times (on two different computers), however, no success. On 1st try, it seemed to work, but on all consecutive update tries it did not: errors!

Code: Select all
https://versioncheck.addons.thunderbird.net/update/VersionCheck.php?reqVersion=2&id=inspector@mozilla.org&version=2.0.16.1-signed&maxAppVersion=&status=userEnabled&appID={3550f703-e582-4d05-9a08-453d09bdfdc6}&appVersion=3.1.20&appOS=WINNT&appABI=x86-msvc&locale=en-US&currentAppVersion=3.1.20&updateType=1&compatMode=ignore

And just changing to the new thunderbird.net domain in the old extensions.update.url value didn't do the trick either: errors on 1st try.

Code: Select all
https://versioncheck.addons.thunderbird.net/update/VersionCheck.php?reqVersion=%REQ_VERSION%&id=%ITEM_ID%&version=%ITEM_VERSION%&maxAppVersion=%ITEM_MAXAPPVERSION%&status=%ITEM_STATUS%&appID=%APP_ID%&appVersion=%APP_VERSION%&appOS=%APP_OS%&appABI=%APP_ABI%&locale=%APP_LOCALE%&currentAppVersion=%CURRENT_APP_VERSION%&updateType=%UPDATE_TYPE%

Not sure how to proceed as modifying the string is above my pay grade... :?

morat
 
Posts: 2922
Joined: February 3rd, 2009, 6:29 pm

Post Posted August 5th, 2018, 5:58 am

I found the "RDFItemUpdater:onError" warning in the source.

Thunderbird 3.1.20 nsExtensionManager.js (not available on dxr.mozilla.org)
http://pastebin.com/raw/c21jCduQ
http://dxr.mozilla.org/comm-1.9.2/search?q=RDFItemUpdater

The application thinks you don't have a valid channel.

I don't have any other ideas on how to fix the issue.

CBA
 
Posts: 109
Joined: June 16th, 2008, 2:08 am

Post Posted August 5th, 2018, 9:52 am

morat wrote:I found the "RDFItemUpdater:onError" warning in the source ... The application thinks you don't have a valid channel. I don't have any other ideas on how to fix the issue.

Thanks for your efforts. I'm now smarter than I was when I started this thread. However, there are fights worthy to fight for .. and this may not be one. I'll try some other avenues .. if I can figure out what they are. Again, many thanks! :D

morat
 
Posts: 2922
Joined: February 3rd, 2009, 6:29 pm

Post Posted August 5th, 2018, 2:12 pm

Thunderbird 3.1 uses the same gecko engine as Firefox 3.6. Perhaps the HTTPS stuff is obsolete now.

Firefox 3.6 supports TLS 1.0. Firefox 52 supports TLS 1.0, TLS 1.1, TLS 1.2 and experimental TLS 1.3 Draft 18.

SSL, TLS and web browsers
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Transport_Layer_Security#Web_browsers

Difference between SSL, TLS and HTTPS
http://security.stackexchange.com/questions/5126

Check for updates server - supports TLS 1.1 and TLS 1.2
https://versioncheck.addons.thunderbird.net/

Test server - supports TLS 1.3
https://tls13.crypto.mozilla.org/

TLS server test (open ip address link in new tab to view summary)
http://www.ssllabs.com/ssltest/
http://www.ssllabs.com/ssltest/analyze.html?d=versioncheck.addons.thunderbird.net
http://www.ssllabs.com/ssltest/analyze.html?d=tls13.crypto.mozilla.org

TLS browser test (mouseover "Yes" next to TLS 1.3 to view draft number)
http://www.ssllabs.com/ssltest/viewMyClient.html

Return to Thunderbird Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: nickhere and 5 guests