MozillaZine

Clipboard not working for images

User Help for Mozilla Thunderbird
fhw72
 
Posts: 9
Joined: May 26th, 2020, 12:38 pm

Post Posted May 26th, 2020, 12:46 pm

Hello!
I have the weird problem that my TB installation 68.8.1 cannot copy images to the clipboard.
That means: When I receive a mail with an image pressing Ctrl-C (or using context menu "Copy Image"
does not work. However if I select text instead of the picture the text is store in the clipboard.

Even more weird: The same OS (Win10) and TB version works on another machine without problems.

Any suggestion how to track down why I cannot copy images to the clipboard? Maybe some debugging
log which could be enabled?

Thanks,
Frank

tanstaafl
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 46573
Joined: July 30th, 2003, 5:06 pm

Post Posted May 26th, 2020, 2:40 pm

How do you know that its not copied to the clipboard? Try to paste it into either Wordpad or Word to rule out it being a weird paste bug in Thunderbird.

The built-in logging is essentially just for network protocols and the global search database. https://www.guidingtech.com/fix-windows ... indows-10/ talks about being able to enable clipboard history under windows 10. Does it think the image was copied (even though it wasn't)?

Do you have similar problems with Firefox on the same PC? The reason I ask is they both use the Gecko runtime environment so if your problem is Gecko related it might effect both.

I suggest you also re-test using safe mode (help -> restart with add-ons disabled) due to the possibility you're running into a bug with an add-on. The bug might be very configuration specific.

morat
 
Posts: 3782
Joined: February 3rd, 2009, 6:29 pm

Post Posted May 26th, 2020, 4:37 pm

The "Copy Image" context menu item works here. I'm using Microsoft Paint to test.

Thunderbird 68.8.1
Windows 7 SP1 32-bit

fhw72
 
Posts: 9
Joined: May 26th, 2020, 12:38 pm

Post Posted May 26th, 2020, 11:06 pm

@tanstaafl:
I run an application in parallel "FreeClipboard Viewer" which nicely shows whats in the clipboard currently.
Here I can see that the "Copy Image" menu is not doing anything if I try to copy an image TO the clipboard!
Text from an email will be copied as expected...
I can also see that other applications like Irfanview/Paint etc. are able to copy images to the clipboard
and the TB is also able to FETCH these images FROM the clipboard. I already tried to run in safe mode
without success but I'll retry with FF later.

It's just that copying an image from TB to the clipboard stopped working. (It worked in the past!)


@morat:
As I said: The same OS+TB versions work on another machine! I'm using the same TB version
on several machines here... no problems so far. It's only this single machine/installation that bugs me.
Of course I tried to find out if it's another application that interferes; but nothing special is running
on that machine.

Thunderbird 68.8.1
Windows 10 64bit

morat
 
Posts: 3782
Joined: February 3rd, 2009, 6:29 pm

Post Posted May 27th, 2020, 6:29 am

I would check for errors in the console.

* open console i.e. Tools > Developer Tools > Error Console (Ctrl+Shift+J)
* click the trashcan icon to clear the console output
* copy image using the context menu item in the message pane

Here is a code snippet to copy the about:logo image using the console.

* copy and paste code into console
* press enter to run

Code: Select all
(function () {
  var image = new Image();
  image.onload = function () {
    var node = document.popupNode;
    document.popupNode = image;
    goDoCommand("cmd_copyImage");
    document.popupNode = node;
  };
  image.src = "about:logo";
})();

Try to paste the about:logo image into another application.

Error Console command line
http://developer.mozilla.org/docs/Tools/Browser_Console#Browser_Console_command_line

fhw72
 
Posts: 9
Joined: May 26th, 2020, 12:38 pm

Post Posted May 29th, 2020, 8:24 am

Just a short info:

1. It works if I copy images from Firefox.
2. When trying to copy an image embedded in a mail I receive the following error:
NS_NOINTERFACE: Component returned failure code: 0x80004002 (NS_NOINTERFACE) [nsICommandController.doCommandWithParams] utilityOverlay.js:64

3. I copied the code snippet into the console; it worked somehow. The image was copied and I was able to paste it into IrfanView. But an error was there nonetheless:
NS_NOINTERFACE: Component returned failure code: 0x80004002 (NS_NOINTERFACE) [nsISupports.QueryInterface]

Any ideas?

fhw72
 
Posts: 9
Joined: May 26th, 2020, 12:38 pm

Post Posted May 29th, 2020, 8:53 am

I found out was is causing the problem but I have no idea how to fix it:

The problem is caused by the Visual C Runtime 2015-2019 14.26.28720

As soon this component is installed the clipboard is not working anymore. Deinstallation cures the problem...
but then e.g. Visual Studio or VmWare start to fail as they rely on the DLLs.

morat
 
Posts: 3782
Joined: February 3rd, 2009, 6:29 pm

Post Posted May 29th, 2020, 10:18 am

Sorry, I don't know a solution.

2.

I don't get the utilityOverlay.js error. I didn't find any relevant bugs with the given utilityOverlay.js error.

Do you know what type of image url you are trying to copy in a mail? e.g. http: https: data: mailbox: imap:

The utilityOverlay.js error is in line 64 and that means the image url isn't an http: https: or data: image url.

Reference
http://searchfox.org/comm-central/search?q=goCopyImage

3.

I get the stack-trace-collector.js error as well. Ignore it.

i.e. NS_NOINTERFACE: Component returned failure code: 0x80004002 (NS_NOINTERFACE) [nsISupports.QueryInterface] stack-trace-collector.js:84

stack-trace-collector.js error message
http://bugzilla.mozilla.org/show_bug.cgi?id=1565343
Last edited by morat on May 29th, 2020, 2:40 pm, edited 1 time in total.

tanstaafl
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 46573
Joined: July 30th, 2003, 5:06 pm

Post Posted May 29th, 2020, 11:22 am

"The problem is caused by the Visual C Runtime 2015-2019 14.26.28720"

I have eleven different versions of the visual C run time installed. The latest one is Microsoft Visual C++ 2015-2019 14.24.28127. I'm running Windows 10 Home version 1909.

Process Explorer from https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/sysint ... s-explorer can be used to see what DLLs a process loads. Before you spend a lot of time trying to fix this problem verify that Thunderbird on both machines actually uses the same DLL/version.

See "Standard Search Order for Desktop Applications" in https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/window ... arch-order - you might be able to make Thunderbird use a older copy of the DLL that you copy to its installation directory by disabling Safe DLL search mode.

https://www.ghacks.net/2019/06/23/micro ... ble-chaos/ talks about "A baseline image is provided for these redistributable packages so that it is no longer necessary to install different versions separately on target systems."

You could also try installing a different (recent) visual C download from https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/hel ... -downloads

fhw72
 
Posts: 9
Joined: May 26th, 2020, 12:38 pm

Post Posted May 29th, 2020, 2:34 pm

tanstaafl wrote:"The problem is caused by the Visual C Runtime 2015-2019 14.26.28720"

You could also try installing a different (recent) visual C download from https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/hel ... -downloads


On this link you'll find the version containing the build 28720.3... it also comes with Visual Studio 2019 which I use on Win10 Pro 1909
Last edited by fhw72 on May 29th, 2020, 2:51 pm, edited 2 times in total.

fhw72
 
Posts: 9
Joined: May 26th, 2020, 12:38 pm

Post Posted May 29th, 2020, 2:37 pm

morat wrote:Do you know what type of image url you are trying to copy in a mail? e.g. http: https: data: mailbox: imap:


The picture is contained in the mail as an attachment.

fhw72
 
Posts: 9
Joined: May 26th, 2020, 12:38 pm

Post Posted May 30th, 2020, 11:30 am

I tried to do some further research and noticed:

I have one mail containing a PNG which can be copied into the clipboard.
Maybe the problem is dependent on the mail content?

fhw72
 
Posts: 9
Joined: May 26th, 2020, 12:38 pm

Post Posted June 12th, 2020, 1:22 pm

I have installed the latest Visual C runtime on several machines... and there's no problem with the clipboard.
In other words: I don't think the problem is related to this.

I also noticed that it's only the pictures I've sent via GMAIL cannot be copied to the clipboard. However the problem only
exists on this single machine (unfortunately my main development PC). On other PCs with similar configuration
there's no problem at all... Copying images from Firefox works flawlessly.

Any other ideas/suggestions to nail the problem down?

tanstaafl
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 46573
Joined: July 30th, 2003, 5:06 pm

Post Posted June 12th, 2020, 2:15 pm

Does the problem occur in Windows "safe mode with networking"?

Same family of CPU on all PCs? I'm thinking of the various spectre and spoiler workarounds for Intel CPUs that might have required a BIOS update

If that doesn't help all that I can suggest is that you try to make one of the other PCs an exact clone of the your problem PCs configuration (software wise) and see if you can duplicate the problem.

fhw72
 
Posts: 9
Joined: May 26th, 2020, 12:38 pm

Post Posted June 12th, 2020, 2:51 pm

Different intel CPUs - but all with the latest BIOS. Problem also occurs in safe mode with networking.

Return to Thunderbird Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 5 guests