MozillaZine

OK in safe mode - won't load normally

User Help for Mozilla Thunderbird
jbraner
 
Posts: 31
Joined: January 3rd, 2008, 3:14 pm
Location: Edinburgh

Post Posted November 6th, 2019, 12:25 pm

Hi,

Thunderbird has been working fine here for many years.
windows 10 x 64
Last week, suddenly both Thunderbird and Firefox stopped working. (I'll open a Firefox thread too, as it's slightly different)

In Windows safe mode - Thunderbird works fine.
In normal Windows - Thunderbird safe mode works OK (since I loaded it in Windows safe mode).
Normal mode does not.

The thing is - it starts a process but cannot kill it. So once I load in safe mode, it won't reload, because (I think) it thinks it's already running.
Firefox does the same thing - it (sometimes) loads once, and then if you close, it won't re-open - but gives the message that the old process must be closed.
I can't kill these processes - it says "access denied".

I've tried all the re-installs etc etc - bu tit's too much of a coincidence that both Firefox and Thunderbird broke at the same time.
It must be a Windows issue.
Nothing much has changed, and the only Windows updates recently were .NET ones - which shouldn't really affect this.

The other weird thing is - I've restored images from a few weeks ago (when everything was fine) and I still get the same problem.

Has anyone seen anything like this before? Or am I on my own ;-)

I've tried all the fixes I could fine (parent.lock etc) but it basically comes down to this:
1 - both Thunderbird and Firefox, if they can be persuaded to load once, will never load again (until a reboot) because they can't kill the process from the previous load.
2 - it happened to both Thunderbird and Firefox at the exact same time.

Thanks for any ideas.
===========
John Braner

DanRaisch
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 122154
Joined: September 23rd, 2004, 8:57 pm
Location: Somewhere on the right coast

Post Posted November 6th, 2019, 12:34 pm

What security software are you running on that system? Has it updated recently?

jbraner
 
Posts: 31
Joined: January 3rd, 2008, 3:14 pm
Location: Edinburgh

Post Posted November 6th, 2019, 2:00 pm

Hi Dan,

It's Kaspersky Total Security, and also Malwarebytes (just updated to ver 4, but makes no change).
The thing is - everything was working perfectly like this until a week ago.
===========
John Braner

DanRaisch
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 122154
Joined: September 23rd, 2004, 8:57 pm
Location: Somewhere on the right coast

Post Posted November 6th, 2019, 2:26 pm

Are you running Malwarebytes as a real time scanner or only on demand when Thunderbird is not running?

jbraner
 
Posts: 31
Joined: January 3rd, 2008, 3:14 pm
Location: Edinburgh

Post Posted November 6th, 2019, 2:44 pm

Real time - but I've always done that.
===========
John Braner

DanRaisch
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 122154
Joined: September 23rd, 2004, 8:57 pm
Location: Somewhere on the right coast

Post Posted November 6th, 2019, 4:58 pm

And that can cause conflicts when more than one security software is running at the same time. Try rebooting and then running with just one of the two active.

jbraner
 
Posts: 31
Joined: January 3rd, 2008, 3:14 pm
Location: Edinburgh

Post Posted November 7th, 2019, 2:45 am

I've tried running with neither active.
I fear it's an underlying problem maybe not even related to Mozilla.
===========
John Braner

jbraner
 
Posts: 31
Joined: January 3rd, 2008, 3:14 pm
Location: Edinburgh

Post Posted November 7th, 2019, 2:59 am

I tried a suggestion in the firefox forum.

It might be down to Kaspersky Total Security.
I have literally tried pausing Kaspersky, and it still wouldn't start.
Today, I went in to application control and deleted all references to Thunderbird and Firefox - and it seems to be working OK.
(there's no good reason for this, as it should also work when Kaspersky isn't even running - perhaps something was cached)
I will see if this lasts.
===========
John Braner

LIMPET235
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 38842
Joined: October 19th, 2007, 1:53 am
Location: The South Coast of N.S.W. Oz.

Post Posted November 7th, 2019, 6:01 am

Hi John,
Please ref; to the Firefox Support forum for the answer.
Ancient Amateur Astronomer
Win-7-HP/IntelĀ® DualCore-2.0GHz/500G HDD/4 Gig Ram/550Watt PSU/350WattUPS/Firefox-20.0-62.0-70.0/T-bird-2.0.0.24/SnagIt-v10.0.1/MWP-7.12.
(Always choose the "Custom" Install.)

jbraner
 
Posts: 31
Joined: January 3rd, 2008, 3:14 pm
Location: Edinburgh

Post Posted November 7th, 2019, 12:02 pm

I've tried a lot of things from there.
===========
John Braner

jbraner
 
Posts: 31
Joined: January 3rd, 2008, 3:14 pm
Location: Edinburgh

Post Posted November 7th, 2019, 2:20 pm

jbraner wrote:I tried a suggestion in the firefox forum.

It might be down to Kaspersky Total Security.
I have literally tried pausing Kaspersky, and it still wouldn't start.
Today, I went in to application control and deleted all references to Thunderbird and Firefox - and it seems to be working OK.
(there's no good reason for this, as it should also work when Kaspersky isn't even running - perhaps something was cached)
I will see if this lasts.


Kaspersky is definitely causing the problem. When Kaspersky Total Security is uninstalled, everything works fine!
Then when KTS is reinstalled - everything still works fine - until a reboot, then they're broken again!
I'm taking this up with Kaspersky.

Thanks for the replies.
===========
John Braner

Buzzrr

User avatar
 
Posts: 180
Joined: January 24th, 2004, 3:34 pm

Post Posted November 7th, 2019, 6:51 pm

:idea: So I had issues with Kaspersky as well. It didn't allow access to secure websites (HTTPS).
I deactivated the encrypted connection scanning in Network Settings for Do Not Scan Encrypted Connections.
I don't know if this will fix your issue but give it a go. :-k

jbraner
 
Posts: 31
Joined: January 3rd, 2008, 3:14 pm
Location: Edinburgh

Post Posted November 8th, 2019, 4:49 am

Buzzrr wrote::idea: So I had issues with Kaspersky as well. It didn't allow access to secure websites (HTTPS).
I deactivated the encrypted connection scanning in Network Settings for Do Not Scan Encrypted Connections.
I don't know if this will fix your issue but give it a go. :-k


Thanks, I tried that and it's still the same.
If Kaspersky doesn't get back to me - I'll just find another AV program.
===========
John Braner

Return to Thunderbird Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 6 guests