MozillaZine

Thunderbird in tray bar. [Linux.]

User Help for Mozilla Thunderbird
keiichi
 
Posts: 13
Joined: August 25th, 2018, 3:41 am

Post Posted August 25th, 2018, 3:45 am

Hi, I use thunderbird 60 in windows 7 and debian.
Is there an extension who allow of minimize thunderbird in tray bar?
Thansk
Last edited by LIMPET235 on August 25th, 2018, 4:13 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Added [Linux] to the title.

LIMPET235
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 39254
Joined: October 19th, 2007, 1:53 am
Location: The South Coast of N.S.W. Oz.

Post Posted August 25th, 2018, 4:13 am

Hi,
There are 1 or 2 in the Addons site that may suit your needs...

> https://addons.thunderbird.net/en-US/th ... &platform=
Ancient Amateur Astronomer
Win-7-HP/Intel® DualCore-2.0GHz/500G HDD/4 Gig Ram/550Watt PSU/350WattUPS/Firefox-20.0-62.0-70.0/T-bird-2.0.0.24/SnagIt-v10.0.1/MWP-7.12.
W.M.Y.C.
(Always choose the "Custom" Install.)

keiichi
 
Posts: 13
Joined: August 25th, 2018, 3:41 am

Post Posted August 25th, 2018, 4:24 am

Yes, but there is written that those 1 or 2 solutions are for thunderbird 50 and not 60.

LIMPET235
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 39254
Joined: October 19th, 2007, 1:53 am
Location: The South Coast of N.S.W. Oz.

Post Posted August 25th, 2018, 4:44 am

Hi,
Sorry. I missed that you're running v60, which has not been released yet.
(I don't keep up with what Thunderbird version/s are up to.)
ref; > https://www.thunderbird.net/en-US/thund ... easenotes/

Maybe someone will know if "those extensions" will work in your version.
Possibly....try them?
Ancient Amateur Astronomer
Win-7-HP/Intel® DualCore-2.0GHz/500G HDD/4 Gig Ram/550Watt PSU/350WattUPS/Firefox-20.0-62.0-70.0/T-bird-2.0.0.24/SnagIt-v10.0.1/MWP-7.12.
W.M.Y.C.
(Always choose the "Custom" Install.)

tanstaafl
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 46939
Joined: July 30th, 2003, 5:06 pm

Post Posted August 25th, 2018, 4:57 am

Try setting extensions.strictCompatibility true using the config editor. Its not clear from https://github.com/foudfou/FireTray/issues whether any users tried that with Firetray.

https://www.ghacks.net/2018/04/24/thund ... s-support/
https://bugzilla.mozilla.org/show_bug.c ... &id=208923

keiichi
 
Posts: 13
Joined: August 25th, 2018, 3:41 am

Post Posted August 25th, 2018, 6:53 am

I downloaded FireTray and I setted extensions.strictCompatibility on false . But how do I install the addon?

LIMPET235
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 39254
Joined: October 19th, 2007, 1:53 am
Location: The South Coast of N.S.W. Oz.

Post Posted August 25th, 2018, 6:57 am

Hi,
Simply drag 'n' drop the extension into Thunderbird's Addons screen.
Close & re-open TB to complete.
Ancient Amateur Astronomer
Win-7-HP/Intel® DualCore-2.0GHz/500G HDD/4 Gig Ram/550Watt PSU/350WattUPS/Firefox-20.0-62.0-70.0/T-bird-2.0.0.24/SnagIt-v10.0.1/MWP-7.12.
W.M.Y.C.
(Always choose the "Custom" Install.)

keiichi
 
Posts: 13
Joined: August 25th, 2018, 3:41 am

Post Posted August 25th, 2018, 7:50 am

Thanks. I installed FireTray but it doesn't seem work

BuddhaNature

User avatar
 
Posts: 424
Joined: January 3rd, 2008, 9:44 am
Location: Scotland

Post Posted August 25th, 2018, 8:48 am

I'm using Thunderbird v60.0 Portable (PortableApps) on Windows. I tried installing FireTray to it with the extensions.strictCompatibility true and extensions.strictCompatibility false settings. In both cases TB would not allow the install of FireTray.

