MozillaZine

Profile copy failed

User Help for Mozilla Thunderbird
fopetesl

User avatar
 
Posts: 21
Joined: October 15th, 2003, 5:30 am
Location: UK

Post Posted June 7th, 2019, 9:18 am

I had a motherboard crash, actually it died.
New motherboard and of course Windows 7 spat the dummy.
Copied T'Bird Profile, is 343MB, and pasted into Appdata/Roaming/Thunderbird/Profiles, renamed the profiles(ini) to read new Profile.
Copied Profile also into Appdata/Local/Thunderbird/Profiles.

My Profile just not seen, T'Bird always asked as if new user.

tanstaafl
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 45348
Joined: July 30th, 2003, 5:06 pm

Post Posted June 7th, 2019, 9:38 am

I suggest you start by editing your Thunderbird shortcut to add a command line argument to specify the location of the profile. That will bypass the profiles.ini file and let you verify that the copied profile is okay. If that works then take another look at the contents of the profiles.ini file, you may have made a mistake. It is totally unforgiving.

Or create a console window and type the full command line (if you don't want to edit a shortcut)

See http://kb.mozillazine.org/Running_from_ ... hunderbird

Return to Thunderbird Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests