MozillaZine

TB 68, replace lost stuff?

User Help for Mozilla Thunderbird
Flycaster

User avatar
 
Posts: 948
Joined: November 19th, 2008, 12:13 pm
Location: Boynton Beach, FL

Post Posted October 30th, 2019, 12:33 pm

There I was with my happily configured TB 60. Not having any problems and not having to come to TB Support for quite a while. However, today I noted that when 1x clicking on an email, it didn't open up at all. To open I had to 2x click and then it opened full screen??? Normally, it would open below the message pane (classic setup) after just one click. So, I checked for updates and accepted 68.2.0...What an unhappy surprise when I discovered that almost all my interface customization was gone. But, being a big boy, I'll accept the change if I can just get a few things back/corrected.

1. Keeping the 2x click to open email full screen, can I also have 1x click when I don't want full screen?
2. Can the fonts on the on the various panel interfaces be made larger?
3. Can one change the colors of the panels?
4. Can the drop-down menus be colorized and can their fonts be made larger?

Lastly, let's say I have long list of trash emails and want to delete them all at once. I would click the top one and then shift-click the bottom one and all would be highlighted and deleted at the same time when clicking Delete. However, when I now do this, I note that all are deleted, some in the list are highlighted in color and others are only slightly highlighted in a grayish black. Why the difference in highlighting?

Thanks.
Windows 10 H 64-bit, Quantum The Latest, Chrome v68, IE11, Thunderbird The Latest, Avast Pro

tanstaafl
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 46330
Joined: July 30th, 2003, 5:06 pm

Post Posted October 30th, 2019, 12:52 pm

1. I read messages in the message pane with TB 68.2.0. It takes a single click. Check that view -> layout -> message pane is still enabled.
2. See the global UI font section in http://kb.mozillazine.org/Pane_and_menu_fonts
3. Yes. Use CSS snippets in userChrome.CSS . See http://kb.mozillazine.org/UserChrome.css and viewtopic.php?p=14845870#p14845870
4. See prior replies.

Try running in safe mode (help -> restart with add-ons disabled) to see if your problems might be due to a mis-behaving add-on.

Flycaster

User avatar
 
Posts: 948
Joined: November 19th, 2008, 12:13 pm
Location: Boynton Beach, FL

Post Posted October 30th, 2019, 1:54 pm

tanstaafl wrote:1. I read messages in the message pane with TB 68.2.0. It takes a single click. Check that view -> layout -> message pane is still enabled.
2. See the global UI font section in http://kb.mozillazine.org/Pane_and_menu_fonts
3. Yes. Use CSS snippets in userChrome.CSS . See http://kb.mozillazine.org/UserChrome.css and viewtopic.php?p=14845870#p14845870
4. See prior replies.

Try running in safe mode (help -> restart with add-ons disabled) to see if your problems might be due to a mis-behaving add-on.


Not the greatest at userChrome, but did try the global Fonts and Menu Fonts. Must be doing something wrong as nothing seemed to happen. I've copied the snipets, put them into UserChrome, clicked Save, and opened TB68???

http://kb.mozillazine.org/UserChrome.css and viewtopic.php?p=14845870#p14845870...was an empty page.

Ran safe-mode, but still get some emails that don't get colorfully highlighted when selected.
Windows 10 H 64-bit, Quantum The Latest, Chrome v68, IE11, Thunderbird The Latest, Avast Pro

tanstaafl
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 46330
Joined: July 30th, 2003, 5:06 pm

Post Posted October 30th, 2019, 2:27 pm

I just clicked on the viewtopic.php?p=14845870#p14845870 link in my post and saw morat's post.

"Try using the Browser Toolbox instead of DOM Inspector.

* set devtools.chrome.enabled pref to true
* set devtools.debugger.remote-enabled pref to true
* set devtools.debugger.prompt-connection pref to false
* set devtools.inspector.showAllAnonymousContent pref to true

In Thunderbird, the Browser Toolbox is called the Developer Toolbox.

Browser Toolbox
http://developer.mozilla.org/docs/Tools/Browser_Toolbox

Annoying that there is no source code available for Thunderbird 68 online.

Source
http://dxr.mozilla.org/
http://searchfox.org/

Bugs for comm-esr68
http://bugzilla.mozilla.org/show_bug.cgi?id=1574953
http://bugzilla.mozilla.org/show_bug.cgi?id=1577406
"

Another post of his in that thread was:

"You can use the Select an iframe as the currently targeted document button to change the document.

3pane window > chrome://messenger/content/messenger.xul
message window > chrome://messenger/content/messageWindow.xul
compose window > chrome://messenger/content/messengercompose/messengercompose.xul
address book window > chrome://messenger/content/addressbook/addressbook.xul
error console window > chrome://devtools/content/webconsole/index.html

You can use the Pick an element from the page button to inspect an element.
"

tanstaafl
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 46330
Joined: July 30th, 2003, 5:06 pm

Post Posted October 30th, 2019, 2:31 pm

"I've copied the snipets, put them into UserChrome, clicked Save, and opened TB68???"

See http://kb.mozillazine.org/UserChrome.css . It mentions that the first line in that file has to be:

@namespace url("http://www.mozilla.org/keymaster/gatekeeper/there.is.only.xul");

JYLD
 
Posts: 211
Joined: July 18th, 2019, 9:59 am

Post Posted October 30th, 2019, 4:09 pm

Don't forget in TB 68+ to make sure you set:

Settings/Options > Advanced > General > Config Editor...
toolkit.legacyUserProfileCustomizations.stylesheets to true

JYLD
 
Posts: 211
Joined: July 18th, 2019, 9:59 am

Post Posted October 30th, 2019, 4:11 pm

Also, if you want to stick with 68+ rather than go back to 60.9, check out CustomCSSforTB at
https://github.com/Aris-t2/CustomCSSforTb

Flycaster

User avatar
 
Posts: 948
Joined: November 19th, 2008, 12:13 pm
Location: Boynton Beach, FL

Post Posted October 31st, 2019, 5:58 am

Wow! Thanks guys for all the needed help. Although I like fiddling and tweaking TB, this is not stuff that I normally do every day, but I'm always willing to learn...but not maybe remember at a later date as it is not done all that often. And just in case I find myself screwing up too much, how do I get back to TB 60.9?
Windows 10 H 64-bit, Quantum The Latest, Chrome v68, IE11, Thunderbird The Latest, Avast Pro

JYLD
 
Posts: 211
Joined: July 18th, 2019, 9:59 am

Post Posted October 31st, 2019, 7:48 am

It is possible to go back to 60.9. I'm sure someone will jump in with those instructions.

I have chosen to stay with 60.9 until the addon situation gets seriously improved. I have a few addons I refuse to give up. For 60.9 you should check out customize my bird addon (CMB) located here https://github.com/Aris-t2/CustomizeMyBird .

tanstaafl
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 46330
Joined: July 30th, 2003, 5:06 pm

Post Posted October 31st, 2019, 7:57 am


Flycaster

User avatar
 
Posts: 948
Joined: November 19th, 2008, 12:13 pm
Location: Boynton Beach, FL

Post Posted November 2nd, 2019, 9:16 am

As a test I installed the following into TB's userChrome.css, but nothing happens?



@namespace url("http://www.mozilla.org/keymaster/gatekeeper/there.is.only.xul");

/* http://kb.mozillazine.org/Pane_and_menu_fonts */
/* Global UI font - the leading '*' is not a typo */
* { font-size: 24pt !important;
font-family: Arial !important;
font-weight: Bold !important;
}

@namespace url("http://www.mozilla.org/keymaster/gatekeeper/there.is.only.xul");
/* Menu font */
menu, menulist, menuitem {
font-family: Arial !important;
font-size: 15pt !important;
font-weight: bold !important;
font-color: red !important;
}
Windows 10 H 64-bit, Quantum The Latest, Chrome v68, IE11, Thunderbird The Latest, Avast Pro

tanstaafl
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 46330
Joined: July 30th, 2003, 5:06 pm

Post Posted November 2nd, 2019, 9:35 am

You should only have one copy of @namespace url("http://www.mozilla.org/keymaster/gatekeeper/there.is.only.xul"); , - on the first line.

I suggest you also start small - initially just set the global UI font. Once that works then try setting others. I forgot to mention that you need to set toolkit.legacyUserProfileCustomizations.stylesheets to true using the config editor, if you're using version 68.

viewtopic.php?p=14848963#p14848963

Flycaster

User avatar
 
Posts: 948
Joined: November 19th, 2008, 12:13 pm
Location: Boynton Beach, FL

Post Posted November 2nd, 2019, 3:03 pm

Tried your suggestions: Eliminated one of the namespaces, set configuration to True, used only Global. But nothing worked. In the past I have been able to add css commands, but now.....
Windows 10 H 64-bit, Quantum The Latest, Chrome v68, IE11, Thunderbird The Latest, Avast Pro

JYLD
 
Posts: 211
Joined: July 18th, 2019, 9:59 am

Post Posted November 2nd, 2019, 5:21 pm

Try deleting all namespace lines. I know, I know, but try it just for the hell of it.

Other crazy things to try would be make the userChrome.css file read only attribute and/or system attribute.

Make sure the userChrome.css file is in the chrome folder under your active profile. Treat the name of the userChrome.css file and the chrome folder as case sensitive.

Flycaster

User avatar
 
Posts: 948
Joined: November 19th, 2008, 12:13 pm
Location: Boynton Beach, FL

Post Posted November 2nd, 2019, 8:37 pm

JYLD wrote:Try deleting all namespace lines. I know, I know, but try it just for the hell of it.

Other crazy things to try would be make the userChrome.css file read only attribute and/or system attribute.

Make sure the userChrome.css file is in the chrome folder under your active profile. Treat the name of the userChrome.css file and the chrome folder as case sensitive.


Will try removing namescapes. The rest is as you said it should be.
Windows 10 H 64-bit, Quantum The Latest, Chrome v68, IE11, Thunderbird The Latest, Avast Pro

Return to Thunderbird Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests