MozillaZine

Printer Dialogue Box

User Help for Mozilla Thunderbird
keatzilla
 
Posts: 5
Joined: March 12th, 2020, 8:26 am

Post Posted March 12th, 2020, 8:31 am

I've a PC with only one networked printer configured.
When I choose to print from Thunderbird, the printer dialogue box pops up.
Is there a current method to have TB just print to the default printer without invoking the dialogue box.

Silent printing.

Ver 68.5.0

LIMPET235
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 39121
Joined: October 19th, 2007, 1:53 am
Location: The South Coast of N.S.W. Oz.

Post Posted March 12th, 2020, 8:42 am

Hi,
I would've thought that the Printer Dialogue box would enable you to set & check the printer's settings/options, just in case they changed after the last print job
or if you wanted to change the settings.

That's what I would want to occur.
Still, everyone has different requirements.
Ancient Amateur Astronomer
Win-7-HP/IntelĀ® DualCore-2.0GHz/500G HDD/4 Gig Ram/550Watt PSU/350WattUPS/Firefox-20.0-62.0-70.0/T-bird-2.0.0.24/SnagIt-v10.0.1/MWP-7.12.
(Always choose the "Custom" Install.)

keatzilla
 
Posts: 5
Joined: March 12th, 2020, 8:26 am

Post Posted March 12th, 2020, 8:54 am

I've just updated a communal work PC to windows 10.
Our MS office is 17 years old, so has a few compatibility issues with W10.
So I didn't reinstall, instead choosing to use OpenOffice and Thunderbird.

The huge number of changes on that one PC has sent the office in to melt down, so I'm trying to speed a few processes, printing emails being one of them.

Whilst, i might only shave 2 seconds and two clicks from each email, you'd be surprised the amount of earache i'm getting.

tanstaafl
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 46502
Joined: July 30th, 2003, 5:06 pm

Post Posted March 12th, 2020, 9:08 am

You could use a free scripting/automation language such as AutoIt or AutoHotKey to automate also pressing the OK button if it really bothers you. I'm not aware of a Thunderbird add-on that would do what you want.

morat
 
Posts: 3748
Joined: February 3rd, 2009, 6:29 pm

Post Posted March 12th, 2020, 10:29 am

FiltaQuilla has a filter action to silently print a message on the default printer.

FiltaQuilla uses the hidden "print.always_print_silent" preference to bypass the print dialog window.

When printing Firefox does not open the print dialog window
http://support.mozilla.org/questions/1021071
http://www.shoptill-e.com/support/44

FiltaQuilla
http://addons.thunderbird.net/thunderbird/addon/10052
http://quickfilters.mozdev.org/filtaquilla.html

keatzilla
 
Posts: 5
Joined: March 12th, 2020, 8:26 am

Post Posted March 12th, 2020, 12:26 pm

I found online references to "print.always_print_silent" , but this only appears to apply to earlier versions.
Also an extension named printertools, but again for earlier versions.
I was hoping that it might have something in built.

morat
 
Posts: 3748
Joined: February 3rd, 2009, 6:29 pm

Post Posted March 12th, 2020, 1:52 pm

The print silently preference is still within the Thunderbird 76 source.

Reference
http://searchfox.org/comm-central/search?q=always_print_silent
http://searchfox.org/comm-central/source/mail/config/version.txt

You don't need to use the FiltaQuilla extension to use the preference.

Although, I haven't tested the preference myself.

keatzilla
 
Posts: 5
Joined: March 12th, 2020, 8:26 am

Post Posted March 13th, 2020, 2:32 am

@morat

I did try adding the string yesterday in:
Tools - Options - General - Config Editor and couldn't get it to work

However, the links you provided gave me a little clue. (GetBoo)
This morning I added it as a Boolean string and it works.

Thanks for the tip.

Return to Thunderbird Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests