MozillaZine

If I uninstall and reinstall

User Help for Mozilla Thunderbird
i_am_jim
 
Posts: 304
Joined: June 15th, 2006, 9:19 am

Post Posted October 9th, 2019, 11:22 am

If I uninstall and reinstall TB do I lose my accounts and their configuration?

DanRaisch
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 122160
Joined: September 23rd, 2004, 8:57 pm
Location: Somewhere on the right coast

Post Posted October 10th, 2019, 4:25 am

You will not lose your data if you uninstall only the program but leave the profile in place.

Clear the browser cache and the Windows Temp directory.
Download a new copy of the full installer from http://www.mozillamessaging.com/en-US/thunderbird/all
Delete the directory C:\Program Files\Mozilla Thunderbird (or it might be C:\Program Files (x86)\Mozilla Thunderbird
Run the installer.

Your saved messages, address books, settings, passwords, etc (if any) are stored in a different directory from the program files and will not be removed by deleting the directory identified above.

This thread viewtopic.php?f=39&t=996475&p=5239885#p5239885 has a more detailed version of the above instructions if needed.

i_am_jim
 
Posts: 304
Joined: June 15th, 2006, 9:19 am

Post Posted October 10th, 2019, 7:26 am

Thanks

DanRaisch
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 122160
Joined: September 23rd, 2004, 8:57 pm
Location: Somewhere on the right coast

Post Posted October 10th, 2019, 8:41 am

You're welcome.

Return to Thunderbird Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests