MozillaZine

Install one version per user in Windows. [Solved.]

User Help for Mozilla Thunderbird
xsmith
 
Posts: 23
Joined: February 15th, 2010, 6:33 pm

Post Posted October 28th, 2019, 4:17 pm

Hi there,
Running Windows 10, TB 68.2.0 with 2 Windows users.
I need to be able to use TB with a different language for each user.
There is no add-on available for TB 68 to switch languages using language packs.
Is there a way to install TB on a per user basis? Or some other solution you can think of.
TIA.
Last edited by LIMPET235 on October 29th, 2019, 7:01 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Added [Solved.] to the title.

sfhowes
 
Posts: 516
Joined: April 1st, 2012, 10:21 am

Post Posted October 28th, 2019, 6:03 pm

Can you find the relevant language pack here?

https://archive.mozilla.org/pub/thunder ... win32/xpi/

You will have to add the pref. intl.locale.requested with the corresponding value.

https://bugzilla.mozilla.org/show_bug.cgi?id=1490598#c3

I confirmed this with the Dutch pack in TB 68.2.

xsmith
 
Posts: 23
Joined: February 15th, 2010, 6:33 pm

Post Posted October 28th, 2019, 7:05 pm

@sfhowes: Thank you very much for the links. I found the FR language pack and the fix.

In the meantime, I devised another solution, far from perfect, I must admit. On one user account, I installed TB 68.2.0 x86 FR, on the other TB 68.2.0 x64 EN.
And it works with Firefox, too.

Note: When installing both localized versions from the same account, I had to manually ensure the correct install folder was chosen (Program Files or Program Files (X86))

Thank you all for your time.

@mods: Please mark the post as *SOLVED* (Or tell me how to do it) TY: Please mark the post as *SOLVED* (Or tell me how to do it) TY

WaltS48

User avatar
 
Posts: 4257
Joined: May 7th, 2010, 9:38 am
Location: Pennsylvania, USA

Post Posted October 29th, 2019, 5:52 am

xsmith wrote:Hi there,
Running Windows 10, TB 68.2.0 with 2 Windows users.
I need to be able to use TB with a different language for each user.
There is no add-on available for TB 68 to switch languages using language packs.
Is there a way to install TB on a per user basis? Or some other solution you can think of.
TIA.


Did you go to Options > Composition > Spelling and click the "Get More Dictionaries" link?

I see a French language pack there.

I'll save you some steps. Language Tools
Linux Desktop - AMD Athlon(tm) II X3 455 3.3GHz | 8.0GB RAM | GeForce GT 630
Windows Notebook - AMD A8 7410 2.2GHz | 6.0GB RAM | AMD Radeon R5

LIMPET235
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 39123
Joined: October 19th, 2007, 1:53 am
Location: The South Coast of N.S.W. Oz.

Post Posted October 29th, 2019, 7:04 am

@ xsmith...
You asked "@mods: Please mark the post as *SOLVED* (Or tell me how to do it) TY."
Just go to your 1st post & hit the EDIT button.
Easy peasy.

Already did it for you.
:)
Ancient Amateur Astronomer
Win-7-HP/Intel® DualCore-2.0GHz/500G HDD/4 Gig Ram/550Watt PSU/350WattUPS/Firefox-20.0-62.0-70.0/T-bird-2.0.0.24/SnagIt-v10.0.1/MWP-7.12.
(Always choose the "Custom" Install.)

Eckard

User avatar
 
Posts: 1342
Joined: September 5th, 2011, 8:17 am
Location: Paris (not TX)

Post Posted October 29th, 2019, 7:55 am

xsmith wrote:I need to be able to use TB with a different language for each user.
There is no add-on available for TB 68 to switch languages using language packs.

Thunderbird 68 comes with a built-in locale switcher.
• First go to to Tools > Options > Advanced > General > Config Editor ..., search for the options intl.multilingual.downloadEnabled and intl.multilingual.enabled and toggle their values to "true"
• Restart TB, go to Options > Advanced > Language, click on the the small arrow in the language field, you'll see a drop-down menu like this

Image

• Click on Search for more languages and you'll see this window in which you can choose a language you want to add

Image

TB will install the selected language pack in Add-ons > Languages.

• To switch to another language click again on the little arrow of the actual language, select the desired language in the drop-down and click on "Apply and restart"

Image

Warning:
because of bug https://bugzilla.mozilla.org/show_bug.cgi?id=1575512 the folder names in the folder pane may not be translated when you change the language. This bug will be fixed in Thunderbird 68.2.1 coming soon.

Addendum: even though in the meantime xsmith has marked his thread as "Solved" I post my message for other users who want to use Thunderbird with different language packs.

Return to Thunderbird Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 4 guests