I did find a way to minimise TB v60.0 to the System Tray using the Windows program RBTray but that solution won't work on a Linux system unless you can find a Linux program that offers the same functionality as RBTray. For more details on RBTray see this thread: [Solved] Get Thunderbird 60.0+ to Minimise to System Tray.
Last edited by BuddhaNature on August 31st, 2018, 10:57 am, edited 2 times in total.
OS: Windows 7 Pro. SP1 x64

tanstaafl
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 46939
Joined: July 30th, 2003, 5:06 pm

Post Posted August 25th, 2018, 10:13 am

I had no problem installing Firetray as an add-on with Thunderbird 60 under Windows 10 after setting extensions.strictCompatibility true and restarting. However, when I minimize Thunderbird it doesn't seem to use the system tray, its still using the window in the taskbar. I tried showing hidden icons.

BuddhaNature

User avatar
 
Posts: 424
Joined: January 3rd, 2008, 9:44 am
Location: Scotland

Post Posted August 25th, 2018, 10:21 am

Yes, tanstaafl -- all I can do is report what happened with my Thunderbird Portable and FireTray.

In any case, I think there must have been changes in the code regarding the 'minimise' button - certainly, when using RBTray, the minimise button in the default install of Thunderbird 60.0 (without showing the 'Titlebar') doesn't act in the same way if you force Thunderbird to show the 'Titlebar' and use the minimise button from there. I've posted a solution to this minimise problem now here: [Solved] Get Thunderbird 60.0+ to Minimise to System Tray

As people move over to 60.0 I was thinking there'll be complaints related to FireTray and lack of capacity to minimise Thunderbird to System Tray.
Last edited by BuddhaNature on August 25th, 2018, 10:30 am, edited 2 times in total.
OS: Windows 7 Pro. SP1 x64

keiichi
 
Posts: 13
Joined: August 25th, 2018, 3:41 am

Post Posted August 25th, 2018, 10:22 am

tanstaafl wrote:I had no problem installing Firetray as an add-on with Thunderbird 60 under Windows 10 after setting extensions.strictCompatibility true and restarting. However, when I minimize Thunderbird it doesn't seem to use the system tray, its still using the window in the taskbar. I tried showing hidden icons.

Yes, me too

BuddhaNature

User avatar
 
Posts: 424
Joined: January 3rd, 2008, 9:44 am
Location: Scotland

Post Posted August 25th, 2018, 10:45 am

I've just been thinking that if you can successfully install FireTray to your Thunderbird 60.0 maybe you could try forcing Thunderbird to show the 'Titlebar' and see if FireTray works from there. I can't test this myself as I can't get FireTray to install to my Thunderbird. Might be worth a shot.
OS: Windows 7 Pro. SP1 x64

BuddhaNature

User avatar
 
Posts: 424
Joined: January 3rd, 2008, 9:44 am
Location: Scotland

Post Posted August 25th, 2018, 12:39 pm

Oops! I just tried to install FireTray to Thunderbird 60.0 with extensions.strictCompatibility set to false and it installed this time (so I have no idea what I did first time I tried this). So apologies for my error. :oops:

That said I can't configure it to test my own suggested experiment. If I open the options for FireTray the options display all the way from the left side of my monitor to the right-side and then just disappear off the screen with options seeming chopped-off because they are beyond the limits of the monitor screen. Impossible to make any settings and get them to stick. The only way out of the mess is to kill Thunderbird via Windows Task Manager,
OS: Windows 7 Pro. SP1 x64

tanstaafl
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 46939
Joined: July 30th, 2003, 5:06 pm

Post Posted August 25th, 2018, 12:44 pm

I set mail.tabs.drawInTitlebar to false which restored the title bar and replaced the widget to close Thunderbird with the normal X widget. That adds a (hidden) Thunderbird icon to the system tray that mentions that a account has a new message when I hover the mouse over it. If I double click on the icon Thunderbird is displayed, maximized.

Is that what FireTray is supposed to do?

Return to Thunderbird Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 5 guests